1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New memory installed, now can't boot

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by satindemon4u, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,010 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Hello all. For Christmas I got something that I asked for which was some new laptop memory. Kingston hyperx. X2 2GB sticks @1866. Well I got home and shut my laptop off. When doing so I did a hard shutdown, holding the button down. Flipped the laptop over popped off the cover for memory and took out the one stick that was in there. I then put in the two new sticks which was quite a tight fit. Iwent to start uup the computer and got the "Kernel data inpage error". I took the new memory out and put in the old with still no luck.

    Whenever I try to boot now I get "preparing automatic repair". After that runs and fixes nothing because apparently it can't find the problem I get taken to a screen that says "automatic repair couldn't repair your PC" and then says I can go to advance options to try repairs and that a log filewas saved to "C:\WINDOWS\System32\logfiles\srt\srttrail.txt".

    So what has happened :O

    Should also note that when working in cmd line it is working from X:\ not C:\

    Running windows 8.1
    Sony VAIO e series
    Upgrading from one two gig stick to two 2 gig sticks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2013
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,869 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,650
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    reinstall windows? Seems like when you did a hard shutdown you borked some windows files.
     
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,010 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Ughhh. I really hope not...
     
  4. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    And if you try with only one of the new sticks?
     
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,010 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Looks to be the same exact result.

    Well I guess he was right. I must have screwed up some windows files when I did my hard reset. I out in my old hard drive which I just used to clone my new drive when I got it and it booted just fine. Never has that happened to me. Well, I'm a full believer now that doing a hard reset is no good
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)