1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Galaxy G31 Motherboard Provides Solid Overclocking Under $50

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,676 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,414
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Over the years, market trends show entry-level discrete graphics on the decline. People would rather choose a motherboard with onboard graphics. Industry heavy-weights such as AMD and NVIDIA sought to cash in on that trend by introducing desktop chipsets with nearly the same amounts of graphics processing power as those of discrete graphics at the grass-root level. For companies like Galaxy, a partner of NVIDIA, it meant moving from selling high-end nForce 680i motherboards to some inexpensive ones while continuing to sell graphics cards. Earlier, they had come up with an Intel Atom embedded ATX motherboard. This time around its their micro-ATX motherboard called iG31MX, based on the Intel G31 desktop chipset that's making news for an impressive performance with its overclocking capabilities.

    Using a Wolfdale E5200 CPU that has a stock speed of 2.50 GHz, this board allowed overlocking up to 3.25 GHz at reference vCore value of 1.2 V. With the voltage stepped up to 1.36 V, the board took that limit further up to 3.68 GHz. An impressive feat given the market position of this motherboard and a price tag of US $43. The board powers the CPU using a 3 phase circuit, provides two memory slots and integrated Intel GMA 3100 graphics. Galaxy made sure this board was fat-free so it could be delivered at a low price-point. It features the older ICH7 southbridge, only one PCI slot apart from a PCI-Express x16, 6-channel audio and 10/100 ethernet interface. The PCB is cut to size with just enough area to seat all the components. The essentials are taken care of sans the bells and whistles.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Not bad for a £25ish motherboard at all.
  3. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    457 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    perfect office OC :roll: for that price is nice to see such a stable OC and maybe it's a good point for cheap PC to get the last out of that!
  4. tcorbyn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    London
    WOW! Thats going to be going in ALL by budget pcs from now on! Could we see some screens with realtemp? Its just core temp never gives accurate readings. Do we know what cooler was used? Most importantly when and where can I get one?!
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    this sure does look like a Gigabyte board lol

    Either way it OCs pretty damn well and for the price you cant really go wrong :toast:
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    Galaxy is a divison of GIGABYTE, if i am not wrong
  7. Viscarious New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    951 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Damn nice indeed. Too bad theres only one pci slot.
  8. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Lemme guess, the PCI-E slot for the graphics card the PCI slot for a network or sound card. Decisions decisions.....
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I was thinking they were. When I looked at the motherboard and heard the name, I was like, they must be part of gigabyte. This is an awesome board to say the least. Something I wouldnt mind building to be honest with you all. And we all know how much I love AMD!.
  10. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,663 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    oc's like my $50 giga-byte board
  11. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Would a q6600 work in that ?
  12. Ekklesis

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3

    I'm not sure but GeCube is part of Gigabyte for sure... :rockout:
  13. The Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    Hmm the max oc was with around 300FSB. With this board being a G31 chipset with is a derivative of the P35 chipset which has native 333FSB support I would think that any of these boards would do 333FSB and the overclock is mostly due to the 12.5 multiplier.
  14. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,663 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    that board better do 350+
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,676 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,414
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte makes a CPU water-cooling kit called Galaxy, if I'm not wrong.
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    yes they do. I thought galaxy was part of palit
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I like my g31. It's a good, stable product.
  18. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    I like how simple the board is although the only problem I have is where the Board power connector is located at, which is between the CPU socket area and the PCI-E slot. Wouldnt that make it a tight fit, especially for those that want to push their chips.

    The heatsinks you would need to use would be rather big whether you are using Air or water to cool it. Just my 2 cents. other then that, i wish I would have found this board before! This is exactly what I was looking for! :p
  19. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Problem with mine was getting my Arcting Cooling Freezer 7 pro on it. Once it was on, I couldn't fit my hand in to insert the CPU plug. (Bad planning on my part)
  20. Rax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's very similar to Biostar G31-M7 TE and Asrock G31M-S result..

    my board (TE) Posted 400 with 2160 (BSEL 200->333) and stable at ~390Mhz (~3.5GHz)
  21. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Should I update my BIOS? I could only hit 2.3ghz stable with an e2180...

    I've read reviews of people with the same board + cpu combo getting to 3.4ish. T_T
    Bad OCing RAM/ CPU?
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  22. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    What a horrible spot for the ATX power plug....
  23. Rax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    first BSEL 200->266 then try more OC! if u're lucky and post with BSEL 200->333 primum a bit VCORE and try higher!
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    good , my work computer mobo is gigabyte g31 but with they put 3.0g pentium d 2m cash with ddr2 800 ram , now im thinking about overclocking my work pc , but i hope not go far to burn it :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page