1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New i5 or just mobo?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fango, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. fango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would like to upgrade mbo & processor, at first I thought just for the ssd reason, but since mbo is sata II I'm not sure that's wise at the moment. I stuck on a processor really since i5 3570 is way too expensive (or at least 2500), and if I get the new i3 it is really downgrade in comparison with the present i5 750, or should I just replace the plate?, any advice? .. thank you!


    Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3R
    QuadCore Intel Core i5 750, 3116 MHz
    Corsair XMS3 CM3X2G1333C9 2x2GB
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
    Corsair VX550W
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    thats intel for you. But Honestly what is your purpose for upgrading this time?

    Your CPU in Turbo should operate at 3.2GHz and normally at 2.4GHz, and I believe that is a S Model CPU you have there
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2012
  3. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You can still run Intel's RST in that setup using an SSD. i3 even the Ivy Bridge variant is not better compared to that 750 for what you're intentions are. Just keep that setup, it's more than sufficient.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  4. fango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    .. sata III mbo, Gigabyte 1155 series - as I mentioned, upgrading to ssd, and when I do that, processor need to go also ..
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    I agree with you dude. People are still running machines with skt 1366 core i7 920 processor.

    To OP you can overclock that CPU beyond turbo speed if you have the proper cooling for it and i dont mean the stock heatsink, it will be FSB only since the multiplier is locked from going higher.

    Honestly 1366, 1156, AM2+, AM3 are still capable and pretty fast today. Honestly Id wait 1 to 2 more gens before a upgrade is really needed.

    Also You dont need SATA 3 to run SSDs either as SATA II isnt saturated.

    My Bros Machine with a PH II 555 BE unlocked to 955 BE with a 970 board and a Seagate 7200.12 drive boots in less than a minute using windows 7 Home Premium. The machine is over a year old now but its as fast as it was when i powered it up the first time.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,889 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Actually SATA II can get saturated by today's SSDs... though even on SATA I an SSD is faster than a spinner any day of the year, including leap years.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. fango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know, ssd will work on sata II, but limited on sata II speed
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,889 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    SSDs really shine because of their access time (.1ms vs ~15ms on a spinner) and their random 4k read/write speeds, which are over 20MB/s where a spinner struggles to get 1MB/s. I doubt going from SATA II to SATA III would help much, the benefits are already there.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,704 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Oregon
    It will still be way faster then a platter drive. I say go for it :rockout:

    Then wait till you have the cash for a proper upgrade
  10. fango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok then, I'll keep this configuration for sometime + ssd upgrade


    thanks for advices!
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    considering even a Pentium 2,3,4 or AMD K6, K7, K8 would definitely benefit from such a drive
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,704 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Oregon
    I have a SSD in my HTPC that is only SATA II and it boots in 42 sec
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    ya that HTPC of yours is comparable to his pc.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page