1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Build issue - going crazy

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Purds232, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Purds232 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have completed my first computer build, I tried to take it nice and easy and didnt rush it. Had some teething issues but in the end I think I completed it all.

    MY ISSUE: when I turned on the computer with the motherboard boot disc, the fans, lights come on, it beeps briefly, the screen comes on and an image from the disc appears briefly, then after about 2 seconds the screen goes blank with the words 'loading operating system...' it then hangs like this for about 3-5 minutes before the screen goes to sleep. The fans and computer are still on but nothing happens. Please don't assume I have missed anything obvious...

    Any suggestions welcome... PLEASE... I'm already 6 hours into this process and if I had any hair I'd be pulling it out right now :)

    Thanks in advance

    Graeme
     
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Are all the parts new, ie:hard drive etc.

    Any way the machine seems to be posting OK.

    You now need to go into the mother board BIOS and check the settings there ie:Time/Date,Memory Settings and Boot Order.

    In the boot settings you will have to set your DVD drive to first and then your hard drive second.

    Then boot with your Windows disc in the DVD and install windows.
     
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    What do you mean by the motherboard boot disk? Is is an OS installation CD or the CD that came with your motherboard?
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Can you list your specs too please.Also can you fill in your system specs in the usercp at the top.It will help us to help you :)
     
  5. Purds232 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Ah... OK
    To answer the other post, the disc I had put in the computer was the disc that came with the motherboard. I see if I dont use it I can navigate from the first image that comes up to the BIOS set up, it's a little confusing to see where I set the DVD as first... will let you know how I go
    MANY THANKS...
     
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    If you list the mother board name/type we may be able to help.

    If it came with a user manual it will tell you there.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    That's the wrong disk, you'll need to installs windows, then use that disk for motherboard drivers(audio/networking/RAID)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Purds232 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, I tried the Windows disc but I assume as it was not looking at the DVD but probbably the hard drive it did not start reading it?? I will keep looking in the BIOS for the setting change and then try the Windows disc
    THANKS.. this is my first time on here, but it is a great forum, thanks folks
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    look in your bios for setting for boot priority or boot order, anything even closly resembling that, you'll know you have the right setting when you can set your hard drive as the first boot device.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    give me a second, I'll take a pic real quick of my bios showing what I'm talking about\

    BRB 3-5 MINS
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    it's listed under advanced bios setting in my bios

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Purds232 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, found the boot options and have it reading my CD drive first. I have inserted the disc and it seems to be working as it downloads drivers etc. (the disc is a recovery disc for my old computer)
    The odd thing is that my monitor goes to sleep as if it has no signal after about 1 minute and apart from some simple drivers does not do much else...
    I have tried a number of times, it seems to download the old drivers from my old set up then once it got as far as a Windows set up screen, which offered options of recovery etc... but then again my monitor goes to sleep...

    Thanks for the screen shot by the way
     
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Unless you are using the exact same hardware as the old PC then that disc will not work.

    You will need a new Windows DVD and key to install with the new PC
     
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Recovery disk=FAIL!!!:eek: Yeah, you need an actual Windows disk asap. If you install Vista or Win 7, then you probably will not need the driver disk that came with the motherboard. However, I'd still install the latest graphics drivers for whatever card you are running.
     
  15. Purds232 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, atleast it seems the computer is working. Thanks for getting me this far
     
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You may find even if your bios is set to boot from your hard disc that there is a key you can press on first boot to access a boot menu so you can select which device you want to boot from.On my board it is F8,it is useful as i can put a disc in and just press F8 to boot from it rather than going into the bios and enabling dvd as first boot device.Your board is an asus as is mine so i assume it will have this feature on it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page