1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Futuremark 3DMark Vantage Screenshots Online

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Approaching the February 20th release date, Futuremark's 3DMark Vantage was pictured once more. This time we have some benchmark scores. The 3DMark Vantage RC0 build interface and some of the future tests are pictured below. The card that was running the benchmark and scored 4203 marks is supposed to be a GeForce 8800 GTX.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PCINLIFE
  2. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    barely anyone uses vista.
    ChillyMyst and [I.R.A]_FBi say thanks.
  3. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    I like how in the fourth shot it says "Operations 0:18.59" and for Time they have 24320. :laugh:
  4. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ignorance FTW :rolleyes: :D
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  5. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    im not being ignorant. im saying that from what ive seen not many people use vista that also benchmark.
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol @ the text on the submit page (last shot).

    "You have successfully finished the benchmark. Now you can blaa blaa blaa yadayadayada."

    ***

    "Add legal mambo jumbo here more yadayada blah blah."

    etc :p.
  7. warhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    and what makes you say that check out the ORB have a sensis.

    And for you info I bench in VISTA and I dont really see that much diffrence.:respect:VISTA
  8. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    That's the ignorance, shouldn't base it solely on what you've seen because you can't have seen everything :)
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    just use server 08 to run it
  10. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Does someone know if Vantage benchmarks the CPU as 3DMark06 do?
  11. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Vista 32Bit perform about 400pt slower then XP 32Bit (well know fact) and XP 64Bit performs about 250pt slower then XP 32Bit..
  12. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    At least people won't be able to say that once Vantage comes out ;P, also when people are getting scores of 14,000 on 3D Mark 06 (which happens to be my favorite game of all time, oh wait :rolleyes:) 400 less points is a 2% difference, otherwise known as unnoticeable (or margin of error). A lot of people who complain about vista either haven't used it, or don't really get why they're complaining (non stop complaints about vista's memory use come to mind :rolleyes:)
  13. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Strange is that this "Margin of error" is always making 3DMark06 perform slower in Vista then in XP.

    Read thread: Which OS for 3DMark06 http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52386&highlight=3dmark06

    Erocker a guy helping to run Alcpones offical 3DMark06 thread posted there:
    Um.. it's a known FACT that there is a point hit with Vista.
  14. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I'm not saying it is a margin of error causing it, I'm saying the difference so low that it's the equivalent of what the margin of error would be. It's something that I'm definitely not concerned about my self. It's definitely not such a large difference to make my games unplayable. I'm on vista 64 bit, and my 2900 copes with most things pretty well (although I am moving over to crossfire 3850 512MBs at the end of the month :D)
  15. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Ok understood you wrong.. btw 400pt can help very much in the official 3DMark06 thread to get into a better position..
  16. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Of course it can, not disputing that, I'm just saying that for most people 400 points will be nothing, those people with LN2 cooled graphics cards and CPUs will be most bothered, but they're "inhuman" :D
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  17. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    people that buy new "hardware" do it to get extra performance.. people that buy new Microsoft operating systems do it to get less performance.. :laugh:

    i known in real life 400 points is nothing.. but there is a whole bunch of "enthusiasts" out there trying their level best to get em.. he he

    which of course is why this vista xp argument will roll on for quite some time..

    trog
  18. ManofGod

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    108 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Say, I use Vista all the time, on my work laptop, HTPC and gaming machine. I guess I would call it personal preference. But for those who have a personal problem with others using Vista...... I guess it is a personal problem.

    Joe
  19. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,881 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Florida, US
    lol i know :roll: :wtf:
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Tbh,i'm sick of all the posts saying vista is shit etc etc.

    If you dont like vista,fair enuff.Just keep your traps shut about it,instead of injecting random vista is shit comments into threads that mention vista.

    As for this,4k with a gtx.I dont think i'll bother trying it anyway.
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I got about 300 points less in Vista x64 than in XP x86 on a score of ~11000 3DMark06. SM3.0 gets the biggest hit. Processor score is the same SM2.0 a little bit slower.

    Didn't know Vantage was so closo : o I need to get my GPU back from RMA :/
  22. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    come on guys.... this is the thread about the new 3DMark, not the merits of Vista or XP.

    {back on topic}

    I dont think much of those screenies. You think they could of leaked some better ones. :wtf:

    I'm hoping the this new 3DMark is less CPU dependant - most Core2Duo owners beat my '06 score but I beat them in actual game FPS. (Opty 165 @3.0Ghz)
  23. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    I would like to see what score an Xbox or PS3 would be able to attain, perhaps if enough people suggested it Futuremark may oblige and make a port for the consoles.
  24. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    better they make a "port" for XP.. :)

    trog ;)
  25. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Buyer's remorse, eh? Don't worry, you aren't alone. There, that make you feel better? I know how many people like to feel like they are part of the group, and if Microsoft released an operating system tomorrow that required users to sacrifice chickens and other farm animals on a daily basis for it to function properly... well there would be a segment of the population that would jump on it, just to have the latest OS bragging rights.

    Back to Vista, IT IS well known there is a "Vista-penalty", both when running various 3D benchmarks or just playing around with regular games. Not a specific amount of points mind you, but in 3DMark 2006 the penalty is up to 10%, in 3DMark 2003 it’s up to 15% or more, depending on the GPU of course, and in 3DMark 2001 it can be over 50%. Various OpenGL benchmarks are not exempt.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page