1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Feature: Quick Partial Quote

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by btarunr, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Dear members, take advantage of the new quick partial-quote feature. With this, you can select a portion of a post you want to reply to, and it will quickly take you to the "Reply" page with the selected text wrapped in quotes.

    1. Select a portion of a post, a "Quote" button pops up right next to it. Deselecting the text will cause the button to disappear.
    [​IMG]

    Clicking on it will take you to the post reply page with the selected text wrapped into quotes.
    [​IMG]

    Enjoy the feature, suggestions, and some entomology welcome.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    i slapped this together in a couple of hours, only tested it on ie 8 and ff 3.5

    it can't quote images at this time

    bug reports welcome
  3. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    tested ... works in chrome as well :toast:
  4. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I was just going to start a thread because of this.
    Found it weird that every time I would select a portion of text, the Quote button would pop-up out of nowhere!
    Nice feature, really, makes it easier to quote people that post monstrous amounts of text...
    Working fine so far. Using Firefox 3.5.9.
    theonedub says thanks.
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Wow I just noticed this. It is annoying as hell. I select something, then the QUOTE thing pops up. Wow. I mean it is helpful, but extremely distracting.
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    couldnt come up with a better way to make users aware of it.
    if it were selecting and then clicking the quote button in the bottom right, nobody would notice it
    theonedub says thanks.
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Bug:

    Nothing is selected, still pops up.

    How to recreate:

    Select text, then click in the same spot WITHOUT moving the mouse. Quote button will stay.


    [​IMG]
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    seems to be an IE bug, i noticed it too. please confirm you see it in ie
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I'm on Firefox.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    For something "just slapped together" it's brilliant. :toast:


    Works fine in Chrome and IE8 for me.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    it seems to be happening when you click the selection which causes the mouse up event to fire, but the selection is cleared after the event handler?
  12. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    So to rephrase:

    I select text.
    I click once without moving the mouse.
    The button remains.
    When the button is clicked nothing happens, it simply disappears, so yes the selection is cleared.
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hey, I wasn't complaining and I completely see your point. Works very well, actually! It just started to happen even before I logged off (so mid session, between threads), that's why I said it was weird. I thought features like this required users to log off, clear cache and then log in again to see the feature.
    But I agree with the others and as I said, very nice feature.

    EDIT:
    This is also happening to me on Firefox. On IE it's the same, even if I move the cursor.
    Also noticed, in quick edit this happens after selecting the area (minor detail, I guess):
    [​IMG]
    And noticed that while in the quick edit, selected text in the Text Area can be quoted as well, haven't clicked to see where it goes...will do it after this is posted.

    EDIT2: Quote button is gone... :confused:
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Working fine on Opera 10.62
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,809 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,924
    Maybe a "Multi-Quote" option would be nice also, so you can quote multiple portions of different posts?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    +1
    Maybe it just involves another portion of code, hopefully not too difficult...
    Once the "Quote button" is definitely debugged, that could be inserted, so that it doesn't give W1zzard a migraine.

    EDIT: Back on Firefox, Quote button working...reacting the same way as it did on IE... :confused:
    EDIT2: (Firefox) Quote button while in quick edit on selected text is gone. On the quick edit frame still exists. On the bug of the button remaining after clicking twice after selected/highlighted text, it only happens if it's clicked on selected/highlighted text. In other words, when text is selected/highlighted, the Quote button appears. If the 2nd click is in the same place or inside the selected/highlighted text, the button remains, even if the text becomes unselected. Only by the 3rd click and with the text unselected does the button disappear. If the 2nd click is everywhere else, the button disappears.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I like it :D (used it for that quote btw
  18. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,151 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Great feature, I can see myself using this quite often.

    TPU forever!
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Two things:

    1st) You can quote spaces or entries for blank quotes. That should be an easy fix. :)

    2nd) You can over-quote. I can select a part of a quoted post(from someone else) and it will show quoted by whoever made the post.

    Hope this helps :)
  20. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    works in safari
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    works here in firefox
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :respect: to the person that thought of this
  23. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,434 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    i noticed this today and i love it its great just like FF spell check and right click google search
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,756 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,468
    fixed quote button appearing in quick edit
    fixed spaces being quotable
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,134 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Location:
    Florida
    works in latest chrome

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page