1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Gfx Card.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Brutalfate, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    I'm finally moving on from AGP (Dad needs my Agp card, his died)... and getting a new Gfx card. Pci-e style.

    I'm thinking of getting the powercolor x1950 PRO, then again, nvidia's 8600 and ati's 2600 series cards come to mind..

    My bugdet is around $250 AUS. What do you guys think? How does the X1950 PRO perform?

    I do a fair amount of gaming, mainly Bf2142, Bf2, Stalker, Rainbow Six vegas...

    My Systems Specs:
    Asrock 4Coredual Vsta
    P4 3.4Ghz
    2Gb DDRII 667
    Atrix 650T 600watts
    7600GT AGP
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2007
  2. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    never had a X1950 but i think it should be good for the games.

    and i think the 1950 competes whit the GF7

    do u have a Pci e Mobo because u said u had Agp

    :toast:

    edit yea u got 16x Pci-E sry for the u know
     
    Brutalfate says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    79x0 Series or ATI X19x0 Series.

    BUT, If you wanna save ur cash and look around later, jus pickup a PCIe 7300GT and hold on to your cash til 8800's drop lil in price. But this suggestion is only if you dont game often or play the semi-newer games (Anything Pre-NFS:Carbon excluding Madden 08).


    EDIT: 8800GTS Still overbudget but not by much.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
  4. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Yeah. The 8800Gts is around $400 AUS here.. :( Little too much for me atm.
     
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I would go with the x1950pro dude, they are gettin cheap and blow the 2600 8600 series cards away in gaming.

    If you have a look at msy.com.au, they actually have the 8600gts for around 200 as well. That is a fairly good card if you really want dx10 otherwise the X1950pro.
     
    Brutalfate says thanks.
  6. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Yeah, I think this friday I'll pop over to Pacstar Computers and pick me up a powercolor x1950pro 512mb for $230 aus. whatcha think?
     
  7. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    its the best choice u can get so good luck whit the card
     
    Brutalfate says thanks.
  8. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Save yourself some cash by getting the X1950GT and overclock it to the same speed (or better) than the X1950Pro ;)

    PS: you will notice a good performance increase compared to your 7600 ;)
     
    Brutalfate says thanks.
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    1950Pro utterly destroys a 2600 or 8600. A 1950Pro can easily handle vanilla STALKER with max details, mine does it flawlessly. I would strongly consider OCing your P4 and memory as much as you can, otherwise they will bottleneck the 1950Pro. Even my old AMD system (Asus Crosshair, DDR2-1150 & 3500+ @ 2.8GHz) bottlenecked my 1950Pro a bit.
     
    Brutalfate says thanks.
  10. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Ahhh Alright. Thanks.

    i've got my P4 to 4.00Ghz stable... Might try to push it further.

    my cpu will be my next upgrade anyway..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page