1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New i5-3570K cpu overheating, would love some suggestions??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrmotivator, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    I have just finished my first time build and installed Real-temp and i noticed the temps at idle were very high and jump up the second you even run media player. Its usually between 50c and 70c which seems very high consider i dont game or run a crazy amount on it.

    I installed prime and did a bench mark test and it went up to 108c before i stopped it part way through as that was crazy high.

    I have installed my aftermarket CPU cooler perfectly that's the first thing i checked, i also went into Bios and disabled the CPU fan speed control so it runs on full all the time. Oddly enough it still doesn't run all the time, just on and off so...

    What else can i do, is there a problem with the cooler or CPU, or simply a setting in the BIOS i have missed.

    In will add my flat is very warm usually about 23c and on ground floor so don't leave the window open much but still that's not that hot, would love some help as im getting a bit concerned!!

    Thanks in advance, Leon
     
  2. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    hmm cooler not seated properly would my guess or ma-by you forgot to take the plastic off the bottom of the cooler lol
    the ivy bridge chips run hotter then sandy bridge but it should not be that hot
    check the voltage settings and make sure its not set to something retarded 108c is redline
    that cooler looks awful heavy to .... not a fan of heavy cooler more mass does not equal better cooling
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  3. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    haha no i took the plastic of the bottom and from what i have seen in multiple installations videos its installed perfectly, voltage seems fine :?
     
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    First thing usually to try is reseating the CPU cooler, just to take that out of the picture. Are you using the stock cooler?
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  5. solara2xb

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Alta Loma CA
    try to reset your bios so everything is default. In case some features are a little screwy.

    As others have said reseating your cooler might work in case it was seated incorrectly when you first installed it.

    Also how are you applying your TIM. Which method are you using?
     
  6. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    I have tried re mounting it :/ No its a Be Quiet Dark Rock PRO BK016, thought it was a good one?!
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Try connecting the fan some place other than were it is. I would go as far as a direct connection so the fan runs at full speed all the time.
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,803 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,182
    It is and your temps should be much much cooler. Are you applying new thermal paste? Also, trickson has a good idea with plugging the fan into a header not for the CPU. Or just go into your bios and set the fan to full speed.
     
    mrmotivator and trickson say thanks.
  9. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    I just the paste it came with, was hard to spear over the CPU as was so thick but did the best i could?! I changed the settings in the bios to every option and no improvement, should be running all the time.
     
  10. solara2xb

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Alta Loma CA
    Do you have extra thermal paste to reapply??

    I would use the small pea size method in the middle of the CPU and let the Cooler do the spreading.. Works much better. If the Thermal paste is to thick it can cause temp issues like you are having..
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Get some real thermal paste and maybe even post a picture of the HSF you have. I would have to say some thing is not right with the thermal paste.
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  12. Eternalchaos

    Eternalchaos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    59 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,803 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,182
    Okay, well temps shouldn't be as high as they are and I'm satisfied that the paste isn't the issue. Either you aren't mounting the cooler correctly or the CPU is somehow faulty.
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  14. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    I will try some new thermal paste, re mounting it and plugging it directly into the PSU then :) How do i get the old thermal paste of?? Thanks guys :)
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,803 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,182
    I use tissue paper and 92% alcohol. Some compressed air to make sure there's no lint or dust before applying new paste.
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    If you do get some AS5. And what erocker said to clean.


     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,803 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,182
    Don't bother with AS5 anymore. It's old, takes time to cure and isn't effective as newer pastes. Get some Arctic Cooling MX-4. It performs better, is easier to apply and requires no curing time.:)
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  18. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    So just curious what temperature are your computers running at idle, 25percent load etc?? What should i aim to keep it at, being ivy bridge??
     
  19. solara2xb

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Alta Loma CA
    Ive been using IC Diamond 24k, best stuff I have used for years.. I use this stuff in all my rigs..
     
  20. solara2xb

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    115 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Alta Loma CA
    There can be allot of contributing factors in temps.. Everyone's temps are going to be diff and to also the enviroment your in as well. What are your avg ambient temps??

    Based on what I have read for Ivy if on Air cooling your idle temps should be around 28c to 35c, Under full load I've seen a varies of temps ranging from 50c to 70c.. it really depends...

    IMO Ivy is one of those processors that should be on water cooling. Due to the new tech in the chip they have recorded higher temps across the board.. Water cooling either custom or closed loop water cooling is in order IMO. However there are good air coolers out there..

    Over the last few years every CPU I have had has been mostly under water cooling.. If you have it in your budget I would maybe look into one of those closed loop system..
     
    mrmotivator says thanks.
  21. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Thanks man. Its about 23c in my apartment, cant open the window much as im on the ground floor :/ I thought my cooler was a really good one, be-quiet shadow rock pro?? Have tried new thermal past and re mounting and not much change, water cooling that much better?
     
  22. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Tissue Paper? For Shame!:shadedshu That's not lint free. Coffee Filters are the best cheap lint free cloth you can get;)
     
  23. mrmotivator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    60 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Any more suggestions guys, i feel i have exhausted all options other than a whole new water cooling system??

    Could the cpu be faulty, its just jumps up in temperature to like 70c when you just open firefox??

    Thanks in advance ;)
     
  24. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I would just start by reseating the cooler it can be that simple. If you do that and your still having temperature issues you go to the next step.
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,462 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Make sure you're not using too much compound, you shouldn't nee more than the size of a pea because when the cooler is mounted that paste will spread out. Also don't spread it yourself, that will leave air bubbles, just mount the cooler right on the pea sized thermal compound and everything should be fine. I've seen people add too much compound and temps will rise 10*C or 20*C degrees under load if you put too much.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page