1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Monitor => Now I need a new GPU

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by theeldest, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I just got a new monitor (Samsung 22" -- 1680x1050 -- 2232BW) and now my games are running slow. :-(

    (I expected that. I switched from 1280x1024).

    Now the question is which grahpics card to get? I'm thinking the ATI 4850. Though I'd like to spend a bit less for something that's nearly as good. (suggestions?)

    I play Oblivion, Warhammer, & BF2. Nothin too serious (and I'm pretty sure the 4850 is a fair bit more than I need here).

    So what card in the sub $200 range will give me the best performance? (I'm also looking to overclock (because it's fun) and would like something that's relatively quiet.)
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  4. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    I would get the cheapest 4850 you can find and put some aftermarket cooling on it. The Battle Axe is a great cooler.
     
  5. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    although if you're cool with used I would shoot for a 9800GTX/8800GTS G92 as it'd be in the same price range as the 4850 but I've personally found nvidia cards to have more overclock headroom
    And by the way, no matter what you choose, you're going to see a HUGE improvement over that 7600...it'll be like night and day
     
  6. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm not 100% up on the 4850s. Do they all use GDDR3? or are there some models with different memory to avoid/look for?
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, most are GDDR3, but I believe one company plans to release a GDDR4 model. For casual gaming at your res, just grab the 4850 that's the best price, and has the features you are after. If you want to push your budget, you can grab a 1GB 4850, which will last you even longer.
     
  8. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I think I'm partial to this MSI:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127370

    I'll admit, it's for a stupid reason. I like the cooler on it. It looks snazzy. (and the price of this compared to the cheapest with an aftermarket cooler is within $10. I think I'd rather have something good that I don't need to do myself. even if I decide not to overclock (all depends on free time), I'd expect this one to be quieter than other models.)

    Any personal experience on which 4850s will be loud?
     
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    basically the ones with the stock coolers will be loud unless you perform a fan mod, other than that the aftermarket cooler equipped ones will all be generally quiet
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It should be quiet. My MSI has an aluminum heatsink, similar to the ones found on the Palit cards, and it was nearly silent, despite the fact it wasn't an rpm controlled fan (always at 100%), and my computer isn't even in a case.
     
  11. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    All this talk, and I didn't even end up getting one of the cards I talked about.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814103061


    But I didnt' get it from NewEgg, got it from Fry's. I'm at work until 11p CST, but we'll see how she does tonight.

    Any thoughts? Seemed like a good deal (and I had a gift card with $130 on it, so I only had to pay for half and newegg doesn't do split payments (that I could find))
     
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Your gonna love that card, it's wicked fast.
     
  13. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    4870 = awesome. I wanna get a second one soon.

    How much did you pay for it? The diamond one at newegg is way overpriced.
     
  14. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    But u need a new board since ur's a P35/
     
  15. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Ahh but if you look again you shall notice that I have a p45 on the way.
     
  16. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Pfft. P45 also has one PCI-E. :roll: U need to waste a lot of money buddy.
     
  17. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    What are you talking about???

    My p35 has two pci-e 16x slots but one of them is only 4x electrical.
    The p45 I just purchased has 2 16x 2.0 slots that operate at 8x in crossfire mode. More than enough bandwidth.
    Look for yourself: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131299


    Sorry but you are making me laugh now :laugh:
     
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Spearman... Please look at what he's getting.. and please stop saying waste of money or this is bad when you DON'T KNOW WHAT YOUR TALKING ABOUT... The board that BrooklsyX is getting is a P45 Pro.. It has two PCI-e Slots!

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowI...escription=ASUS P5Q Pro ATX Intel Motherboard

    The Asus Pro P45 board is probably one of the best boards out there for the P45 chip... Man, get the facts right...
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  19. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I think i forgot that not all p35/p45 has one PCI-E slot. :toast:
     
  20. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Thanks. I am having a hard time figuring out spearman's logic here.

    yeah many of them have 2 pci-e 16x slots.
    a few of them even have 3.
     
  21. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    $229 before rebate
    -$40
    --------------------
    $189 after rebate (before tax. Got it in store)
     
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I got that same monitor, it's nice, make sure you get magic-tune (comes on a disc w/ the monitor, or you can download it from samsung's website) to calibrate it for best viewing, plus it allows you to adjust settings from windows rather than reaching for the buttons which can be a pita. Nice card choice to go w/ it as well. Get some oblivion texture mods and you'll be in cpu gaming heaven in no time. :D
     
  23. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Oh thats not bad at all. Even better with your gift card.
    Hope you enjoy your card. I am definitely enjoying mine.
     
  24. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    What card did you used to have? I went from 8800GT & 1280x1024 to 9800GTX+ & 1680x1050, worked out nicely.
     
  25. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm upgrading from a 7600GT. This is the first high end card I've ever had. It'll be neat to run above minimum settings. :)

    I've had Oblivion almost 3 years, and I'll finally be able to run it on high settings.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page