1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new build help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by wstein, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. wstein New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey everyone and thanks in advance for the help...hope I have this in the right forum.

    I decided the other day to build myself a new system. Current one I have had for 3 years...a record for me.

    Anyways.

    I have a MSI K9 SLI-F V2 mobo with a Athlon Phenom 9550 CPU, 2GB of OCZ DDR2 PC2 6400 SLI-ready memory, a WD 80GB SATA drive, a EFX 8800GS PCI-E 2.0 video card and a Ultra LSP 650W PSU.

    I assembled it yesterday afternoon, everything went together like my previous past builds. Plugged it in and hooked up my monitor, powered it up and all the fans' spun up, the CD drive chirped, the keyboard lights blinked and that was it...fans spinning and humming and no post information on the monitor screen. Checked the connections, still nothing, removed everything from the case and setup with just video and memory, still no POST. Changed video cards, thinking it was a bad card or the system wasn't recognizing the video card due to it being a PCI-E 2.0 card, nada. Originally I had a 400W PSU, replaced it with the 650W PSU, still nada. Checked MSI's site, verified the CPU was supported, did all the trouble shooting they recommended, still no POST.

    Before I go back to CompUSA and swap try to get them to swap the memory/mobo or cpu, is there anything else I can check?

    Thanks in advance for your help and or input.
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,767 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,549
    Did you try using just a single stick of RAM?


    If that don't do the trick, with everything else you checked already, I would return the motherboard(that's more likely to be DOA than the CPU)
    wstein says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. fafa21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    377 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    U.S.A. maine portland
    try taking the mobo battery out and outing it back in
    wstein says thanks.
  4. wstein New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Barbaric, the memory shuffle was one of the first things I checked. The standard swap them from one slot to an other, one stick at a time :).

    I took the system into work today, and bugged the helpdesk guys to loan me some RAM. Swapped out the RAM and what do you know!!! System booted up just fine. Took the memory back to CompUSA and they said that sometimes the OCZ memory is buggy with MSI mobo's. Bitched them out since they where selling OCZ memory, MSI mobo, and AMD CPU as a package.

    But thanks for the help guys, appreciated it.
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,764 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Location:
    South Carolina
    HAHA...Good job man...atleast you found out what it was pretty easily.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page