1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Comp!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by xdaxxchampxx, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. xdaxxchampxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sold my old comp to my cousin and bought myself a new rig. Just got this bad boy togeather yesterday I decided to go with AMD this time around since intel wasnt doing much for me so heres the system specs. what do you think i can do with her in regards to overclocking safely on air.

    Asus A8N-E
    3700+ sandiego
    2x1gb OCZ 2-3-2-5 ddr400
    saphire x1900xtx
    xfi-extreme music
    250gb maxtor hdd pata
    x-superalien case with 500w psu
    :toast:
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2006
  2. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Not bad at all, better than mine. Now time for overclocking :twitch:
  3. xdaxxchampxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just ran a few bench marks and heres what they said :)

    3dmark03 = 17877
    3dmark05= 10418

    no overclocking anything with those marks but i am very happy with the figures so far :cool:
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Not bad... I'm not an expect but I though a X1900xtx would score a little higher in 3Dmark05. But I guess with a little gentle overclocking persuasion....!
  5. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    You should try to overclock, it gets you a few extra fps, not that you need it. You can't ruin your card anyway because most cards have thermal throttling.
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,357 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    AZ
    actually it's because his cpu's at stock if I run a stock 05 on both cpu and vga I get an 8900, with cpu at 2.9GHZ, I get a 9400. most cpu's bottleneck with the x1800 series, which makes the bottleneck even more with the x1900 seires.
  7. xdaxxchampxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ya its stock and its running way faster then my old p4 3ghz ht. Im prolly just gonna run it stock for a bit since its everything i need atm but maybe as soon as i get myself some ectra $ to get some nicer cooling i might fool around with OCing it but not till i read up on it a bit im a OC noob;)
  8. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    WOW, nice set up!!! Yeah there really is no need in OCing that bad boy just for benches.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page