1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    Alright fullas.

    I'm going to fire up this F@H thingy for the Chimptastic Competition.

    Hardware is in the sig. Off to the pub shortly so will probably have to finish the setup over the weekend.
     
    King Wookie and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Thanks for answering the call to arms. Post in the Tech assistance thread if you need any help setting up. We also have teamviewer available to simplify the process.

    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    274 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Hi, I'm PHaS3... I will be folding (for now at least) on my main rig: C2D E8400, 4GB RAM, Radeon 5850, using GPU2 Client...

    As i'm just starting out, any advice would be greatly appreciated :)
     
    hertz9753 and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  4. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Basically, everything you need to know is in our Setting up GPU2 on ATI cards! thread. Don't bypass the Environmental Variables, step 5.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    274 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Yeah... done all that really, just not sure where to set those environment variables?

    Edit :: My bad .... :

    Win7: Computer=>Properties=>Advanced System Settings=>Environmental Variables
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    I hate forums for sharing knowledge. Yes it might be there, but Where? Our F@H team thread has over 300 pages of posts! Anyway, enough of my rant. Read post #24 in that same thread.
     
    PHaS3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    274 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Yeah :p thanks tho, appreciate the assistance...

    Now if only there was a proper client for my 5850 ... this using ~360 shaders is bs lol
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    KieX helpd me through the setup

    i just started with the 4670 (i know it sucks)

    but that was more so id know what to do

    just put up a WTB thread in my local forums for a wide range of nvidia cards
     
    KieX and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  9. PrimoJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Hello! Primo here
    Was looking for resolution for my ATI HD 5000 series F@H problem and I found the solution here so I decided to fold for TPU team.
    My Specs are: Phenom II X2 555BE 3.2GHz unlocked to Phenom II X4 b55 @ 3.6GHz, 2x1GB DDR2-1066 5-5-5-15 Corsair, 2x HD5770 graphic cards in full x16 crossfire.
     
  10. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    I started folding for the team!!! yay!!!, now my PhysX card will finally do something interesting!

    <--- with my PC
     
    KieX, King Wookie, bogmali and 4 others say thanks.
  11. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I'm hoping to start folding on my main rig, and possibly my older PC if I cant get it hooked up to the network again.

    I think I've got the client working ok, but it doesn't seem to do any work just hangs at 0 out of xyz.

    Once the CPU one works I'll try getting my 5770 and 4830 folding as well.
     
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Hey guys, thanks for folding for the team, but remember it's more about what we are folding than folding for the team.

    Saving people one protine at a time!

    I am glad to see some new faces:p, and as always don't be shy feed the aniamals.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  13. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Well my first work unit has been completed, the honor going to my 4830 :toast:


    Still can't understand why my 5770 won't fold though :banghead:
     
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,657 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    What is the issue?
     
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Are they in the same system? You can't use 2 different ATI generations in the same system at the same time. If that's the case, pull the 4830 and F@H on the 5770.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    They are in the same system, do you mean it won't work as in you can't fold on both? Cause they certainly both work apart from that.
     
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    From ATI support:
    Count yourself lucky that you're getting both to work. You might be able to use -gpu x -forcegpu ati_r700 (where x= 0 or 1) to get the 5770 to Fold. If you can only get one to Fold, the 5770 will use less power and get about the same PPD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I don't see why two wouldn't work side by side, I've had various ATI cards work side by side and I've never had problems.
     
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
  20. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    Hi, I joined TPU F@H team last night.
    Meanwhile I'm folding with a HIS HD5670 but I'll get a GTX460 soon.
    I'm glad to help and hope reach 100k to get the F@H badge :)
     
    msgclb, DaMulta, bogmali and 5 others say thanks.
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Nice to have you onboard :toast:
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Just started folding again, big props to Buck Nasty for helping me set things up. Currently running a GT 240 24 hours and a GTX 460 when I'm at home. Starting tomorrow, I'll have the GTX 460 in the 24 hour rig and the 240 running when at home. :toast:
     
    msgclb, DaMulta, BUCK NASTY and 2 others say thanks.
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Don't forget to give the the brand/model of the GTX460. I would love to "recreate" you PPD on that card:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    This is the card I'm using: EVGA 768-P3-1360-TR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 768MB ...

    Strange thing is, it is stock clocked at 720mhz, and not what they list.

    My clocks for folding are 875/1750/1800 stock voltage. Fan runs at 55% and temps haven't gone above 45c. Results in about 14100 PPD.


    My GT 240 (Galaxy) at stock (550mhz GPU) is good for about 4000 PPD. :toast:
     
    (FIH) The Don, BUCK NASTY and DaMulta say thanks.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i should have a 240(given by KieX) up and running soon aswell, and the 470 parttime, i only need the memory from CP so the rig can become stable, BSOD 4 times a day cant be good for folding i think

    is anyone folding on the 450 yet?

    seeing mixxed results of 9k from the card oc'ed on different sites
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page