1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New gaming rig for my bro-in-law......

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by HookeyStreet, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Heres what Im thinking of building him:

    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz Socket AM3 8MB

    RAM: Crucial 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10600 Ballistix Memory Kit CL7 (7-7-7-24) 1.65V

    MOBO: Asus M4A785TD-V EVO Socket AM3 onboard DVI VGA HDMI 8 channel audio ATX

    GFX: PowerColor HD 5770 PCS+ OC 875MHz 1GB GDDR5 VGA DVI HDMI Out PCI-E

    PSU: Hi-Power Black 800W 14cm Blue LED Fan PSU - 20+4pin 4x SATA 4x PCI-E

    HDD: Western Digital WD3200AAKS 320GB SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue

    ROM: Samsung SH-S223 22X DVD±RW/RAM/DL Serial ATA Black Bare Drive - OEM

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit


    :) or :(



    EDIT -

    PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream 600W PSU - SLI Ready ATX2.2 12cm Fan

    MOBO: Asus M4A79XTD EVO 790X Socket AM3 8 channel audio ATX

    RAM: OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC2-12800 Gold i5 Memory Kit 1.65V CL7(7-7-7-20)

    CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 630 Socket AM3 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

    GFX: PowerColor HD 5850 1GB GDDD5 Dual DVI HDMI Display Port Out PCI-E Graphics Card With Dirt 2 Game
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I'm thinking on cutting the RAM amt in half and invest in a better motherboard (may I recommend SATA/USB 3?), especially one that can do Xfire.

    PS - Do you have a case?
     
  3. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    That setup in a CM 690 II all the way.
     
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    it looks nice imo, but why ultimate? you only need home premium i'd say

    and 4gb is enough, you only need more than that if its for video editing or photoshopping tec, use the money on a CF board, like this ASUS M4A79XTD EVO, it performs well and is Crossfire ready in case he wanna put an extra 5770 in it .
     
  5. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The OS will be 64-bit, so 8GB is certainly a good forward-thinking move, especially as more developers are starting to move to the 64-bit platform.
    Ultimate would be overkill, though.

    The mobo should also be a bit better. The above suggestion is a good alternative, though I'd prefer the M4A79T DeLuxe (coz I'm biased :p).
    That said, anything with USB/SATA 3 is hard to find, where some compensation hasn't been made in stealing bandwidth from the PCI-e slot(s), or cause the mobo to be a fairly expensive one if no such theft occurs..

    I like that CM690 case as well :p

    Why not go for 5850 in place of the 5770?
    :toast:
     
  6. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Change the PSU to something well-known, Motherboard(as suggested), and I also think a 320Gb drive is a little low.
     
    jjFarking says thanks.
  7. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Well spotted!
    I'd say a Corsair HX850 would do just nicely, as well as a 1TB drive.
    WD or Seagate, unless Samsung's F3 is an option ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    why such big psu? id go with an tx650w or an ocz modxstream 6-700w, both can handle 2 5770s in CF without problems, but 850w is way to much for that system, and the HX 850w is very expensive
     
  9. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Depends on what the future holds in regards to the gfx.
    In theory, there's no reason to go above 550w in the current setup, but as the OP already had a 800w listed, the logical step would be a high-efficiency PSU that will stand the test of time.
    As for price, the HX850 is better value for money, than its bigger brothers, and more solidly future-proof (if there's truly such a thing) than its siblings :)
     
  10. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Def right on that point i'd say, but i just see way too many people do overkill with psu's,

    i normally calculate the approx wattage of my setup and then add 2-300w for oc headroom and new gfx's + it wont be too hot and most important it will be quiet,

    but yeah, a good quality brand name psu is always good :toast:
     
    HookeyStreet and jjFarking say thanks.
  11. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    That is indeed a very common occurence.
    I guess it depends, ultimately, what the OP sees happening in the not-too-distant future for his brother-in-law ;)
    :toast:
     
  12. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL, yeah Ive picked a case, I just thought it was pointless mentioning it without a pic :roll:
     
  13. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    That PSU has some awesome reviews, but it is a toss up between that and an OCZ 600W ;)

    IM trying to keep the cost fairly low, hence some cut backs. He wont need a lot of HDD space because ALL he will do is game lol
     
  14. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    4GB RAM / cut the PSU , look for a corsair 500 or something ... with the money saved an HD5830 would be a really good choice .
     
  15. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,888 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Why a 965 if it's just for gaming? I'd either go for a P2 720( save ~85$) with a future path upgrade for a 6 core ( 3 cores are plenty fast for now and a 3 to 6 will be a much bigger and worthwhile update than from 4 to 6 - just a bit of future-proofing) or go for one of the new i3's( save ~65$) for a low power but efficient gaming rig...The money saved from the cpu can be invested in a better GPU solution
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  16. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Im going for this PSU instead: OCZ Stealth XStream 600W PSU - SLI Ready ATX2.2 12cm Fan and this MoBo - Asus M4A79XTD EVO 790X Socket AM3 8 channel audio ATX

    As this system is strictly for gaming/internet, should I reduce the RAM to 4GB (2x 2GB) of good DDR3 and maybe invest in a better GFX card?

    EDIT: Im going for this RAM now: OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC2-12800 Gold i5 Memory Kit 1.65V CL7(7-7-7-20)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  17. vipz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Cpu:CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz

    RAM: G-skill F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC2-12800 1.6 Volts CL 7-7-7-24-2N

    MOBO:GIGABYTE GA-MA790GPT-UD3H AM3

    GFX: PowerColor HD 5770 PCS+ OC 875MHz 1GB GDDR5 VGA DVI HDMI Out PCI-E

    PSU:Corsair vx 550w

    HDD: Western Digital 500gb black


    DVD±RW: Lg GH22NS50

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
     
  18. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    The PSU and the GPU are places you shouldnt go cheap, becouse it will affect all other components(PSU).
     
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The OCZ Stealthxstream 600w is a great power supply.

    I have been using mine since '07 and have had zero problems.:)
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  20. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    The funny thing is, I sold one a month ago on ebay :)

    FINAL SPECS:



    PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream 600W PSU - SLI Ready ATX2.2 12cm Fan

    MOBO: Asus M4A79XTD EVO 790X Socket AM3 8 channel audio ATX

    RAM: OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC2-12800 Gold i5 Memory Kit 1.65V CL7(7-7-7-20)

    CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 630 Socket AM3 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

    GFX: PowerColor HD 5850 1GB GDDD5 Dual DVI HDMI Display Port Out PCI-E

    HDD: Western Digital WD3200AAKS 320GB SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue

    ROM: Samsung SH-S223 22X DVD±RW/RAM/DL Serial ATA Black Bare Drive - OEM

    CASE: Casecom 6788 Black Mid Tower Case with Full Black Interior/Exterior 120mm Blue LED Front Fan - No PSU

    Additional Case Fan: Xilence Black 120mm Case Fan - 4pin with 3pin adaptor

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit (not included in overall price as this is already owned)


    All parts purchased from ebuyer, grand total including delivery : £655.25

    What do you guys think? My budget was £650
     
  21. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    You may want to check the number & type of connections the PSU has.
    From what I can see, it has only 3 SATA connections, and 2 6-pin only PCI-e connectors.
    Kinda throws a spanner in the works for future expansion.
    I know you can use adapters, but still..
    :p

    EDIT: what's the compatibility like with that i5 RAM?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  22. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,888 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page