1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New custom machine - is it ok??

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by davidfox, May 9, 2008.

1. davidfox New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi guys,

I'm building a new custom machine, but im no expert and so wanna know in particular whether my RAM and MB will work together... Dunno about the PSU and video card needing to match up either - i wouldnt have thought it matters? Can you gimme any points about the compatibility of this machine. Thanks!! :)

Specs:
    Corsair 4GB (2x 2GB) DDR2 800 XMS2 (PC6400 - TWIN2X4096-6400C5) RAM Module Kit
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L V2 Intel P35 Chipset Socket 775 Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3Ghz Socket 775 CPU
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition (OEM)
    MSI nVidia Geforce 8800GT 512mb Overclocked Edition PCI Express Graphics Card
    Samsung 500GB SATA II Hard Drive 16mb Cache 7200RPM (HD501LJ)
    Samsung SH-S202J 20x Black DVD Writer (IDE, OEM, Nero included)
    Thermaltake WingRS 100 Case (Black, 430W PSU - VG1430BNS)

Any thoughts n suggestions welcome. Im shopping at ITSdirect.com.au mainly for their awesome support.

2. Duxx Guest

Never been a big fan of the PSU's that come included in a case, if you can afford it, I would look for a separate PSU. Would hate to see your system go up in flames because of a crappy PSU.

3. AsphyxiA

AsphyxiA New Member

Thanks Received:
    seems like a pretty strong bugget build if you ask me. Id spring for a little more and go with OCZ's new 4gig flex kit<--for overclocking. Then id also get an 8800 GTS instead of the GT, BTW try to go with Palit. other than that sold gold!

4. das müffin mann

das müffin mann New Member

Thanks Received: