1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New eight-pin PCI Express GPU power connector leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    It is no surprise that the current 75W six-pin power connector isn't giving graphics cards enough electricity. The NVIDIA 8800GTX uses two connectors to give it enough power, and we can only speculate as to how much power AMD's upcoming R600 will use. And so, a new eight-pin power connector has been leaked, and should arrive just in time to power the R600 (if needed).
    [​IMG]

    Source: The Inquirer
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  2. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    less cabling for some then :)
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    OMG it looks weird.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Im still on 4 pin molex..
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well as long as it's the same pinout as the 8-pin CPU connector... I've already got one hanging un-used in my case.
  6. XooM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    479 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Close to FrozenCPU.com
    errr... EPS12v plug anybody? :rolleyes:
  7. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    nope its different. as you can see from the picture the two extra pins are moved out of line from the rest, so the eps12v and pci-e plugs are different.
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    lol... I think AMD should be wise enough to make a graphics card that dosen't need that.
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    this just in "Redundant" PSU rated at 5Kw of pure dust free DC power just hit the market. It includes:
    -20 rails
    -1/4 mile of cabling
    -2-AC, 3 prong sockets
    -built in voltmeter
    -small 8" LCD with retractable rabbit ears
    -2 headphone jacks
    -dual 120mm fans (top/bottom)
    -dual 80mm fans (front/rear)
    -new patented 4-pin, 6-pin, 8-pin and 12-pin connectors
    -Vista Ready
    -modular version available at additional cost
    - 8" subwoofer at additional charge
  10. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Wouldnt this take four molexes? The only four that we have..
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i have a 700 watt ocz PSU. if i have to buy a new damned PSU just to get the r600 working i will be very very displeased.
  12. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    wudnt the r600 come with a powersupply of its own and external one if it required too much or they might just give this new pci-e graphics cable converter taking 4 molexes ? lol
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Probably why Thermaltake decided to make their own Graphics PSU. Nice idea, but its kind of sad when a great quality 600 or 750W PSU just doesnt cut it and you need a PSU just for a graphics adapter or 4. I mean, they need to get on the ball and roll on with less is more! (Less power that is)
  14. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    yea i agree graphics cards are taking over most of the system there sould be a level of power not tp go above they just get higher and higher performance comes with a cost 100th post :D
  15. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Try separating more than eight different thoughts, with sentences.
  16. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Will we even have discreet GPUs in a few years? It may well be taken care of by one or more of the cores in a MultiCore CPU.
  17. RickyG512 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croydon, England
    how many wats will this send then if a 6 pin one sends 75 watts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page