1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New computer, no internet connection

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mytiggertiger, Apr 8, 2007.

  1. Hey everyone.
    I did it. I built my very own computer from scratch and everthing works like a charm....except the internet. I can't connect no matter what I do...spents hours and I know the answer will be as simple as "Did you plug it in?" but I just can't figure it out so please Helppppppppppppppppppppppp. (yes, I plugged it in.)

    I have a Motorola Surfboard SB5120 modem, a Linksys Wireless G WRT54GS Router and what else...oh, the specs on my puter are:
    Core 2 Due E6400
    EVGA nForce 680i SLI MoBo
    Nvidia 7600GT GPU
    WD SATA 16MB cache, 7200RPM, 250GB HD
    CL Sound Blaster Xtreme Audio
    XION 600 watt PS
    LiteOn CD RW drive
    LiteOn DVD Double Layer Lightscribe Writer
    Logitech G15/5 Keyboard/Mouse
    Windows XP Pro OS
    MS Office 2007...I think that's it

    help me......please
     
  2. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    all network drivers installed?
    connect to the router and configure it?
     
  3. Right now I'm toggling between my old and new computers via a KVM switch and don't know how to copy an image and put it from one computer to another so I'll so my best to explain...

    Went to control panel, Network connections, Local area connection status is displayed and says Connected, Firewalled, 1394 net adaptor, similar to my old computer. The odd thing is there's a gold lock on the icon and I don't know what it is and don't have it on anyother computer int he house (I have a total of 5) or at work????

    In the properties it says connected, speed 400Mbps.
     
  4. anyone? Please...I'm dying here with my old Dell Dimension 4500 and need to use my new rig ASAP.
     
  5. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    281 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    did u install the nforce mobo drivers?
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Use the CD it came with it will have the softweare for the internet
     
  7. I though so, but let me redo and I'll get back to you all wonderful repliers.
     
  8. ok, no laughing...I forgot the NIC. :eek: Guess that might be a small problem huh?:ohwell:
    Well, it's off to buy one and I'll update tomorrow.

    Thanks again all.
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    What's a NIC?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Network Interface Card.

    Your motherboard should have an integrated network adapter. Why are you going out to buy another one?

    You can try setting your IP address manually. Sometimes the DHCP on my router goes funky and I have to manually configure an IP address for my computer before it will work.
     
  11. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    my friends routher I had to go in and manually set it up. It was stuck on a static IP Address and I switched it over to letting the DHCP configure it, updated the router and viola, internet was up and running
     
  12. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    routers can be a slut sometimes

    its best just to follow the manual by-the-book, as that makes sure that its set up properly as well as secured properly. You need to add exceptions, mac addresses to the mac filter tables, the surfboard modem addresses etc. The router can not allow the internet because of wrong settings with regards to the modem/isp's traits, or it can allow the internet but prevent your computer from connecting to the router correctly.

    So if you didnt do it 'by-the-book', now might be a good time to go back and fix it all up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page