1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Force 3D HD 4890 Accelerator Needs Only One Power Connector

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,689 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Force 3D rolled out a refreshing take on the ATI Radeon HD 4890 with its own-design F4890P-G5-350-FS. This model offers all features of the GPU running at AMD reference clock speeds of 850/975 MHz (core/memory), while needing only one 6-pin power connector, while most other accelerators based on the GPU require two, some overclocked models even needing a 6+2 pin power connector to replace one of them. This card has a slim design, with a short PCB, and a decent Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin-Turbo Pro cooling the GPU. It holds 1 GB of GDDR5 memory, and includes DVI-D, HDMI and D-Sub for connectivity. It has started selling in Japan for a fairly standard price.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: AKIBA PC Hotline
     
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That's actually really cool, great for people with lower spec PSU etc!
     
  3. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Low power draw , low temps ... wow .......
     
  4. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    I have the Accelero Twin-Turbo... I have no idea how anything you slap it onto could be called "a slim design". It's very nice that the PCB is shorter, but that's still 3 slots right there...
     
  5. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    amd has their game locked tight!
     
  6. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    This card may only need one power connector....but my overclocking obsession demands two. :nutkick: :laugh:
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,353 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,631
    kraaaazy!

    i can see this being popular for crossfire users, less plugs = easier on most PSU's

    (assuming it fits, with that huge cooler in the way)
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well even if you put on something like an Akasa neo and sell the cooler that comes with it its pretty nifty : ]
     
  9. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Wonder if it only needs one 6-pin because it's drawing more power through the PCI-E 2.0 slot... would this mean you couldn't use this card on a PCI-E 1.1 board?
     
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i don't believe that is possible. PCI-E 2.0 was spec'd to deliver up to 150watts but for some reason it hasn't been implemented yet, or hasn't been activated if it is possible on all 2.0 supporting mobo's.
     
  11. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Oh -- good. Just wondering -- got a few older systems, was wanting to upgrade them with a few monster video cards a year or so from now when 4890's are like $80. :D
     
    Hitman.1stGame says thanks.
  12. Hitman.1stGame

    Hitman.1stGame New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tripoli/Libya
    ^^ you remind me ...old Video cards Price Like Geforce FX 5800 Ultra:D
     
  13. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    667 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Awesome size. The twin-turbo is quite nice as well.
     
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Wonder how it compares to a normal two connector 4890 - I'm be interested on the stability of the card.
     
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Very nice, Im all about lower power draw.
     
  16. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    true but some of us only use 1 gfx card and never xfire. there is still room for a sound card and even an Intel NIC
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page