1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Build Thread

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bruins004, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
  2. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that, i was looking at the DS3 before, but i heard they dont like micron d9 chips, and refuse to overclock much on them, only what i heard though, could be wrong.

    Thanks though!!
     
  3. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I believe that depends on the version you get.
    The early revisions of this board had a bit of problems, but I think the newer ones are better now.

    I would suggest a 650i board, but they arent supported that well.

    The Asus doesnt look like a bad board.
    You will prob. have to play with the voltages though since Asus boards usually have lenient defaults set
     
  4. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ahh i see, could you give me a link to one of these newer versions? so i could get a look at what they are, also being honest i dont actuley know what 650i is, or what it does, motherboards is from the most confusing for me, i've got everything set now exept a mobo.
     
  5. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    The 650i motherboards are like the 680i motherboards.
    They are C2D motherboards that offer SLI support.
    However, the main difference (besides the support for them and price) is that the 650i motherboards have 2 PCI-E x16 Slots that work at x8 x8 in SLI mode.
    The 680i has 3 PCI-E x16 slots, 2 of which work at x16 x16 in SLI mode.

    The 680i boards (the first one made by EVGA) are high end mobos since they offer many different options at a premium.

    I do not know the latest revision of the DS3 boards.
    I would imagine it is the current ones they are sending out.
    Why dont you ask in the mobo section, bc I dont think the DS3 has any problems with Micron D9 chips anymore.
     
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I have just updated the thread.

    1. Put a link to the wiki article.

    2. Added some mobo information thanks the GJSNeptune (Please note its almost a copied paste version from your post, I will eventually change it up a bit so please bare with me - I did change a little bit but not much at the moment)

    3. Put a link to a build guide

    4. Added a thanks section

    5. Fixed up the bottom of the first thread
     
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  7. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks man, great work! also glad to see the mobo section coming along, been looking forward to it :)
     
  8. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Always happy to help.
    Yea we are getting there :)
    Thanks to some help of course.
    Just gotta finish up the mobo section, the cooling section and then revise a bit since some price drops did happen
     
  9. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Updated the motherboard section.
    Fixed up the basics area and started the budget, intermediate and high end motherboards.
    Also, I am going to add a Sound Cards Section (I knew I forgot something).

    I can use some help on the Cooling Section and any good buys for the motherboards section :)
     
  10. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Did you get my info earlier that i wrote for the cooling section?
     
  11. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Haha I knew someone gave me cooling info.
    Would it offend you if I asked if you could post it again.
     
  12. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  13. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Sweet.
    I will take a look at this and format it up a bit.
    Prob. tomorrow or Fri (depending on how busy it is)

    Also, have any good budget, intermediate or high end motherboards?
     
  14. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    WoW! Can't believe I've never noticed this before! Nice job!

    Was just thinking, how about adding some info on companies that specialize in "pick and choose your own custom pc" builds? it's an option to consider if you want that custom build feel but don't know how to or want to bother with building it yourself.

    www.cyberpowerpc.com is one that I know of.

    They offer a decent budget build for roughly $670 USD and consists of (most of which can be upgraded or downgraded) plus a 3 year standard warranty :

    CASE: ($20 off Mail-in Rebate) Xion III Gaming Mid-Tower 420W Case with Side Window (BLACK COLOR)
    CPU: (Socket AM2) AMD Athlon™64 X2 4800+ Dual-Core CPU w/ HyperTransport Technology
    MOTHERBOARD: (Socket AM2)MSI K9N4 SLI-F nForce 500 SLI Chipset DDR2/800 SATA-II RAID MBoard w/ Dual 16x PCI-Express
    MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)1GB (2x512MB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Mushkin Xtreme w/ Heat Spreader)
    VIDEO CARD: NEW !!! NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB PCI Express x16 (Major Brand Powered by NVIDIA)
    VIDEO CARD 2: NONE
    LCD Monitor: NONE
    HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (250GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 8MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
    Data Hard Drive: NONE
    Optical Drive: (Special Price) 18X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER (BLACK COLOR)
    Optical Drive 2: 16X DVD ROM (BLACK COLOR)
    SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO

    You also get bundled stuff such as internal media card reader, Keyboard & Mouse, Software, speakers and other stuff you don't normaly get when building your own custom built PC. Now thats a decent X2 4800+ AM2 PC with a Geforce 7600GT & 3 year warranty for less than the price of the custom budget build you have listed. You get everything but a monitor with this setup.
     
  15. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've heard nothing but bad things about CyberPowerPC.

    There's a new saying...CyberPowerFucked.
     
  16. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    hey guys this may be a dumb question but it's about RAID 0
    I've always been under the impression that 0 required drives with identical amounts of space (i.e. 80 and 80 or 160 and 160)
    however, building my new system I've been interested to consider running 0 but can't find this stipulation anywhere... any explanation only notes "2 drives"
    anyone know?
     
  17. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Yes in a RAID 0 setup, you can use 2 drives of different sizes, however, the RAID array only builds to the size of the smaller drive.
    Ex. If you setup a RAID 0 installation using 2 drives, one 120GB Drive and one 100GB Drive, your new RAID 0 combined drive will be 200 GB.
    The size equation is then expanded to more than 2 disks by:

    Total Drive Size = n * MIN(size[0], size[1], size[2]... size[n-1])
    Where n is the # of disks used to build the RAID 0 array, and those are the respective sizes of each independent disk in the array.

    Examine the links in the following post for more information :
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=338653&postcount=72

    :)
     
  18. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    BUMP.

    How's thing thread doin btw? Should we update it? Is it helpful to anyone?
    Anyone wanna add some more stuff?
     
  19. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I have included the place in the wiki where any users can help me with this thread.
    I unfort. have not had much time to work on this lately.
     
  20. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Oh no worries mate I was just wondering. I never actually built that computer way back, cuz I didn't have the budget for it back then. Now I finally have the money that I need (w00t -got my first paycheck as a Structural Engineer- :rockout: ), so I was checkin this thread again for info/advice, that's all. I'll prob end up re-researching all the latest parts, so I'll throw whatever new info I find on here for everyone.
    And I'll put up my finalized set-up after I buy it, and let you know how the build goes. :cool:
     
  21. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Figured I'd bump this thing, and again comment on its amazingness. If people just studied this thing for a lil first when they got here, it would save them and everyone else on TPU a lot of time lol.
    It could maybe use an update to a couple sections coming up soon. I should check out the wiki too, see if that's comin along.
     
  22. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Sweet, good to know! Hope your build goes well.
     
  23. Waldoinsc

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    188 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Central TX
    CPU id #...is it a B3 Phenom

    I just recieved my shiney new Phenom 9850 Black Edition for my latest build (Gigabyte MA790X-DS4, 4GB DDR2-1066, ITB RAID0):D, and I'm trying to validate the product number, but cannot locate the guide on AMD's website. I'm almost certain this is a B3 stepping, but want to make sure...call me paranoid (the date stamp on the chip shows AMD 2006). The CPU label stamp shows:

    AMD Phenom
    HD985ZXAJ4BGH
    JAAFB AA 0811BPMW
    9503964C80226

    Anyone know if this is B3 stepping?:confused:
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
    All 9850 Phenoms are B3.
     
  25. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    wow out of the archive lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page