1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New build not powering up...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I connected all the cables and when I hit power, nothing happened. Fans don't run, H50 pump doesn't run, nothing at all! It took me a while to notice the Gene II's power/reset and memory failsafe LED blinking every 2-3 seconds. Does anybody know what the issue could be?

    I'm going to be back with a blurry picture of all the cables I connected to see if it helps you guys diagnose the problem.

    I know the GPU isn't in there, I took it off to see if the open box GPU was the problem. Same thing happens, power/reset LED just blinks every so often.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Did you try a different stick of memory in another port? Plug a speaker in to see if it throws a beep code.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Okay so there are these 2 PCI-E looking connectors, one that only has 4 pins and another that had 8. The black/yellow cable you see running between the H50 tubes is the 4 pin connector, I just replaced that with the 8 pin.

    What happens if I hit power with no video card?

    I'm going to try a diff mem slot Kenshai. Thanks.
  4. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Chances are you'd get a beep code for no video. The 4 pin / 8 pin is normal, it can run off the 4 pin but for stability purposes (I believe) the 8 pin is there as well.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Tried diff mem slot, no luck. I'm going to put the 4870 back in and hook the speakers up to see if there's a beep.
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    The speaker on the motherboard not the computer speakers.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I believe I've plugged everything in, but there's no beep sound. The power/reset buttons just keep blinking in 2 second intervals.
  8. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Try pulling the CMOS battery for a bit, let it sit for 5-10 minutes. Also my X58 board doesn't like cold booting sometimes. Not sure on a fix for that.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,775 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Hmm, i'm wondering if something is shorting out the PSU and causing the 5VSB power to cycle on/off. My Crosshair III Formula has the light-up power/reset switches and they are lit as long as there is 5VSB (Standby) power going to the motherboard. Try disconnecting the 24pin and 4 pin cables from the motherboard, then use a paper clip to jump the green wire with a black wire on the 24pin PSU cable to try to get the PSU to turn on. If the paper clip method doesn't work, you either have a short somewhere in the PSU/cables or a bad PSU.
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    The PSU works, I had it running my sister's old P4 for like 5 minutes 2-3 days agp to test my open box GPU.

    Kenshai, call me blind but I just can't seem to find the CMOS battery on this thing.
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    by the battery most likely..may say CLR RTC or similar.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  12. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I found it, turns out this board has it mounted at the waaaay edge, and it's not flat on the board it's like standing up.
  13. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    made sure standoffs are in place ?
    Kantastic says thanks.
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,775 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yes, make sure that there are no extraneous standoffs shorting out the bottom of the board. There should only be 8 standoffs installed.
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Kantastic says thanks.
  16. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I missed a corner, but the other 7 are in.
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,775 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Kantastic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    The clear CMOS button is on the I/O panel, I've pressed it a few times and held it down for 10 seconds or so.
  19. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    also make sure that your with the correct memory configuration that your board requires for normal operation.. try moving the memory over to the left most white slot ?
  20. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I've never even got the board to power up properly, never been inside the BIOS.
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This has to be power related, since you can't even get fans running. Test the power supply just to make sure. Unplug it from the motherboard, with just the fans connected to the power supply. All you need to do is connect pins 13 (power on) and 14 (ground) with a wire or paperclip. Doing this shorts the power switch and turns on the PSU. You must keep these pins shorted as long as you want the PSU to be on. If the fan runs, it's not power. If they don't it's your PSU, and then you have to consider the motherboard grounds.
  22. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,775 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It still seems like an electrical short. The power/reset lights are never supposed to blink. Nothing controls them at all. Trust me, I have a Crosshair III Formula with the same buttons.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Okay how do I know which pins are the 13th and 14th?
  24. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    under the tab on the main connector black and green wires to the right of that tab
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page