1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Comp build, Need some help

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by andrewsmc, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Ok, i got the comp all together and go to boot. with brand new HD and everything. When i try to set boot config to the CD rom so win xp will run, It wont boot it up. it says something about Insert right media and press any key to continue. Is this because the CD-Rom is not properly connected? Or the HD isint formatted? Any help would be great..
  2. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Bump?
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Is this a legal retail copy? Cause it sounds like the image on the cd is messed.
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    do you have more than one cd/dvd drives?

    If you do.....try using the other one, you should have another option in the bios to select which optical drive is the bootable.
  5. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    No, i do not have another drive. I can yank it from mine. Also, i bought it as a "DVD" drive. But wont a Dvd drive still run CD-rom's? And one other thing. i bought Windows XP for system builders... Thats what i should have bought correct?-- And yes it is a legit copy of windows
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Did you double check the connection? Is it sata or ide? If the former try another port. Yeah systems builder should be the right one. Perhaps try to make another bootable cd, like memtest or ubuntu, and see if that runs at all.
  7. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Ok, I think its just the DVD rom... Maybe. I will yank one from mine here in a bit. But if anyone else has any other ideas please shoot them,

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page