1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New computer turns itself on.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BCobbPIKE, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. BCobbPIKE New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not sure where to put this thread but here it goes... I recently built my first computer. I say recent, but more like a year and a half ago. And within the last month or so its decided to turn itself on. Im not too sure if its a hardware or software issue. Ill come in and it will be on, or if i come in and bump the table or move the mouse it will turn on. Im not the most computer savvy person when it comes to troubleshooting, so i dont know where to begin. Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Sounds like the computer is in sleep mode.

    If you go into Device Manager you should be able to tell a device like a mouse not allow to wake the computer.
     

    Attached Files:

    DaveK says thanks.
  3. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,249 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Also check that in Bios there is not activated "wake on mouse" "wake on keyboard"..
     
  4. BCobbPIKE New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Ill try those
     
  5. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Could also be "Wake up on LAN". Might be a faulty power switch too.
     
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Laurijan says thanks.
  7. BCobbPIKE New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I tried changing the power settings in the device manager and I also checked the BIOS and all of the wake up options are disabled. How would i check if its a faulty power switch??
     
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    I built a system for a friend about 2 months ago that had this problem. He brought it to me and in the bios it's power option was set to S1+S3. Changed it to S3 and at my house the problem went away, stayed off for 2hrs. He took it home and called me to say it was doing it again within 15min after shutting it off. I gave him my Asus M3A32 board and no problems since so it could be a issue with your board if all of your power savings options in Windows look normal and your power options in the bios are set correctly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Boyfriend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    It might be due to some nano robot, which turn it on as soon as it feels you are around.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page