1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New caaard

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by floppers95, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sup every one! I've been thinking of getting another/new graphics card. I am currently running with a Club3D Radeon HD 6950, and hopefly I should make some big bucks soon! the original plan was to get another 6950. BUT! it striked me! I could get a newer series :eek: NVIDIA or AMD. and so my question is... would I be better off with say a 7970/50 or would a 6950 do me better?

    My specs:

    CPU: AMD-FX 8150 BE

    MOBO: ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0

    PSU: SilverStone SST-ST1200-G Strider Gold (1200w duh)

    .... i think thats all you need to know :3 buuuuuuuuuut if i didn't make myself clear, then feel free to ask any related questions :3
  2. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arcadia
    at what resolution you play?
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,437 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    if your thinking 7950/70 you should also be looking at GTX 660/670/680. Nvidia's cards are really good performers atm and it the same price point (roughly) should strongly be considered.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I heartily disagree. The 7850 OC's like a beast and the HIS Ice Q version 2gb is on Newegg for $184.99 free ship, The GTX 660 cheapest is 229.99 and only 1 out of the 11 cards listed as free ship. That is $50+ difference and honestly could be argued once OC'ed the 7850 destroys that GTX 660.
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    7970 get an overclocked version like the Powercolor PCS+ AX7970 that uses the Vortex II cooler at 1100 mhz it will perform better than 2x 6950s use less power run cooler and quieter

    i say this because i had 2x 6970s and 2x 6950s and in actual gaming the 7970 is the more fluid option with a better user experience.

    PowerColor PCS+ AX7970 3GBD5-2DHPPV Radeon HD 7970...

    its clocked higher than the MSI Lighting edtion and runs cooler and quieter in fact far as i am aware it is the quietest 7970 out right now.

    If you plan to crossfire look at other brands if you plan to just overclock yourself then this option is better

    my boss managed to get 1310 MHz oc out of the below Sapphire card out of box.

    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 OC 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI ...
  6. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    1920x1080 :3
  7. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    hmm... alrgiht, HEAT is a problem I'm having with my current 6950 xD so sandwiching it would probably just melt it... Since I don't live in the US I can't order it from NewEgg... and the site I'm going to order my card doesn't have the Powercolor card, I'm going to go with the Sapphire!... catchy :3 but anyways it's almost double the price then on new egg D: so I'll have to save for a little time.. but thanks :D to you! and every one who posted something usefull :D
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    if the GTX 680 is cheaper go that route if it has good cooling a 670 is also a good option as well again if you can find it cheaper for a good aftermarket cooled version.
  9. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arcadia
    well depends on what you want , if you need cuda and 3d go for nvidia but gtx 670 or 680,the 660 ti i dont think is powerfull for 3d +nvidia have the 2 new features about the vsync and the aa ,amd side go for a 7870 or 7970/50 all them are great overclokers ,take a look at the benchmarks on tpu xd.
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,042
    I replaced my 5870 crossfireX set-up (close to the same performance as 6950 crossfireX set-up) with a single 7970, and I'm not dissapointed one bit. Coming from a single 6950, the 7970 would be the better investment IMHO. Then sell the 6950 and recover some of the money for the 7970 or keep it as a spare.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    I need somebody to tell me that I'm doing the biggest mistake of my life!
    I found the Powercolor 7970 that crazyeyesreaper recommended.

    but then something cough my eye... an 7990! From powercolor (Powercolor DEVIL13 HD7990)

    And i feel in love on first sight :p I always wanted the HD6990 when building my first (REAL!) Gamer PC.

    and I want to know. Would it be the dumbest thing ever!

    ( Sorry if my English is poor, and/or talking out of my *** )
  12. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,232 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I would not buy a 7990 because its not official suported by ati, These 7990's are custom made and don't have official drivers as such. They dont seem to perform as well as 2x 7970's.
  13. PLSG08

    PLSG08

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    219 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Where ever the wind blows
    I wouldn't go for the 7990 if I were you. You could go for a 7970 GHZ Ed. CFX which is better imo. the cash could be used somewhere else. Or you can wait for the 8000 series
  14. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Alright, thanks for the heads up.

    Has there been set a release date for the 8000-series?

    If not (and not released soon), I would probably purchase a 7970.

    But After looking a bit closer. I noticed that the Powercolor 7970 (listed above) requires 2x 8-pin PCI express power connectors.

    My PSU (listed at the top) only has a 1x 6-pin and a 8-pin. So I wondered, (since I can unplug/replace the connectors if needed) If there's a way for me to get a 2x 8-pin cord?
    or would I have to look for an adapter -.-
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,848 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,129
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I run two nvidia 570's in sli. Get a 7970 OC. ATI has the cake and is eating it currently.

    There are molex to 6/8 pin adapters, though i dont generally advise them for 100% safety reasons :D

    I dont trust anything that requires a car jack to ensure it doesnt bend and fall off your PCI slot!
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,257 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Is the 6950 not adequate or are you just looking at upgrading for the sake up upgrading? If it is the latter you might want to wait a little while to see if something better comes around instead of upgrading as soon as you have the extra money to do so.
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Either wait for an adjustment to the 6xx lineup or go with the 7970/7950. My 7950 maxes everything out at 1200p.
  18. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,480 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    No set release date for the 8000s yet, but if I had to guess, it would be at the latter end of the projected window, around Mar. There's a few reasons for that. 1. AMD current models easily compete FPS wise against Nvidia's at a better price, so they aren't rushed to get something more competitive out. 2. AMD are in a bit of a financial bind, so they're going to want to sell as much current stock as they can before coming out with new models. 3. AMD have hired new senior management, whom want to completely restructure their graphics engineering dept and outsource much of it, so that will probably have to be in place BEFORE the 8000 series designed is finalized, let alone made. Even IF the design is already finalized, you need graphics engineers to work out any defects that may arise, like Nvidia's base layer defect in the 680.

    For now, the 7970 is a good choice and best bang for buck in the powerful GPUs. There are also models that are 6+8 pin, like these, which have also been priced anywhere from $350 to $370 lately.

    SAPPHIRE 100351SR Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5...

    HIS IceQ X² H797QM3G2M Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit ...

    According to what I've read, that PSU has 4 x 8/6-Pin and 4 x 6-Pin.
    http://www.kitguru.net/components/p...strider-gold-1200w-psu-review-sst-st1200-g/2/ So at this point I'm wondering if you got an open box one that didn't include all the cables? Have you contacted SilverStone to see if you can get another 8/6 from them?

    Then again, I suppose it's possible you're confusing the 8/6-Pin cables for dedicated 6-Pin. They can be used on either 6 or 8-Pin sockets.

    As mentioned above, I also would not recommend an adapter, esp on a powerful GPU.
  19. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    681 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Is this your PSU? It should have 4 x 8/6-Pin PCIE connectors... :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yea, sorry my bad...

    I can see I wasn't very clear :p 4x 6/8-pin PCIE connectors. I only counted the ONE! I am using. silly me :p

    however I still won't be able to use the Powercolor with my current.... wait. Couldn't I just hook two PCIE connectors to my PSU and only use the 8-pin from both connectors?

    (Sorry if i didn't make myself clear again. I'm not from an English speaking country you see...)
  21. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    I've had my 6950 for 2 years now :3 and more often then not, it reaches it's limitations... plus it's loud and overheats
  22. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    At 1080p your best option is a 7950.
    Tons of OC headroom,cheap price,maxes everything at 1080p,lots of free games come with it which immensely increase its value.
  23. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    7950 runs 2x6 pin, and can basically max out almost any game pretty much, and they are quite cheap, 384 bit bus, 3 gb memory, plenty for 1080 gaming, under 300$ now too, can't go wrong already.
  24. floppers95 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks for the suggestions....

    But since I don't live in the US (assume that you guys are. no offense intended) I'd have to pay a bit more then 300$. For example: the 7950 in my country can cost up to 565,39 USD
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,257 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    There are a lot of people here who don't live in the US. It would help us find a reasonable price product if you gave us your budget plus the country you live in.

    Also mediasorcerer doesn't live the US, Melbourne is in Australia. :)
    mediasorcerer says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page