1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Gaming Rig...Need Advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BrandNewLP, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    My current gaming rig finally craped out on me so I decided since it is tax season I will go ahead and build me a new one. I have the basics like hard drives, case, and DVD drives. This is the new stuff I plan on getting.


    RAIDMAX QUANTUM RX-700 700W SLI Power Supply

    Rosewill RCX-Z775-LX 92mm Ball CPU Cooler

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 3.2GHz Socket AM2 125W Processor

    ASUS CROSSHAIR ATX AMD Motherboard

    2x CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Desktop Memory

    Rosewill RCX-TC050 Thermal Grease

    EVGA GeForce 8800GTX 768-P2-N831-AR Video Card

    Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Ultimate for System Builders Single Pack DVD

    Sorry about the little things but I just copied the cart LOL.
    Well if anyone has any suggestions on if this would make a good gaming rig please help an outdated builder out lol. Thanks everyone

    -Matt
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Go intel :)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128080
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115030

    And get some real thermal paste, I like Rosewill but there paste is crap
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835186020

    Raidmax doesnt make the best psu's..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005

    Also are you sure want to get a 8800GTX? The HD 3870 is a little cheaper
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129103

    Make sure you get atleast 4gb for a x64 gaming set up, specially with Vista
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227284
  3. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    go intel for a processor maybe an e8400
  4. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    i just bought the compound and i love it dont think twice and buy it, as for a card if you want a really highend card go for a 3870x2 if you want a nice card that can handle everything that is out now go with the 3870 its inexpensive for a highend card, although you cant go wrong with the 8800 series, i also have the psu BUY IT it is wonderful, its silent, and modular, which means not much in cable management
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yup I got a HD 3850 512mb, if you want to spend a little less money get a HD 3870 there awsome :)
  6. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Why go intel for a gaming rig? Just curious about that one. Also I rather have thermal grease I don't like using thermal paste. And the memory I posted I will be receive 2 2gb packages. Also power supply I want modular with a little more power. I have a buddy who has the exact same power supply and hasn't had a problem with it yet and he got it when it first came out so that is why I went with that. As far as the graphics card I am definatly a Nvidia guy I have bought 6 Ati cards in my life and none of them last more then 2 weeks LOL So I have bought Nvidia ever since and haven't had one issue.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Intel's rape the shit out of AMD's.. That E6300 I posted would pwn the 6400+ at stock and it can easily hit 3ghz with a nice cooler. Trust me on the PSU tho, raidmax doesnt make the best and since you have the money might as well get a good name brand. If multiple cards die on you in under 2 weeks then theres somthing wrong with you not the brand lol..
  8. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Cards were completly stock and I never even tried to OC them. No clue just no I won't buy ATI anymore LOL The Intel thing I don't really understand the because stock the AMD I posted has a way high benchmark rating then the Intel you posted... That confuses me a little.
  9. Duxx Guest

    He means a little MORE money.

    He suggests Intel right now because at this moment in time, intel makes the better processor. If you want to stick with AMD, then thats a personal choice, but right now the CPU world is led by Intel.

    Get the 8800GTS (g92) if you are going to get a card and wanting high end, its a hefty amount cheaper and it is right on the heels of the GTX, even beats the GTX in some tests.
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What benchmark? And your gonna want to OC it. Even if the 6400 does beat it or come close to it at stock the 6400 has almost no OCability unless you get really good cooling.
  11. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm not planning on OCing it at all. I have always used AMD except for my rig now which is a POS P4 LoL But I am trying to stear back away from Intel once again
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  13. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    But like I said I'm trying to get away from Intel and go back to AMD
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So your willing to sacrafice upgradability and performance for brand favorites o.o
  15. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    The Mobo I have posted on my original link can support the new AMD quad core so it is upgradeable and I personally have had better performance with AMD
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  17. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I was looking at that bored but the only thing I am worried about is on board items getting in the way of my gigantic graphics card LOL
  18. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    His Crosshair supports phenoms. It will just be slower.
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No they wont, it would be retarded if a manufacturer made a enthuse board that doesnt support a enthuse card lol
  20. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Also another thing I notice is it says Crossfire support and not SLI
  21. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    The GTX will fit just fine.
  22. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Unless you are going SLI, then it won't make that much difference. Just a little.

    Edit: I also recommend an 8800gt over the GTX because you will save some cash with little perf difference.
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh yea if your SLi then you have to get a Nvidia chipset set since there all nazis and wont cooperate with anyone.
  24. BrandNewLP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    May go SLI in the future but not right now I guess if I decide to get that bored I will just have to buy another bored when I want to go SLI
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Honestly if I had that money I would get a 790FX and a HD 3870X2 and do QuadFire.. That would own..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page