1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    New team members need to post here. Introduce yourself and state the hardware you will be folding on. Veteran team members will have tips to share so your efforts may be as productive as possible. After introducing yourself, feel free to post up in the forum with any questions. We also have a F@H Rig Gallery if you want to share pics of your folding rigs. Thanks for joining the team and good luck!
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  2. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Hi all, I'm johnnyfiive. I just started folding about 1-2 weeks ago. I have two main machines folding at my house and one at work. The machines at home fold while I'm not at work and the one at work is 24/7.

    The machines at home are my main rig and a PS3.
    Main rig is a Phenom II 920 @ 3.5GHz, XFX GTX 260 Black Edition, 4GB ram. The PS3 is a brand new 80GB. The machine at work is a Intel C2D 2.2GHGz with 4GB of ram and a low grade ATi card running Ubuntu.

    [​IMG]

    I'm a VW fan. :D
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
    mmaakk and stanhemi say thanks.
  3. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    My name is Amit, from India.
    I have just started using F@H , have joined the TPU team with username "TechPowerup!".
    My rig is listed in "system spec".

    I have downloaded high-perf. client. I dont know much about F@H this time, so have set perf. setting to "slightly high" atm.
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Welcome Johnnyfive, that's a unique GUI you have for you F@H client. Love the old school GTI and the colors on your Sig Banner. Let us know if there is anything we can help you with.
    :toast:

    Thanks for joining the team Amit. Your E8400 does a nice job on SMP and the ATI cores have been getting better with time. You should be able to get approx 5K ppd with your sig rig. Let me know if you need any help with F@H.
    :pimp:
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  5. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks so much for joining johnnyfiive :toast:

    Count on us for any doubts.

    About Volkswagen:

    I'm from Brazil and VW rules over there :rockout:

    Before moving to Canada I had 3 VW cars:

    - VW Parati 1985 - made in Brazil
    - VW Gol 1992 - made in Brazil
    - VW Golf 1996 - made in Germany

    :toast:
  6. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Hi all, Just joined the TPU folding team last night. Folding with the rig in my system specs, Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane and Radeon 4870 512 mb, using The Vista GPU Console client. So far 6 WU complete.
    stanhemi, BUCK NASTY and bogmali say thanks.
  7. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Decided to change UserName to TechPowerUp! to help with the team folding Effort
    mmaakk says thanks.
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    BTW, is there a way to force more CPU usage? My 920 is only using 20-30%.
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    how do you get thoise stat sigs? i forgot the site
  10. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  11. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    If you are using SMP, don't forget to add the flag

    -smp

    at your shortcut. Ex:

    C:\F@H_SMP\fah.exe -smp
  12. cliffinokc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    oklahoma city oklahoma
    im cliff i joined the folding team today my rig is in profile.
    bogmali says thanks.
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Thanks for joining cliff. Let us know if you need an help configuring your clients.
    :toast:
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2009
  14. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Started folding today using my 4850, Have to admit i don't entirely understand the entire concept but from what i read it a very good cause.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  15. Ryo129 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Started folding a couple days ago on my HD 4870. ~4200ppd
    Just installed SMP for my pII 920 (FAHmon has a yellow square next to it should i be worried?)
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  16. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    My names Danny. I've been folding almost 24/7 on my 4870 for the last few days. I seem to run games just as well with it running.

    Currently i'm building a second computer that'll be dedicated to folding. It's only got an 8600GT in it at the moment... lol.

    When that computer is finished, i'll be folding alot more. I'll try to keep it on 24/7 - so long as it's quiet.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  17. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yellow aquare is ok - just means it needs to update. Not sure how fast it will crunch the numbers, but at a guess maybe 15-20minutes per % done. So give it an hour and it should be a nice green color.
  18. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    My current 4850 is scarily quiet - can not hear it even at load. If you wish PM me and i can give you the exact link to it.
  19. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Hi guys - started folding a couple of weeks ago> my rig is in the specs. i'm folding 4-5k ppd. i'm also folding using the cpu client on 3 other pc's 700mhz, 2.2ghz and 2.5ghz but only about 50-100ppd but every little helps right?
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,925 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    Hey everyone,
    My name is TheMailMan78 and I'm an Foldalcoholic.

    <<< My current specs are under my name.

    I'm not sure how folding works but I entered the team name and my name into the folding control app. Now the icon in my task bar says "F@H: Working 270/1500". How does this work exactly and how should I properly set this up?
  21. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    assuming you are using the CPU and not the GPU?
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,925 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,502
    Dude I have no clue. What would be better?
  23. Ryo129 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    uhh if your willing to turn off crossfire and run two seperate GPU clients for each of your 4850's that would get you the most PPD i think
  24. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    Hey guys, I figured since my PC stays on 24/7, I could put that idle time to good use. Just getting started with it today. Check out my system specs, let me know the best way to set it up. Thanks guys. I am looking foward to trying to help a good cause.
    bogmali says thanks.
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    If you have your GPU's on SLI, you need to unlink them. Buck_Nasty has a pretty good tutorial (on this sub-forum) on how to use/setup multi-GPU's. You should pull 5-6K PPDs on each one of those cards.
    novacheck says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page