1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New computers worth it?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AMDCam, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Hey guys, I just got into a bad situation where some asshole stole like all my electronics and expensive shit, and all my family's expensive stuff too, and on top of that LIVED in the house for like 6 weeks when we were gone, but anyway, now I need some new stuff (yeah he's paying it back in like 300% full and probably doing a couple years in jail, but I need my stuff now because I'm leaving again in 2 weeks), so with Vista coming out I've been saying I should hold off on a new laptop for a while, and now that I don't have one at all it's getting harder to do. With all these "Vista ready" stickers on computers, are they truthfully 100% like DirectX10/Aero/whatever other massive software/hardware upgrade compatible? I doubt they're DirectX10 ready so in my opinion that makes them worthless to me. Like do you think the 7900/X1900's are gonna support every feature Windows Vista has or is it just gonna suck for all the Quad-SLI 7950GX/Crossfire X1900XT guys out there that even with ALL that expensive hardware they're still not gonna play games with full effects? Thanks guys

    Oh by the way, I preemptively bought a new cell phone, a Cingular 8125 PDA phone, instead of a laptop, but can still really use a full computer. I was planning on buying a new phone for a while, but went all out when I found out that was the most affordable thing I could get close to a computer. And hey, anyone considering a PDA phone with Windows Mobile 5, GET IT!!! I have NEVER been so organized in my life, I mean I've been having to write every little thing down in a notepad throughout the day, and that sucked a dick, but now that I can just slide open a little keyboard and in 3 seconds type it in, then just scroll to whatever other notes I've made throughout the day, AND have alarms on them and on top of that do pretty much everything a normal computer can do including full-PC internet (not just gay mobile websites) AND even TV through MobiTV. Yeah, note taking has been around a while on cell phones I know, but I've never been able to use a keyboard with them. The only thing it can't do is play PC games, but I just got a PSP too so I really don't need it to do that. I realllllly recommend PDA phones for ANYONE who needs one, but forget about smartphones, without touchscreen and only being able to VIEW instead of create Word/Excel documents is worthless. Just thought I should let you guys know, PDA OS's really aren't talked about much here.
     
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    vista sucks balls, has to "call home" on a regular basis, it cant be installed more than twice apparently before microshit make u buy another copy, its full of spyware, is buggy as hell and has severe security flaws, i know for a fact DX10 is being hacked to work on xp as there is no technical reason why dx10 cant work on xp, and software houses\manufactturers will support dx9 for a good long while yet. hope that answers all of your qs :D
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    DX10 talks directly to the kernel and is 6x faster than DX9,,,,,,
     
  4. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    and as i said, thers no technical reason why DX10 cant be made for xp. and i know someone who is already decompiling dx10 to build it to work for xp.
     
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    We shall see how that ponders out, I can see cross fire R600 in my vision..

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Then they release DX10.1A to stop it lol
     
  8. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    i can see buying multi copys of vista in your future OR piracy......
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Corporate copy in my future with no Cd-Key MahhahahahaJust like all my other copies of windows(Bought with thousands of licenses)
     
  10. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Could you direct us to this information?
    I can't seem to find one Microsoft .doc that says anything about this mystical Dx10 so your help would be great. Thanks
     
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    lol i dont see how that would work folk would already be using the hacked dx10 on xp :p
     
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    You could find it on TeamATi somewhere, I know that I have posted at some time.
     
  13. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Oh ok nevermind I can find all kind of speculated data I was searching for facts not leaked bull shit that micorsoft release's to build people up before they let us down like so many times before. as of right now MS has posted nothing about dx10 other than it will have to have hardware to support it. so with the diffrent levels of Vista do you think the corprate version will be the same as the ultra edition that has things like Gaming support? Just gotta wonder you do seem to be a big fan of Vista I would think you wouldnt have a problem Paying for the nice version But I'm like you ill get the my brother in-law to burn me what ever his 40,000 pc company has I mean why pay? ya know, maybe it will game maybe not free taste better :laugh:
    EDIT:10/24/06 11:55 pm central time
    "Software Is leagal I'm on the payroll"
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    god your uninformed.

    corp versions now requier checkins with keyserver every 30days no more free ride to VLK versions, they all gotta call home so ms can tell windows to keep working.

    if windows cant call home every 30days IT WILL STOP WORKING PERIOD, and if ms dosnt like you using a VLK at home, well they dissable you(they can tell your not at your company due to IP addy easly)

    and if you dont acctivate with keyserver within the first 30days your system stops working.

    and as i read it, if they see to many diffrent hardware profiles being reged under the vlk's from a company they can dissable those keys till they do an audit, not nice, specly when its a bulk licence deal :(

    http://www.crn.com/sections/breakingnews/breakingnews.jhtml?articleId=189601573
     
  15. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    please dont talk about warez we dont need the thred locked for warez talk
     
  16. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    where did you see me talk about warez? I said my brother in-law who I Work for lets me use the corprait lic Which Will be ok if and when or if they switch to vista. I did not offer anyone a copy nor is it piraited Get your facts stright before you tell me I'm doing something wrong dip shit "My pc is totally leagal" and will stay that way. However If I want to buy vista I will but at this point its not likely will just need what we have to know how to trouble shoot it.
    Now go read every F*&^king thread I have ever written And show my my warez post Jackass:) and have a nice day
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Some people work at home you know,
     
  18. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    burned copys are in most cases considered warez, and corp licences are not really ment for home use, ms has gotten pissy about it at a couple companys i worked for, telling them that they should use OEM or RETAIL copys for workers that are working from home. this is also replying to DaMulta.

    ms really dosnt want companys sending copys/keys home with employs, its somethig they havent pushed to hard against in the past because they didnt really have any way to track how many copys where being used offsite, but now they easly can at least every 30days(if not more offten)
     
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The company that I work for(Or contract for at times)hands me a cd to use at home at my own destination.
    ------
    To add, Not wares, just saying

    When a company buys up to 50 thousand licences at a time, do you really believe that can be tracked? Does Microsoft really care about these big players?
     
  20. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Name me one large corp that Buys 40,000 single copys how do you think other than what is on the servers we get it to the field reps do you have any idea how much band width it would take on release day? Go cut-n-paste A corp lic agreement and then come tell us how it works ok:twitch: your starting to annoy me get back on subject and stop trying to be a psuedo mod
     
  21. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    yeah, they want to make sure they are getting "their due" from every singel copy of windows used.

    they can track that 99.9% of those licences keyserver checkin with ms from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and that some copys are checking in from say xox.oox.oxo.xxx, its easy when you design your software to do the work for you, if you honestly dont think ms will be keeping track of every singel licence under vista vlk then your deluding yourself, read ms's own comments about VLK policy changes, they made the change so they can be SURE they wont get "screwed" out of every singel dime they can possably blead out of people/companys.

    if a compansy over its licence limmit, ms will im sure tell them they need to buy more licences, if they dont, well ms could dissable their keys till they do(immagin say intel having all their windows desktops go down because they are 15-20 licences over what they acctualy own and didnt respond/buy more from ms in time......god that would be funny to me :D how fast do you think linux/bsd would become an option then :p )
     
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    So they buy more licences, I'm sure they would'nt tell them how to use up there licences......Need to get off the Vista trip, its happening, Coming in a few months, XP will be dropped, a few more years a new ver of windows. Then people will trip out all over again.
     
  23. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    um ms can tell them what to do with their licences, and im sure the vlk dosnt cover some time employs that arent nesserly employed by the company all the time, i mean the worst i see ms doing is dissabling your windows remotly on checkin but still, could be a little annoing for you, good laugh for me tho :D

    oh and you need to stop braggin how great vista is and how everybody should get it and telling people that dx10 is 6x faster when you got no real proof, sure people post in forums, but as pointed out, ms hasnt said shit about it being faster, infact they said gaming will be 10-15% slower in vista :O
    corse you fail to mention that when you promote vista.

    hey do you work for microsoft?????
     
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I posted a video yesterday coming from the office of gaming for windows that said DX0 is 6 times faster than DX9./
     
  25. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    hey about the "technically dx10 should be totally compatible with xp" well I was reading an article yesterday that dx10 uses vista's dedicated graphics drivers and architecture in the os that lets you isolate only the graphics card and do a lot more stuff to it. i'll find the article and paste it later but yeah I hear dx10 needs other vista-only features so xp isn't totally compatible. thanks for all the replies too guys
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page