1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New builds fans will spin up and stay on, but no signal on monitor

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by jakm2018, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So i need some help on my new build. whenever i turn it on, the fans will spin up and stay on( besides graphics card fan) no post beeps, nothing. pressing the power button on the front panel does nothing. my dad tested all the pins on the 4 pin atx connector and the 24 pin MoBo connector. All of them have the correct voltages. Even tried removing everything but psu, cpu, and MoBo and still no post beeps.


    system specs are:

    AMD FX-6100
    4GB Kingston Hyper X Red DDR3 1333Mhz
    Gigabyte ga78lmt-s2p MoBo
    Sapphire Radeon HD7770
    Toshiba 1TB HDD
     
  2. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Connect the power pins next to your CPU.
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,131 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    make sure you have the little 4 pin connector near the CPU plugged in. Basically what was said above. Theres all of 2 crucial power connections on a motherboard. Its the 24 pin and the 8 pin for direct power to CPU (Or 4 pin your case).
     
  4. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Right, what I meant is that my dad tested the 4 pin atx 12v coming from the power supply, and they were all giving out correct voltages. He did the same with the 24 pin MoBo connector coming from the power supply. Just to clarify I have the 4 pin atx 12v connector plugged into psu and the 24 pin MoBo connector plugged into psu as well.
     
  5. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    does that board need a bios update for FX?
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,179
    Location:
    Oregon
    Try it without the graphics card.

    You know I have done this myself but do you have the monitor plugged into the correct plug?

    Do you have power to your graphics card? (you said the fans dont spin) < big clue
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Power button working?
     
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    no post beeps; you have speaker attched to the motherboard?
    example:
    Speaker.png

    Power down system and switch off the PSU and unplug from the wall [wait a couple of minutes for the power to discharge from the motherboard and or press and hold the system power on button

    Unplug 24pin / *8pin or *4pin power from the motherboard [*If required by motherboard]

    Clear CMOS

    Boot with minimal hardware, PSU, CPU & Heatsink, One stick of RAM in Channel 0: DDR3_1 ensure it is firmly seated attach monitor to motherboard DVI-D Port

    +1 d1nky Bios version F4 is required for FX-6100 support here Edit: mobo is revision 5.0 and supports the CPU in bios revision F1

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  9. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Answers to various questions:
    Yes, the graphics card is plugged in to the power supply. And also the fan on it spins for about half a second, then coasts to a stop.
    Yes, I have the speaker plugged in to the motherboard.
    I had the monitor plugged directly into the graphics card with an adapter that came with it. All of it fit in.
    And also, the power button is working to turn it on but pressing or holding does nothing once it is on.

    What I have tried already:
    Taking out gfx card and plugging straight into motherboard
    Taking out and reseating ram
    Clearing CMOS
    Trying nothing but the cpu, MoBo and PSU, still no beep codes.
    Taking fan off of cpu and felt it. It did overheat. (is this a sign its not broken?)

    And about the update thing, how can I tell what update my bios is? Is it the same on every one of these boards? Does it say on the board somewhere? The board is I believe revision 5.1, if that means anything to you.
    Also, another important thing is that the first time i turned it on, it worked, I even got to the point of being at my windows desktop, but when I moved it upstairs to plug it in to ethernet, it wouldnt work and I started having this problem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  10. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    359 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    I believe you would need to update the BIOS to support the new FX processors. You can find an old supported CPU such as a PhenomII or AthlonII, and use that to update the BIOS. You can also see if the store you bought it from will do it for you. I had them do that with a similar board because I didn't have any AMD processors.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,888 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    you need to update your bios. 7xx is not a fx supporting chipset.

    also that board in itself has inherent problems. not a good choice IMO.

    its never a good idea to buy the cheapest of the cheap product on the market.

    i would have spent a little less on the GPU and bought a better board. As the name suggests the motherboard is very important. also you would have got a 9 series board with 20-30$ more.
     
    jakm2018 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    If the fans spin and stop, it is a grounding issue
     
  13. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  14. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Look here support for FX-6100 since bios revision F1

    atb

    Law-II
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  16. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,559 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Check underneath the CPU for bent pins. Same symptoms happened to a friends PC and turned out to be bent pins in the CPU. Could be other issues as well though obviously.
     
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I think it is an AMD,
     
  18. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, Ive checked the pins, none were bent, however, when I put on my cpu cooler, it took ALOT of force. Is this something that could have broken it? However, I do know for a fact it doesn't have any bent pins.
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Too much force would cause it NOT to boot. This may be the culprit
     
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  20. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,559 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I'm a bit unfamiliar dealing with AMD cpus so I can't say for sure whether that is normal but generally it does take a bit of effort. Putting the clamp down on Intel cpus sometimes has me a little worried I didn't seat the cpu properly but that's normal.

    Good that none of the pins are bent though :)
     
    jakm2018 says thanks.
  21. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    359 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    It took a lot of force for me to install the cooler as well, after 10 min of figuring out how the cooler worked. Always worked with Intel systems, only worked with AMD once.
     
    jakm2018 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. jakm2018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  23. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    359 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    The city with the druggie Mayor
    The Hyper 212 Is a great cooler with a low price http://ncix.com/products/?sku=64385&vpn=RR-212E-20PK-R2&manufacture=COOLERMASTER
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,888 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    dont overclock it. make sure there is plenty of air movement over the VEM heatsink. you should be fine.

    when i posted my prev comment, i was infact thinking of this board :roll:
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page