1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new difficulties with soft mod 9550

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by johnk119, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. johnk119 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.
    i'm sure you've all heard similar problems quite often however i need help and this is the only place i can go for it i got a 9550 it seemed like a good deal for the money i still think it is especially since it's very overclockable now it uses a 9600 chip so it can ran at the same speed right... i tried the softmod to enable the disabled 4 texture pipelines only to have the whole computer appear to be running slower at bootup also ati indicated only 4 pipelines were active... does anyone have any ideas also mine doesn't come with a fan so if i were to add a much bigger case fan what speed do you think would be the max safe speed to use it at for a number of hours... also if it were to begin overheating how would i know?:
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    All 9550 have 4 pipes. The 9500 haas 4 with 4 disabled. 2 completely different cores, sorry.
  3. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Wazzledoozle.. did you check the GPU core last time you replaced the fansink? I opened mine and it's like a very small chip (no metal shim) and in the centre it has a small little core saying something like "ATI" then "Radeon 9550".. is this what you get when you replace the fansink..?
  4. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Mine had no shim, and it just said "Radeon 9550" and then rows of codes
    It was about the size of an Athlon XP core
  5. johnk119 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.
    heatsink and fan

    my case generally has bad airflow i'm considering adding a case fan and a videocard fan ... i'll definetly add a case fan before i overclock but do you think it's still necessary to have a fan on the card if it has a heat sink and i have adequate case ventilation ?
  6. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Hmm.. seems to be similliar to mine.. like the size of 2"x2" or something like that only.. I thought they are supposed to be the same as the 9600 cores.. :confused:

    Anyway, johhk119, you better get a case fan and maybe replace the current heatsink with a fansink.. maybe some RAMsinks will also do some justice in overclocking..
  7. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    I mean that the raised core where the heatsink touches is about the size of an AMD athlon XP core. The entire chip is about 2" by 2"
  8. ati.bob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    352 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Ya.. The actual core (the black thingy at the centre) is about 1cm x 1cm only.. the whole chip is about 2" x 2".. I thought 9600/RV350 have shims around the chip? or is it just limited to the R*** series... Nevermind that, just curious.. :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page