1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Comp cause of D3

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by alucard13mmfmj, May 20, 2012.

  1. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So the other day, I got Diablo 3 and it said my Operating System (Windows Vista Home Premium OEMAcT) was not good enough. So I went to download and install SP1 and SP2 for Vista. Let's say the Service Packs crippled my computer because it failed to install correctly. My Acer computer is old, so there is no recovery discs for it anymore. I reformatted and installed Vista Home Premium, but I don't have the drivers for internet or audio and etc. I usually avoid installing service packs because it can f**k your computer up.

    Since it seems like a hassle to try to fix it and find drivers that most likely won't be easy or safe to get. Although, I wouldn't mind fixing it eventually to use as a spare computer.

    So I am thinking of building my first computer. I usually use a computer for 5 or more years. Wanted to ask what you guys think of this build and if there are any incompatibility issues or maybe something doesn't fit.

    Motherboard: ASRock 880GM-LE FX AM3+ AMD 880G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157292
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOXhttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727
    RAM: G.SKILL Value Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-8GBNT
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231422
    Power Supply: CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020
    Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136769
    Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986
    Video Card: Using current GeForce 8800GT

    Total is around 550 before tax and shipping. Should cost around 620ish after tax/shipping.
  2. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well. i was installing service pack 1. while booting up, it hung up
    0xc01a001d !! 36114/168718 (\Registry\Machine\COMPONENTS\DerivedData\...)
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    xenocide says thanks.
  5. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well my max is around $600. prefer to be around $500 .
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Good for you building one instead of just buying a pre-built.
    Welcome to TPU :toast:
    LifeOnMars and alucard13mmfmj say thanks.
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Adjust the build around a bit then. You can get a 6870 for $150 if you hunt around, so that will bring the total to be about $550.
  8. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Before, I usually had a family friend build me one (who is now busy/out of country) or I bought a store one and mod it a little bit.

    I've been wanting a new comp, but I put it off partly because of money problems. Still have problems now, but no use stalling lol.

    Comp is mostly for gaming, browsing, graphic arts.

    I am a bit worried things might not fit XD... Like if my vid card is large enough to hinder other component's placements.
  9. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Are you one of those idiots who doesn't update their OS? You should have had SP1 and SP2 installed years ago... -_-
  10. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i guess you can say that lol.
  11. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Your PC is probably riddled with viruses and spyware.

    ALWAYS UPDATE YOUR OS.
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    What's with the harsh words guys, he's a new guy looking for help? Honestly :shadedshu
    To the OP, it's always sound advice to have everything up to date driver wise and this includes OS updates.

    Always stability test a new build PC to make sure every component is working as it should. There are various bits of software out there that will help you to do this.

    MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) is also a good thing to have running as it won't intrude on games and offers good protection for free. It's always updated regularly as well.

    Be aware that some gfx drivers can cause weird issues so always look for information on forums or in the driver release notes.

    Good luck with the build :) and welcome to TPU.
  13. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    There are nicer ways to go about this. How about trying to help him with his problem?

    alucard13mmfmj, if you still want to get a new computer, then you may want to consider a better video card. Judging from this article from Techspot it seems like Diablo 3 is entirely GPU dependent. If you can get your hands on a GTX 460, then you should run it smoothly. You should be able to find it for cheap in most places.
    adulaamin, AlienIsGOD and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  14. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah. I figured my 8800GT would have aged by now. Although, I'll see how much life I can get out of it and how it does first. I don't particularly play resource intensive games (usually source mods, quake engine mods and some MMO [although lags with a lotta people in town]). If it comes down to it, I would get a new video card in a month or two with my next paycheck.
  15. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Is it possible for you to get Windows 7 locally? If so you can install it over your current computer and see how that works out. I avoided Vista completely and went straight to Windows 7 from XP, but from what I read, the difference between Vista and 7 is night and day. Windows 7 installs most drivers for me from the get go too (but that may not be the case for you).
  16. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I installed windows 7 ultimate, but it hung up while booting... "verifying DMI" or something. Ended up installing windows vista basic, for now, which worked. I'll back up my recent goodies on an external HD if I am permitted to do so. It is a store bought comp (with some modifications) and Acer doesn't make recovery discs for my model anymore and its quite old that it's hard to look for the drivers online that doesn't look shady.
  17. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Did a quick google on your problem. Have you tried this fix? Although it does sound like your computer is having problems. Might be a hardware issue but don't quote me on that. I can understand why it would save you a headache by buying a new computer (had a issue with BSODs after installing SP3 on XP. Still never figured out the problem :p). The components you listed are good too, although I would highly recommend getting a new video card ASAP.
  18. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i did get BSOD from a few automatic windows updates, that i had to do system recovery, which kinda put me off from updating windows related stuff.

    yeah. the video card will probably be the bottleneck of the unit. unless i do some "argh matey" with the OS to cut some costs, it's too costly for me to get a 150-200dollar card. im trying to stick with legit stuff. ill get a new card in 1-2 months hopefully.
  19. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    I understand. I was in the same situation. Keep it legit if you can :) Although I must warn you, even if you buy a new computer, you might notice a minor difference in FPS at most with the new computer compared to your old one. As I mentioned earlier the video card will provide 90% of the performance in Diablo 3.
  20. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,129 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    CPU: Intel i3-2100
    Motherboard: BioStar H61MLB
    RAM: G.Skill Value Series 4GB DDR3-1333 (I recommend 2, but 1 will work)
    GPU: HIS Radeon HD6850
    HDD: Rip the one out of your old comp and re-use it
    PSU: Rosewill Green Series 530W
    Optical Drive: Random Cheap 24x DVD Burner
    Case: Rosewill FBM-01 MiniTower
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Total Cost: $540

    Several key points. With the AMD Phenom II's, they are pretty dated, and for 90%+ of games, an i3 will do as well, if not substantially better given it's much greater per core performance. You said you want to use the comp for several years, and spending $400-500 on a PC upgrade and not getting a new GPU is pointless. My HD5850 can handle almost all games fine, and D3 runs maxed out with no hiccups on my setup, so I assume a 6850 can probably handle it just as easily (given the 6870 is a pretty much direct comparison performance wise, the 6850 being not much slower should do fine).

    If you could splurge on a better mobo it would be worth it, but the setup I just posted should handle all games adequately with some tweaking.
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  21. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I like the system you have detailed in the original post.
    Sure the Phenom II isnt that fast compared to an i5 but budgets a budget. Motherboard is a bit mediocre thats all.
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  22. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    lol. i read in a lot of places and one of the previous posts that an i3 might be better than Phenom II X4.

    yeah. it seems a couple of you guys said the mother board is "meh".
  23. alucard13mmfmj

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    131 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  24. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    iv had fair luck if asrock products they seem to be the up and coming vendor
  25. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,129 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-fx-pentium-apu-benchmark,3120.html

    In most gaming situations the i3 is better than a Phenom II X4 at stock speeds. Comparing another Blizzard title--Starcraft II--you can tell they tend to favor High IPC Intel CPU's. Continuing to use that 8800GT is going to be the biggest problem though, and if you're going to go AMD, at least make sure to get SOMETHING new, like an HD6850. The difference it will make is ridiculous...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page