1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New crossfire setup blue screen BSOD

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by antony209494, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I recently got an reference unlocked sapphire hd 6950 with a non reference (not unlocked) power color 6950 for crossfire and as soon as I activate crossfire from CCC I get a BSOD and system restarts.Each card works perfectly individually.I already tried reinstalling the drivers.Any suggestions?
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,507 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    to assist the TPU community to help;

    -what was the BSOD stop code? [example: 0x00000124, 0x000000B4 or other]

    -exact model numbers of the vga cards; Sapphire and Powercolour?

    http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1021&psn=&lid=1&leg=0

    http://www.powercolor.com/us/produc...GASeries=RADEON HD6000 Series&IsView=0&Page=2

    -Sapphire and Powercolour are installed in PCIex16 and or PCIex4 when bsod error occurs; which vga card is in PCIEx16?

    -what version of the motherboard bios is installed?

    -is this a new install of windows?

    -what version of AMD Drivers are installed when this happens?

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I would do a driver sweep and re-install the drivers.... to start
  4. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    BSOD is Video TDR failure.The resolution is really messed up when it happens so I can't make out the exact error code.The BSOD happens regardless of which card is installed in the x16 slot (I tried them both).Also tried different crossfire bridges in both connectors.

    The power color is AX69502GBD52DH the non reference (non unlockable) model with dual fans.The sapphire is the one in your link.

    Drivers are the latest non-beta Catalyst 13.1.Windows is not really a fresh install I installed them about 3 months ago and I only had the sapphire at that time.The mobo bios is also updated to the latest version.
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,766
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Update board BIOS. Try Catalyst 12.1 driver first. I suspect driver issue due to drivers themselves, or board, since x4 slot must be from SB, not chipset.
  6. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Now I tried it with two crossfire bridges and when I tried to activate crossfire nothing happens.It automatically switches back to "crossfire disabled".Unistalled the drivers and tried to reinstall them with the bridges on.The whole PC crashed during the AMD display driver install (no BSOD just froze and had to reset).GPUz detects them both normally when one or two crossifre bridges are on.Please help I don't know what to do anymore :banghead::banghead::banghead:!
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,507 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Remove the Powercolour HD 6950 at this stage and only Select the Sapphire HD 6950 and install it in PCIEx16 [top slot] and attach power cables

    NEXT

    power up and boot into windows

    go here - Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Windows Update\Change settings and set Important updates to *Download updates but let me choose whether to install them [Note: this can be changed back afterwards]

    go here - http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Windows-Installer-CleanUp-Utility-Download-18442.html and download this app [*may be required]

    go here - http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx and download catalyst 12.10 [or a version of the catalyst drivers you know work]

    Manual Uninstalation Of AMD Drivers in Windows 8

    *be careful not to remove AMD chipset drivers and or reinstall them if required*

    1. Run the Application Profiles (CAP) uninstaller from 'Programs and Features', select 'No' to restarting now.
    2. Run the AMD uninstaller from 'Programs and Features'. Express uninstall all ATI, select 'No' to restarting now.
    3. Uninstall any leftovers in the case that step (2) fails ; use Windows Installer CleanUp Utility 2.5.0.1
    4. Manually delete all AMD and ATI registry entries from HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software, HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE, and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node
    5. Manually delete any AMD or ATI folders from C:\Users\<YourUserName>\AppData\Local, C:\Users\<YourUserName>\AppData\Roaming, C:\ProgramData, C:\Program Files, and C:\Program Files (x86)
    6. Manually delete any AMD and ATI related files from C:\windows\system32 and C:\windows\syswow64 -- for this step use the command prompt:
    del C:\windows\system32\ati*.*
    del C:\windows\syswow64\amd*.*
    del C:\windows\system32\amd*.*
    del C:\windows\syswow64\ati*.*
    7. Under Device Manager, right click your AMD card(s) and select Uninstall, and check the box that says 'Delete the driver software for this device'

    above posted by Syncore - source http://forums.guru3d.com/printthread.php?t=371852

    NEXT

    restart windows and install Catalyst driver; windows will need to restart and boot back into windows [allow this]

    NEXT

    shut down the PC power down the PSU [wait for a couple of minutes], then install the Powercolour HD 6950 [*Do Not Install the crossfire bridge at this stage] attach the power cables

    NEXT

    power up the PSU, boot into windows and allow windows to install the driver for the new hardware, next: restart and boot back into windows

    NEXT

    Shutdown windows ; power down the PSU [wait for a couple of minutes] then install the Crossfire Bridge

    NEXT

    Power up the PSU, boot into windows; goto catalyst control center and select crossfire

    NEXT

    Install latest version of CAPS available here - http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx

    hope this helps

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
    cadaveca and antony209494 say thanks.
  8. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    OMG THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!It worked.Actually I couldn't install the program from your link cause it gave an error neither I deleted the registry values myself (just ran ccleaner once).I suspect the unistallation of the drivers from device manager was the problem cause I had more or less tried about everything else you mentioned.And lol how did I forget that-I used to unistall the driver from the device manager myself a couple of years back when I had two 5770 in Crossfire.

    I installed catalyst 12.10.Should I now try 13.1 or 13.5 beta or will it fuck it up again?Also should I use one or two crossfire bridges?Once again a BIG THANK YOU!
    Law-II says thanks.
  9. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,507 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    thanks for the feedback; it's invaluable.

    With regard to 13.1 *who knows - I have had issues only with MPC [media player classic] but 13.1 may have other issues I am unaware of.

    I am sure you mean 13.2 beta 5, this was a hotfix; release notes - http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst132BetaDriver.aspx

    I am not sure there is any tangible evidence to suggest that two bridges are better than one, realy down to user preference. If one bridge is working maybe leave it as is; why fix it, then again I leave this with you to experiment if you please.

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
    antony209494 says thanks.
  10. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yeah I meant 13.2 beta 5-thanks for correcting.Just OCed both cards and tried some games.

    Far cry 3 wasn't really a big improvement it rather made the world rendering slower dropping the FPS to 10-15 for 2-3 secs before stabilizing to 30-50 (just the same as with one 6950) almost everywhere when I move to new locations.

    Assassins Creed 3:same shit as before.Well didn't really expect it to run better cause the problem is terrible optimization and not that my system is not powerful.Still 10-25 FPS in Boston and other cities or forts or whatever....

    GTA IV (another destroyed PC port) performed about the same with or without crossfire.

    The big deal was Crysis 2.I was thrilled to see an improvement of 50%+ making the game almost completely smooth in max settings (with DX11 and high res packs)

    About the same for metro 2033.Something less than 50% FPS improvement-satisfactory enough.

    These were the heaviest games I had all tested in max settings and 1920x1080 Resolution.

    Actually I am only a little disappointed from Far cry 3.The rest were predictable.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,507 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    not bad for a beta, fingers crossed AMD keep the improvments coming over the next few releases

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
    antony209494 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page