1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New gfx question

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by stuartb04, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,131 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Yes. There is no reason it wouldn't. :)
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  3. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    thanks erocker
    dont really understand all the gddr business yet
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I just had a friend upgrade his GeForce 6150-based motherboard with a 5770 and it runs great.
    stuartb04 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Isnt that much of a noticeable upgrade from your 4850, what res do you game at ?
  6. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    1680x1050

    i am still thinking is it worth it
    but at that price.maybe
  7. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    I doubt you will see any difference, except maybe with fraps running you might get 15% more fps.
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    How much do 5750/5770 cards cost over the pond? That would be a more feature-filled upgrade (DX11, lower power consumption, probably much quieter).
    stuartb04 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    they start a bit over £100 , so that 4870 would be a good buy
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  10. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I'd say go for it. Crossfire, maybe. :D
  11. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    dont think my board can do crossfire tho
  12. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    No your board doesn't Crossfire or SLi, there's only 1 PCIe.

    If you're okay with a generally small increase in performance like between your 4850 and the 4870, I'd say go for the 5770. It's be better to save slightly for it, because it's performance is about between the 4870 & 4890, and has quite a few new features like lower power consumption = lower heat = less noise & higher lifespan, DX11, eyefinity, etc.
    To top it all off, the drivers for the 5770 are still quite new, so they are still holding back it's performance. As the drivers improve, no doubt so will the performance and maybe eventually it will perform like the 4890.;)
  13. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Does the board accept phenom II chips? If so, that would be a much better purchase IMO.
  14. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Here's an XFX 5770, on the same site and very cheap too at £120 (others are about £135)! ;)
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/175978
    CPU I think is better to get next, with a PCIe 2.0 mobo.
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Not to forget that the 5770 also clocks much much better :toast:
  16. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    no i dont think my board supports it

    i know my mobo isnt the best,so perhaps it would best
    to upgrade that first before anything else??
  17. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Agreed. If you could get an AM3 system with DDR3 & PCIe 2.0, you'll be able to enjoy higher performing graphics cards without hinderance.:toast:
    We're here if you want to discuss any mobos you have your eye on.;)
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  18. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    thanks.
    i buy most of my components from ebuyer

    http://www.ebuyer.com/

    maybe u guys can help find me one from there?
  19. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    stuartb04, ebuyer are excellent and it's where I used to get all of my parts. Don't currently have a PC though due to all sorts of circumstances. I'll be going AM3 when I do though, I've subscribed to the thread to see what you decide on mate. good luck :)
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  20. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Ok after looking through, I think this is a good motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H 785G Socket AM3 DVI VGA HDMI Out 8 Channel Audio MATX eBuyer - £69.91
    This motherboad has AM3, PCIe 2.0 and a 710 SouthBridge that supports AMD CPU core unlocking. It's also very cheap compared to others their and Gigabyte is a reliable brand.
    or
    ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO 785G Socket AM3 DVI VGA HDMI Out 8 Channel Audio MATX eBuyer - £67.88
    which is the same board but just by ASUS.

    For CPU, I'd need help here, because I'm not sure on which batches are the unlockables, but:
    AMD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition 3.1GHz 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 Retail eBuyer - £73.74
    Which is a dual core AM3 Phenom 2 with good performance and quite a few people have unlocked (by chance, some unlock, some don't, it's just if you're lucky/blessed) to make a quad core. It is also Black Edition, making it easily overclockable.
    or (if you're willing to spend more)
    AMD Phenom II X3 710 2.6GHz Socket AM3 6MB L3 Cache Retail eBuyer - £87.11
    Same story, but this is a more powerful triple core. It's easily overclockable, and also unlockable (again, by chance if you get a good one) to a quad core.

    You will need DDR3 RAM though and unfortunately in this store it's a bit expensive, but the voltage is low and the low timings mean it's fast:
    Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Memory Kit CL7 1.5V eBuyer - £92.00
    there's also a faster and better OCZ Reaper kit, but only 1 in stock:
    OCZ 4GB KIT (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600Mhz PC3 12800 REAPER SERIES DUAL CHANNEL KIT (7-7-7-24) eBuyer - £91.89

    I think that's a pretty decent lineup for someone on a budget, don't you?;) You will see a good performance jump from your current system at the minimum cost I could find thus far in your store. If there's other stores you use, let us know.
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  21. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  22. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    thanks the time in doing that.:toast:
    havent got the funds to buy multiple components

    damn.might have save up some monees first.
    or see what father xmas brings me..:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page