1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    As you're setting up the client, just tell it not to add the SMP slot.
  2. Gero1369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hello

    doesn't seem too busy here with the exception of the 'pie' thread. How's everyone doing?

    Nice place for your team, 28th overall is nothing to sneeze at!
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    We're not a chatty bunch. "Just the facts, maam."
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  4. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    New to folding...
    I just dl'd the cient this week and have found my PC is not FAH stable... Stable for gaming at 4800MHz but not for FAH.

    Time to do some work.
  5. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    First, welcome to the group. :toast: We can always use new members.

    Alas, you'll find it's true. You can't overclock as high for folding as for gaming. I usually go down 0.2 from my maximum overclock.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I tried this out, but I really want to know how well folding at home really helps the real world issues they are trying out? Also, how do you all afford your power bill each month if you are constantly running folding at home?
  7. AnomalouS

    AnomalouS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    350 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    thanks,

    what kind of increase in your power bill will you see?
  8. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Folding@home does help science answer many questions regarding proteins.

    We all have different reasons and produce different amounts of results. I used to fold voraciously, but the power bill got too much for my meager income. I now have a PC at work that does some folding, and I use my home PC for CPU crunching. This has a negligible affect on my normal computer use, and barely adds anything to my electricity bill. To each his own, seek your own participation level, but all are welcome.
    theoneandonlymrk and TeXBill say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Each of us has to decide how much we are willing to spend. I only Fold during the winter months. Once the average reaches 60F, I'm done until fall. Only you can decide for yourself if the science results are worth the time, electricity, and equipment.

    You can actually figure it out. Find out how many more watts per hour it takes to Fold, then do the math with the electricity rates in your area. A watt-meter makes it easy to figure out the watts.
  10. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    229 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Howdy, just joined the TPU team on F@H. DL'ed and installed client and currently folding atm. My machine specs are under my name. :)
  11. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Welcome mate!:toast:
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,329 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    hi , dude ,nice rig:)
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hello! I have been a cruncher for a while, I just installed f@h client on my main and will let it fold sometimes during the day.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    So your not Napoleon Dynamite? Thank you for joining us.:toast:
  15. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    I've actually been folding in the team for a while now, but just never noticed this thread for some reason.

    So now that I'm back online with my rig just in time for ChimPowerUp, might as well introduce myself here :)

    I'll probably be running a V6 console SMP client for the challenge, which seemed to average at 16 000 PPD for the last months. I'll have to run some tests to see if the V7 would bring any advantage.

    Happy folding, everyone :toast:
    hertz9753 and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    V7 runs the same clients. It's basically just a front end. I wouldn't bother changing, except that V7 is required to run that HD6950.
  17. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    OK, better to stick with the console client then, as running the GPU and taking a lot of CPU time does not seem to make a lot of sense with only four cores on the CPU.

    Unless the newer cores dramatically change things with the HD6950? I'll have to research this a bit :)
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,329 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    imho you would max your ppd by using the v7 client as its the only one that gives point earning X16s to AMD cards, ive messed about a lot and one card would use aprox 60-100% of 1 cpu core leaving the rest to put to smp(x3) or a 2smp and a uni as i did(got 2 cards so 2smp now) ,all settable as SLOTS in V7 , your Ppd should be higher then 16000 with that config:) id have to guestimate into the 20k zone but i dont know how far
  19. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    719 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    192
    I'm getting anywhere from 13 - 20k PPD depending on the wu with my 2500k @ 4.5GHz. That's running it 24/7 and with my passkey entered. I'm also running 3 Nvidia cards in the same setup set at "low" priority with the smp set to "idle". I don't know how much difference you'd see with the ATI card but I assume you should be getting more than 16,000 PPD if you're folding 24/7. If not then that's pretty good.
  20. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    13 - 20k is pretty much what I've been getting too, with a passkey and running 24/7. 16k seems to be the average over a couple of months with some short off-line periods here and there included.

    Previous trials showed, that I would only get ~4000 PPD with the GPU, and lose more 6000 PPD from the SMP client.

    I'll give the newest client a try anyway, let's see what happens.
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    ~4000 PPD meant you were using GPU2 which was horrible for both GPU points and the effect that it had on the CPU. I tend to agree with you that running SMP by its self is your best bet, but, if you want to try both, check out what Buck said: (modified for this post)
    It's all according to how much you want to mess with the clients and settings.
  22. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    Running the current WU with -SMP 4 gave me ~19k PPD. Now running it with -SMP 3 I get ~13k PPD and ~9k with the new GPU core. So if not a huge difference to SMP only, still a lot better compared to the results with older cores. It's as if there now was an eight day in a week of folding ;)
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I just started to fold for TPU.
    As little about my folding history (more or less the same text as in this post):

    I used to fold on the HD 4850 for team 596 (Team Pimprig, created by appetitefortech.com). I used to fold on the HD 4850 I have but the card was BSOD'ing for a while when gaming. I solved that like half a year ago but errors in OCCT's GPU tool made me fear for soft errors when running F@H. The latter and the fact that the 4850 draws quite some power made me decide to move towards SMP. With the "old" SMP client that seemed to misbehave sometimes (it seemed to be Intelligent Energy Saver, most likely. With only Speedstep enabled for power saving, the latest version of the v7 client behaves well (the Linpack test in OCCT went well too, over a period of 24 hours)).
    So after a break of a few months (did not feel like folding for a while, as you perhaps can imagine and other matters made me somewhat forget about it) I am back into it. I have moved from team 596 (Appetite for Tech's team) to the TPU team because I have not visited Appetitefortech.com for ages while I am much at this place (it is mostly an emotional thing I guess, because there is no rational reason to switch)

    My stats and those of my "old" team are in the links below.
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=596&username=Chevalr1c
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?teamnum=596&qtype=teampage

    :rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Welcome. Most of the team is off on a little adventure. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=165282
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  25. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Oh that's right. It is time for the annual Chimp Challenge. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page