1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New CPU + future advice needed!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys, ive finaly got some moneyz together so I can buy meh new system! Iam going to buy a new CPU, MOBO and RAM.
    I was thinking about these:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 3.0Ghz
    Nforce 650i
    some sort of OCZ RAM " 2 gigs or 4 "

    One thing tho..when will the new Intel CPUs pop out?? and what would the prices be like??
    also...would it be better to go for the Q6600 over the E6850?? if so...why?

    ta ta!
     
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,089 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,712
    You will probably have higher overclocks on the E6850 compared to the Q6600. It really depends on whether you need 4 cores or 2. Most stuff today only needs one, maybe two. I think by the time that stuff comes out that needs more than two cores, we'll be into new chipsets and CPU's.

    Same thing kinda goes for the ram. Unless you are using Vista x64, 2GB should do you for quite a while, or at least until you go to DDR3, etc...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Q6600 = for future, if you want that instead of higher OCs, then thats the best option.
     
  4. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    yea I want the Q6600 for future proof! but E6850 is like...staring at me...wanting me to buy it...like..3.0Ghz compared to 2.4Ghz is quite a difference!

    I do plan on OCing also!
     
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    G0 = OCing for the Q6600.
     
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    G0???
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    G0 is a stepping. It will run at lower temperatures allowing for higher overclocking potential.
     
  8. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    yeah a g0 stepping q6600 will hit 3.6Ghz quite easily if you have good gear. try and find one locally look for the SLACR code at the end of the product code line.. (on the box)

    Im personally waiting for 45nm processors.. unless of I sell like most of my stuff than I'll prob go g0 quad just because it can be had for so cheap now.

    also a e6850 can hit like 3.9-4.0Ghz easily.. since thier the same price I would go with a quad, but I multi-task quite a bite too.
     
  9. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    hmmm I see...this G0 sounds interesting!! will this mean the price for the G0 will be more expensive?
     
  10. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    It will be the same, just make sure you get the right one.
     
  11. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    yeah if you order online your not always guarantied a go stepping quad unless it says so on the item "tag" or whatever that is.. where it tell you what item your looking at lol

    thats why I said try and find it at a local shop so you can look at the box.. but I have seen a couple UK sites aroound here that offer guaranteed g0 stepping online.
     
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    right! I better keep an eye on that so!! but if I get a normal one....without the G0...will OC be limited??
     
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,089 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,712
    The G0 stepping helps the CPU run a lot cooler, which helps with stability. The cooler the CPU, the more it can take.

    However, I have an E6850, and it is G0 stepping also. It really falls down to whether you need four cores or two. The higher the CPU clock the better, but if you have two extra cores sitting around not being used, it's a waste. If you have stuff that can utilize four cores, then buy the Q6600. Otherwise the E6850 is the way to go.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Even if his current software isn't quad capable, I still say go with the quad. The amount of Multithreaded apps are growing all the time. In a true multi threaded app, the Q6600 beats out the E6850. The Quad will also have a longer useful lifespan.
     
  15. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    unless you're looking to do SLI, i'd look at a p35 board, they're much better at overclocking quads, and can be found for around the same price as most 650i's (apart from the uber cheap evga/xfx ones-excellent for o/cing a dual core btw)
     
  16. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,457 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    right I see...hmm...my brother has made his mind up..and he is going for the E6850...but iam falling for the Q6600 tho! ill have to look into the p35 boards! I know nothing of them!

    Thanks for the help yee guys!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page