1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Yes, I have passkey on all clients. :D

    I WANT AN NVIDIA CARD!!!

    :toast:
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2010
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Then you're ready to go :)

    You should get bonuses shortly....but watch out, I'm coming for you. A GTX260 soon to be joined by a GTS450 and then a GTS250
    Thefumigator says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Now I get even better PPD...?

    [​IMG]
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Much better :)

    Not bad overall there--I can't wait until you get a new nV GPU :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    You know, my dads server (the celeron) has a matrox AGP video card, I could just take it out... but AGP nvidia cards are terribly low (6800 is the max I could find, also don't know if its supported by F@H) so I think I can put a 4650AGP

    Luckly he got yet 2 free PCI slots out of 6 (which are populated by 2 networking cards, a sound card, and an USB2.0 card. So I think I can get a pair of 9500GT PCI... what do you think? they are the best PCI cards you could find...

    As for my system, have to wait for a Ph2 X6 95W. but I have wide options due to my free PCI-E 2.0 x16 slot. I love the GTS450... I mean I've been always an ATI guy but for folding I have to be wise, also cost is quite important... Should I wait for the 430?
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd just go ahead and get a 9800GT or GTS250. Not hard to find for close to $50 used, and the GTS430 looks like at best it'll be as fast as an 8800GT or maybe a GTS250 :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    408 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Mmm yeah but you know, for my main system, I prefer new technology... I mean, DX11, and all other stuff, just because If I'm going to spend I prefer it brand new (with warranty etc).

    For my dad on the other hand... I could put whatever that ASUS P2B supports.
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,499 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    yahoo im new!!!

    hardware same as in specs!!!


    just finished following instructions buck nasty posted for setting up F@H. now its doing things on it own??!!
    Josh154, KieX, msgclb and 3 others say thanks.
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,499 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    i joined TPU's WCG!!!!!!!
    mstenholm and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Just began folding on my main rig (sys specs on the left).

    Planning to put together a dedicated folding rig this week. Nothing crazy, but it will have a dual core phenom (hopefully unlocks to quad core), and a GTX 460.

    [​IMG]
    hertz9753 and Josh154 say thanks.
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,443 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,504
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Welcome aboard xbonez. Let me know if you run into any technical difficulties.

    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah welcome xbonez! Glad to have ya on the team :) I actually just started folding for TPU also making the switch over from OCN and im loving the choice i made!

    I just got my rig all ready to go last night and it's about what your current rig produces so after you get your dedicated rig and if you fold on your current rig your gonna be outputting twice as much as me! :eek:

    Here's what my rig can do :D
    [​IMG]
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  13. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hey TPU Folders -

    I just got a new job at a local ISP, I'm really enjoying the job. I've almost got my college degree and I've already found a job that I somewhat look forward going to :cool:

    Anyways, my rig that I've got here at work is fairly decent (besides being Dell) - I'd like to be able to give some of its wasted CPU & GPU cycles to TPU's F@H team.

    This Dell Optiplex 780 has -
    *Core 2 Quad Q9650
    *4GB RAM
    *Radeon HD 3400 PCIe

    Several of my co-workers have the same machine assigned to them and they have upgraded the GPU. One of them added an XFX 9800 GT (the version that doesn't need a 6 pin), I'm not sure what the other co-worker put in his.

    I don't think the power supply in these Dell Optiplex 780 could power a card that has a 6 pin. I might be wrong, but I'd hate to find out the hard way.

    What is the best folding GPU (Nvidia obviously) I can get for this Dell Optiplex 780 ? I will be doing some light gaming up here at work also :roll:
    mstenholm says thanks.
  14. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Welcome Ross

    You could get a 450, it draws very little power from a 6 pin connector. Best that I can think off before getting to a 2 times 6 pin.


    Just saw you have a 260 as well in your home rig. That is a good producer as well ;)
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
    Ross211 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Hmm id probably say the green version of the 9800gt also wouldn't be a bad choice. You could get atleast 10k out of that rig if you put a 9800gt in it.
    Ross211 says thanks.
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,874 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
  17. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    This Dell Optiplex 780 is the "OptiPlex 780 MT Cuthbert with Disk
    OptiPlex 780FLX-HD Minitower for Standard PSU"

    It's the case on the far left in the photos shown in that page. I know that the motherboard actually mounts on the left side in these cases, and the power supply is top mounted. It's weird having to take the right side panel off to work in these.
  18. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    I doubt that my 450 suggestion will work with that PSU. I understand your reluctance to replace your current GPU with a new one. A 430 might work but I havn't seen any records of how efficient they are.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    Well I followed the setup guide from the F@H mainpage - The Installation for a multi-CPU system (Systray version).

    This Q9650 in my Dell is crunching away with 4 of these systray clients open (Each has a different machine ID) - I'm going to see if I can't get another machine just like mine here to start F@H.

    I actually use a different Dell Optiplex 780 depending on what day I'm here. Both machines have the same hardware. Tomorrow night I'll setup the clients on my other Dell Optiplex 780.
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  20. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,874 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    To get the most points, you want to use the SMP client. You do not have a multi-cpu system. You have a multi-core system. Setting up the Windows SMP client

    Edit: If someone else has a 9800GT "green" working, then I would recommend that, the GT240, or the GT430. I think a GTS450 would be "pushing it".
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
    Ross211 says thanks.
  21. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    I now have (2) Q9650's here at work crunching for TPU!

    I just installed the GPU2 client on my desktop at home last night - I'm going to run it when I have my PC on and its idling (I'd leave my main Home PC on for folding but I'm afraid of an H20 pump failure).

    My Server/DVR PC at home uses the following (don't laugh, I got this OEM HP system out of the dumpster, fixed it & added components) -

    OCZ 550W Modular PSU
    ASUS P5RC-LA LGA775 Motherboard (ATI RS400 chipset)
    Pentium 4 Prescott 524 @ 3.06 Ghz
    1GB DDR2 (512x2)
    Integrated ATI Radeon Express 200 series
    160GB WD Blue (WinServer 2008 OS) / 500 GB WD Blue (For DVR Data)

    Unfortunately the ASUS board won't accept C2D or C2Q, but I'm considering getting a decent Nvidia PCI-Express GPU and putting it in the system to do F@H. Does anyone think this machine would be worth putting something like a 9800 GT in to do some folding off the GPU ?

    My plan is to first get some decent Nvidia GPU's and put them in these 2 Dell Optiplex 780s I use here at work and get them crunching away.
  22. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Here you at least have a decent PSU. It should be good for a 460, 768 GB (best folding card for the money / points). A 9800 GT will work as well.
    Ross211 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    Forgot to say I got rid of the systray clients on one of the Dell Optiplex 780s today and it is now running the SMP client. I'm gonna put the SMP client on my other Dell tomorrow night.

    Thanks for pointing this out for a noob like myself. :respect:
    Josh154 and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Cool what are those machines scoring for PPD?
  25. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm not sure, what's the easiest way to check ? Sorry I'm such a noob.

    Got both my Dell Optiplex 780 work rigs running the SMP client :rockout:

    [​IMG]

    I just took my last final today and I'm free from college work for a whole month :D

    I plan on getting 2 Nvidia GPU's for these Dell rigs and running the GPU2 client on them.

    Can you run the GPU2 client along with the SMP client and have no issues ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page