1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New GIGABYTE v3.3 Boards to Supports 1333MHz FSB

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    New GIGABYTE v3.3 Boards to Support 1333MHz FSB

    GIGABYTE will be launching their new revision 3.3 boards end of January and it is the first in the industry to deliver native 1333FSB support on 965P series. It will be able to support the next generation 1333FSB E6x50 Core 2 Duo processors like E6850 (3.0GHz), E6750 (2.66GHz), E6550 (2.33GHz) coming out in Q3 this year. The keyword here is "Future Proof". GIGABYTE claims a CPU performance jumps up to 5% comparing with FSB1066 and boost a 10% enhancement for Memory performance. Check out the VR-Zone interview with GIGABYTE United for more information.

    Source: VR-Zone
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2007
  2. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    This is only good for ppl who dont want to overclock. Now they will be able to buy DDR2-667 memory.
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    how is it only good for those who dont wanna overclock? (Im seriously asking, not being a dick). I would think now, with all those high rated DDR2 modules, that it can be taken advantage of and actually have uber numbers.
  4. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Dont worry I wont be mad at u if ur a dick ;)

    The short answer is that they are charging u extra for overclocking it for u, when u can do it urself in a matter of minutes.

    The 1333Mhz FSB is bad, because its factory overclocked to 1333Mhz. All these new CPUs that are coming out and supposedly taking advantage of this higher FSB are all the exact same, and they can each get to the same FSB freauency if overclocked. Its not as if it being 1333Mhz means that u can now have a 5000Mhz FSB if u overclock.

    This is the issue as exsists with graphics cards. The "factory overclocked" or OC models are overclocked a tiny ammount by the manufacturer, wich then actually Charges u for the overclock.

    The point is that u can get to 1333Mhz if u start out with 800Mhz just the same and u can overclock both of them to the exact same level, just like when u buy a 90nm graphics card - it will get u to 650Mhz no matter what, so why pay for the manufacturer to overclock it for u?


    So obviously, these FSBs are for ppl who do not know/want to overclock.

    Who are these people? Most people. (the ones that dont know what we know and cant enjoy the 50%+ overclock and increase of performance that we can have :D)
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    how is this bad i mean honestly? sure you can get to a 1333mhz bus rather easily from 1066 but its a logical progression. p4 started at 400mhz or 100fsb and moved to 166 and then 200. this motherboard is actually standing out as everyone will know its stable past 333mhz fsb. hell its garunteed.
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    well mines at 2000fsb now,so what gives with a "new" board that supports 1333 when mines doing more than that now?

    so i guess the base fsb on the new boards is 333 then?
  7. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Its really simple. Now your have a cpu with a higher bus from the start instead of having to o/c it thus creating more headroom for overclocking. At least thats how I think it is.
  8. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    516 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Actually a cpu with a higher bus from the start has less headroom, because it comes with a Lower Multiplier than its 1066FSB or 800FSB Counterpart.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page