1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New I5 Maybe

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by animal007uk, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Hi everyone, A friend of mine asked me today if i wanted to do a deal on an intel I5 and i will probably end up needing a new motherboard as the one in the i5 setup is probably crap.

    It will take a long time to save up for some new parts but i would still like to ask for some info on a good but reasonable priced mobo, I don't realy want to spend more than £80 to £100 and i would rather not have a asus due to nothing but bad luck with there stuff over the last few years.

    I will also need some DDR3 as this pc im typing on only had DDR2 so i can't use it in the new setup if i do make a deal with my friend.

    I still need to have a look at the I5 system before i make any choises as im not sure what intel I5 cpu is in the pc and it needs to be as good or better than my Q6600.
    I will be overclocking hopefully so any mobo i buy needs to have good options for that :D

    Any info on DDR3 and a good mobo will be very helpfull as i have not had any experiance with the new intel stuff. Thanks in advance:toast:

    p.s at a guess i would say it will take me at least 2 months to be able to buy everything so the most important part i need first is DDR3 ram but i have no clue what to look for hehe, and i dont want to spend anymore than i need to on ram and 4 gig should be enough.

    AS buying online is not that easy for me i will probs get the parts i need from here.
    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/ They have there own warehouse and shop.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  2. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Sandy bridge

    nvm didnt read lol
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  3. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    How is this helpful AT ALL when he said an i5 chip is what he's getting a deal on?

    First thing we need to know is your budget. This is the time to buy RAM since prices are down a bit.
    animal007uk says thanks.
  4. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I wish but like i said im doing a trade so Sandy bridge is out the question.

    lets say £200 for ram and mobo.

    Sorry i should have mentioned that although SLI or Crossfire would be a nice option its no realy that important so a good mobo with 1 PCI-E slot will also do if it has good overclocking fetures.

    I think i have found some ram i might get.
    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/product.aspx?code=MEC-D34096D16X

    So its just the mobo now but i realy have no clue about them when it comes to I5.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  5. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Which model of i5 are you getting, because the low end i5 that are only dual cores will end up slower than your current Q6600 in a lot of tasks.
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,403 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    you can't fix stupid...
  7. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I'm not to sure yet i will find out sometime in the morning, I will update as soon as i know.:toast:

    To be honest i will be glad to get rid of this mobo and ram because it never did work right for some reason, I even tryed all the manual setting and 3 diffrent types of DDR2 lol but it wont run at 1066mhz. with the new bios this board is supose to be able to overclock ram to 1333mhz.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  8. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Which board is your trader including with the i5?
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Presuming that it's a low end, dual core i5.

    Your best options if you are desperate to "get rid of the motherboard" is to sell everything on Ebay, luckily for you the Q6600 is still much wanted and will fetch a good £90-100 alone. Once your motherboard, CPU and Ram is sold, use the same money and buy a AM3 platform with X6. At the very most you'll have to put another £50-100 into the rig with your own money.

    If your mate happens to have a quad core i5, it’s a good deal and I would jump on it!
    animal007uk says thanks.
  11. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    You might do some checking on that. The lowest i3 530 beats the Q6600 in nearly all benchmarks. (And the 13/15 can be clocked mightily unlike the 6600)
    animal007uk and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's benchmarks, day to day use it performs same. Just wanted to throw that in there.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    i3 560 i have does great :)

    i would turn and sell the p45, q6600 and DDR2 and get this guys i5 and a GB H55 board i love my H55N mini ITX board, DDR3 on them is good clocking get some gskills :D
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Thats not true.

    The i3 530 might win in the odd benchmark, but overall its slower. The i3 530/540 gets beat out by the Q8400, the Q8400 is slightly slower than the Q6600 due to it having half the L2 cache.


    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Core_i3_540_530/1.html
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,767
    Location:
    04578
    yup thats true but im pretty sure an i3 530 at 4.5ghz on a near stock aircooler is gonna rape the q6600 which tends to be in the 3.2 - 3.6ghz range

    evidence to my conclusion im running a 965be and even at 4ghz 2800nb and a 5850 overclocked and i3 530 at 4.5ghz + gtx 460 could still go toe to toe with me and beat me in some benches it went back and forth.

    that said a 965 is faster then a Q6600 any day of the week and if an i3 530 or i5 anything will keep up with the 965 or surpass it means yes its faster then the Q6600
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  16. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Correct, On this mobo i can't get it over 3.2ghz but it might be this cpu's limit as i got my core 2 duo E6550 to 3.4ghz.

    I still havent managed to get hold of my friend to find out what I5 it in the pc he wants to do a deal on, but from what he was saying its a small pc so probs has a mATA mobo in it.
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    A.) There is no review to support what you are saying.
    B.) Not everyone manages a super overclock of 4.5GHz, you need the best motherboard, cooling, skill and a lot of luck.
    C.) It doesnt take away from the fact that the Q6600 Q8xxx is often faster than a dual core i3/i5, effectively in most situations it would be a downgrade.

    You can throw in overclocks all you want to justify a downgrade but you are kidding yourself about a bad purchase.
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,767
    Location:
    04578
    could be luck of the draw on the chip or mobo eitherway the i3 530 will if overclocked be an upgrade an i5 is a better bet anything in that range is superior to the i3 but no matter how you look at it an extra 1000mhz will make its presence felt in games and most apps

    below is an i3 530 stock vs q6600 now in general the i3 is faster add in overclocking as the OP will be overclocking the i3 will slaughter the q6600.

    now if we compare it to an i5 dual core
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/53?vs=144

    the i5 rapes the q6600 the improvements in IPC aka per clock performance is highly evidence in games like Crysis where its 2 cores at max and the higher the speed the better the faster clock per clock performance makes itself evident and in multi threaded situations and i5 dual core with hyperthreading smacks the Q6600 around likes its a cheap whore in the medieval ages
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/53?vs=118

    the above reviews are with the same damn GPU across the board and in nearly every test an i3 wins let alone an i5 making the gap even wider

    oh and dent its not a super overclock i did a bench off with JR racingfan its on the damn forums the only reason he couldnt clock higher was cause he had some seriously shitty DDR3 ram at the time that was rated at 1066mhz. And it was done on a stock fucking cooler so k thx bye.

    and let me tell you about a bad purchase 2x 6970s at $750 when 2 days later the 6950s are found to unlock without issue and doing this on and AMD platform thats a complete bottleneck i know bad purchase decisions i make them all the time fact is an i3 or i5 will be on par at stock with a q6600 overclocked its far faster and since the new sandy bridge chips are due soon the OP could probably score an i5 750 for cheap pop into the H55 sell and the i5 if its a dual core or keep it dosent matter really its still an upgrade
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
    animal007uk says thanks.
  19. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    My friend just phoned, He thinks the I5 is a quad core but he is going to double check and said he will be round at 2pm.

    Ok if it is the quad core i will defo do a deal because this Q6600 was basicly a free upgrade not so long back so i wont be losing out in a sense. i swoped my dual core for it lol.

    As i said in an earyer post i don't need super fast or exspensive ram so i chose some corsair XMS3 1600mhz ram that i might get.
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,767
    Location:
    04578
    the 1600mhz is more then enough if it dosent clock high u can set the divider down to 1333 or 1066 and get higher cpu speed and bring the ram up to its rated speeds if neccesary.

    eitherway i3 is on par with a q6600 i5 dual core is faster native i5 quadcore is superior in every situation.
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What are you paying for the corsair? I have some Geil 2x2GB 1333 from my old rig I am willing to part with :toast:
  22. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899

    I was going to spend 1hr analysing the Anandtech reviews. But I already proved that with the i3 540 vs. Q8400 review from TechPowerUps own website my point, I do not need to go down the route of doing a PHD analysis of numerous other websites in addition.

    Your argument is essentially a different case from what I’m disputing. I'm not disputing that a "i3 530 will if overclocked be an upgrade" we know this. What in argument is that a dual core i3/i5 is slower than a Q6600 or 8xxx series (as already demonstrated above on TPUs very own review)

    If overclocking in ones only reason to upgrade, one can argue that that the OP could invest in a "better" motherboard and overclock his Q6600 to 3.6-4GHz dependant on which batch of Q6600 he has and in theory he would challenge a i3 530 @ 4GHz+ for less money. If your only crutch is overclocking this is a possibility, no?

    The only advantage to moving to a dual core i3 or i5 would be to move to DDR3 and move to a motherboard that has support. But then again AM3 allows the same move with a better line up of CPUs and CPU backward compatibility with AM3+ for cheaper.

    People are quick to throw up overclocking, but surely if the OP sold his current equipment, he could pick up an Phenom II X4, Athlon II X4 (maybe even a Athlon II X3) overclock it to near 4GHz. You get your overclocking fetish out the way, move to DDR3, a relevant socket, a CPU which potentially works on AM3+, whilst being faster and cheaper than the dual core i3/i5 alternative.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,767
    Location:
    04578
    and im saying that a 965be is faster then a q6600 no matter how you slice it and it still loses to an i3 530 overclocked in day to day tasks and games. so no matter how you slice that the i3 is still faster hands down i know because i watched what i considered to be an inferior CPU match and beat my setup not to long ago and wave bye bye if better ram was in said rig
  24. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Again I'm not talking about overclocked results here.

    I'm just casually saying that trading a faster processor for a potentially slower processor under the illusion or fallacy that a 4.5GHz overclock will take place seems is a strange concept.
  25. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page