1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NEW gaming PC

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by razor1979, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. razor1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is what i have just ordered,it been while since i have done any upgrades, so i thought it was about time

    1 x NEC Optiarc 7173A 18xDVD±RW/RAM DL LabelFlash Silver Bare Drive £17.46

    1 x Arctic Cooling (AC-FRZ-64P) Freezer64 Pro Socket 754 939 940 CPU Cooler with Heat pipe cooling Pro Ver £9.49

    1 x BFG 8600GTS 256MB GDDR3 DVI PCI-E Graphics Card £119.95

    1 x Coolermaster Cavalier 3 Silver - No PSU £37.28

    1 x Hiper 580W Type-M Black PSU - SLI Certified with APFC £44.50

    1 x AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ 2.4GHz Socket AM2 1MB £75.01

    1 x ABIT KN9 Ultra Main Board £44.00

    2 x Corsair Value S. PC5300 DDR2 2048MB Kit w/two matched Value Select 1024MB £52.01

    1 x Hitachi Deskstar T7K500 320GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM £47.51

    1 x Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate x64 edition


    -------------------------------------

    creative sound blaster audigy card will be moved across from my current system

    yes i know i dont really need 4gb ram but for the price it was at i could really refuse

    this should all arrive next wednesday and i will get some pics of it built and give you all some bench mark scores once its up and running

    let me know what you all think
  2. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    not bad:D
  3. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Nice rig, only if it was intel :D, i only say this because im underclocking my E6600 to 1.8 ghz (just for the hell of it, and its 18c load) and still pulling 60>100 fps at 1680 x 1050, you will find that the 8600 will be fairly cpu limited tho, but once again nice rig...
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    You don't really need 4GB of RAM, 2GB should be ok for a while. You'll be able to play all current games at decent settings with that - you could consider getting some better RAM though, like this - only £20 more and a bit quicker.
    razor1979 says thanks.
  5. razor1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    what do you mean by this

    you will find that the 8600 will be fairly cpu limited tho


    noted the choice of memory and have changed the order
  6. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    I was under the impression the 8600 was simlar to the 8800, and i know for a fact witht he testing ive done with the 8800gtx it is cpu limited (1.8 ghz Day of Defeat source 70 fps 3.5 ghz 140>150 fps)
  7. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    nice computer specs but do you really need the extra features in ultimate?
  8. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    A 4600+ is by no means a sluggish CPU - it will compete with the Core 2 Duos (admittedly not as good at overclocking, but still able to keep quite well) so I expect the 8600 will be ok, it's significantly slower than an 8800. I know what you mean though, the 8800 cards do need a quick CPU to get the most out of them.
  9. razor1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    may as well as it doesnt cost me anything for the software due to a microsoft enterprise agreement my compnay is on
  10. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    thatsk for clearing that up jimmy 2004, as i said i wasnt too sure.
  11. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    ok then thats great :D
  12. razor1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    all arrives tomorrow so pics coming soon
  13. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Not a bad system. I need a new all-in-one DVD/CD drive for burning and writing CD/DVD too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page