1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New cpu? from 975x to -> 980x or 970?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by p3gaz_001, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. p3gaz_001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    hey guys! :toast:

    wich cpu do you suggest to me? i'm running a nice 975X, but wan't to upgrade!
    wich chose ?

    i7 970
    i7 980X ?

    both six cores ...my goal is to get 4.7/4.8ghz ht on for benchmarks, wich of the both cpu listed can to easy this speeds?!

    is the 970 so different from the 980x ? (unlocked multiplier apart)

    :rolleyes: thanks
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Considered a switch to a SB 25/2600? I believe the SB bitches them chips and does 5ghz pretty easily.
  3. p3gaz_001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    no sandy, i just want to change cpu!
  4. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    You're willing to spend another $1000+ more just to be slightly faster? May as well go with 990X.
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,098 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Depends on what you are using your PC for. I think its pointless to upgrade to 6 cores right now for your average uses, but if you are one of those power users, 970 gets my vote, because its about half the price of the 990x and still give you 6 cores.
  6. p3gaz_001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    i use pc for benchmarks and games.... ordinari benchmarks wich 3dmarkvantage & company :)
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,098 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    In that case stop upgrading and use the money to get Berlusconi's girls :slap:
  8. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    :twitch:

    Madness!
  9. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    :laugh:
    Problem is .. Berlusconi's a multi-billionaire, so the guy can always outbid poor old p3gaz_001 XD

    Nice idea though :p
  10. p3gaz_001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    are u guys trolling?
    i hate berlusconi! :wtf: :shadedshu

    ps i need & have only a girl, the one in my avatar.
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,098 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Well, this is TPU, and we like to joke quite a bit. No, I suppose no one like Berlusconi, but if you ignore that my point still stands: your rig is perfectly capable, no need to upgrade just yet
    p3gaz_001 and Jack Doph say thanks.
  12. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Nah mate.
    I think the general consensus here is, why on earth would you even want to upgrade from what you have?
    It seems such a waste of money, but if you don't care, then go for the already mentioned 990X
    :)
    p3gaz_001 says thanks.
  13. p3gaz_001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    OK, then i'm in the right place! i've asked that just to know ..... well let me be more precise, i'd like to change cpu because i'm about to get a second 580, and i do not want to be bottlenecked from the actual cpu :wtf:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page