1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new i5 2400, want a static speed

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AlienIsGOD, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    Hi all, i just got a i5 2400 and according to CPU Z and Core Temp gadget the cpu speed is all over the place. Im new to Sandy Bridge and UEFI and am not sure what i should be disabling. I think its speedstep and C1E, it was on my P45 board.

    Any quick help will be greatly appreciated.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,437 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Out of interest why do you want to change this? This is a power saving feature and wont affect your performance atall as it ramps up under load automatically
     
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    thats just what ive usually have done, i learned it from TPU :D

    honestly tho, if it works good then i will just leave it then
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,182 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, these First and Second-gen i7 chips are meant to be OC'd using Turbo mode, with C1E enabled to lower clocks when not needed.

    In fact, 3960X does NOT have unlocked multi, only unlocked TURBO MULTI, and it is recommended on X79 to use "offset" voltage settings rather than setting voltage manually. The game has changed with these chips, for sure.

    I've been making those same suggestions for 1155 CPUs and chipsets for some time now, but it's not as "official" to do it that way, as it is on X79.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  5. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Best of leaving power savings alone. My 2500k hovers around 1.6ghz but when i need the speed it ramps up to 4.5ghz!
     
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    on the 2400 if you disable turbo your cpu will run slower. the non k chips have "turbo oc" meaning it clocks up a bit when you are utilizing the cpu and clocks down when not. if you disable turbo it wont run at "oc" mode. basically it'll be useless to turn it off. you maybe able to get like 1 or 2 more bclck and oc that way but you wont get more then like 104/105 and that is pushing it.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,886 (9.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,372
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea man, I was culture shocked too when I first got one. Im usta turn that crap off but these actually need to be left on to get better OC from what I have seen.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Those i5 2400's can do 3.8-4Ghz but as mentioned before you MUST leave Turbo and power savings enabled to it to overclock.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page