1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New On-Demand Gaming Platform Threatens to Kill Gaming PC Upgrades

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    ongaku:
    about the 720P thing, i've had a few console obsessed people hear me say my screen is 768P - better than 720P and they've drooled.

    Tell a PC user its 1360x768 and they tend to laugh at how low it is.

    I played the original unreal tournament at 1280x1024 FFS!
     
  2. Ongaku New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    799 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Oshkosh B'gosh
    lol....I bet they don't realise that computer monitors have been "HD" forever either.

    I don't know, this is just so stupid! My head can't get around it....how much bandwidth you would use just to play one game...and they really think this will "threaten" PC upgrades? I lol at that:laugh:
     
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Alot of my friends didn't think 1680 x 1050 was better than 720p

    I still think it would have been better if the software worked inside the computer than replace it.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    With the claims they make in a video review i saw they quoted the following
    1.5Mb connection("1.2Mb real" - their words) for 480P
    4Mb (real) for 720P
    ?Mb 1080P

    If they say you need 4Mb for 720P, holy shit your bandwidth is going away fast.
    4Mb = 512KB/s
    Thats 1,800MB an hour, at a solid rate. This aint gunna work on anyones net... most cable users have poor speeds in on-peak periods, and everyone else has download limits that make this useless.

    edit:
    1.2Mb is approx 150KB/s
    thats 527MB an hour. for 480P gaming. Bleh.
     
  5. scarab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dude. it's not 1,800 megabytes. It's 1,800 megabits - or 230 Megabytes per hour. If your internet can't download 230 megabytes in an hour, I wouldn't even call that broadband.


    and 527MB / 8 = 65 Megabytes per hour for 1.2meg connection.

    230 Megabytes for 1 hour of 720p video is really good! Keep in mind that the guy who started onlive has invented a lot of shit.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    i think i fucked up an edit in there. Let me check.
    edit: nope. i did not.

    8mb = 1MB
    4Mb = 0.5MB

    starting at 8Mb
    1MB a second * 60 seconds in a minute (60MB) * 60 minutes in an hour. = 3600MBs an hour.
    halve that for a 4Mb connection, and its 1800MBs an hour.
    You sir, fucked up your math. not me.

    edit: and with simple halving...

    2Mb = 900MB/h
    1MB = 450MB/h
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2009
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    what price of this , anyway i still prefer upgrade pc
     
  8. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    On the subject of 720p video, a good enough bitrate for video is 5,000Kbps, wouldn't that require a 40Mb connection for streaming?
     
  9. morpha

    morpha

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Australia
    OnLive is a null venture.

     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    You just said a 5Mb stream will require 40Mb net.

    I'm a little confused now.
     
  11. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Wait, I was a little confused writing that lol, My 20Mb connection can download at 2,500Kbps so a 40Mb connection downloads at 5,000Kbps. Wouldn't a video that plays at 5,000kbps require a connection that can download at 5,000kbps? I may be getting confused with the whole sign thing i.e MB, Mb.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    you most definately are confused.

    your 20Mb (Megabit) connection downloads at 2,500 (KB) KiloBytes a second.

    5,000 Kb video requires 625KB/s
     
    DaveK says thanks.
  13. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Ah, thanks for clearing that up for me, I knew I was wrong when it was hard for me to figure out what I wrote lol. The speedtest website I used said 2,500Kb lol.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    upper case B signifies bytes
    lower case b signifies bits.

    8 bits to the byte, so 8Mb = 1MB, and so on.
     
  15. scarab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh yea. WHen you said 4mb = 512KB/s i was thinking 512Kilobits per second - which, now that i think about it, doesn't make any sense.

    Holy tits 1800 Megabytes per hour to run onlive. There's no way a 4mb connection is gonna do that. They've gotta have some ridiculously fast upload servers. I have a 20meg connection. I can obviously download that fast, but i'm yet to find anywhere that can upload as fast as I download.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    you dont need the same upload, its the download you need.

    The problem is that any fluctuations in ping or packet loss, are going to screw the video up.
    And hell, even in the USA the big companies (comcast) have download limits. sure its a huge 250GB, but at almost 2GB an hour, thats not much gmaing!
     
  17. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    800 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Well I've read through the pages of posts, many of which are uninformed and very stupid describing things that have already been confirmed as invalid. Please read articles before commenting on them. Somone said they wanted this as a "plugin card to the pc" . . . this works on all PC's! its a browser plugin! It works on PC's Macs, and with their little microbox on TV's as standalone. "Please read, watch, and listen if not your ignorance shines."

    Also the he said she said is invalid here since this can be variable based on packet loss cause by modems, firewalls, bad isps, slow internet speed etc. Not to mention the service is still in alpha, it has been 7 years in development and has comapnies like autodesk, warner brothers, etc backing them. It didn't just start yesterday!

    For those who are misinformed watch the video!

    http://gdc.gamespot.com/video/6206692/gdc-2009-onlive-press-conference?hd=1
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
  18. scarab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm willing to give it a shot, but seeing is believing. Until then, I'm skeptical. I don't think MS will do this until the gen after next. I bet next-gen xbox will be download to a hard-drive only.
     
  19. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    I like the looks of the browser and the features look nice. We will see how it all pans out in the end. If it does well, I will be def. getting one.
     
  20. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,965 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    So their top server uses dual 8800 GTX's...And the reason they run so fast is due to 16 RAID hard drives. If you can't match the download speed, won't it lag a bit? And you have to test your internet connection to see if it works with their servers.
    So if it doesn't meet the standards, I take it you have to return it to wherever you bought it at? Sounds like a lot of trouble for trying to get a game to run at 720p.
    And no custom maps or mods are able to be played. Kind of upsetting really.

    It is really taking all the fun out of building a pc to meet the needs of newer tech games.
     
  21. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    There's free trial now... 30 mins for each game. I just played borderland on it.. not so bad.

    http://www.onlive.com/#3
     
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Awesome!:)

    Gonna give it a try.
     
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,444 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,747
    Location:
    Florida
    what about the technical aspect? with HD steams that big what happens to the monthly bandwidth cap that all big ISP's now put on people?
     
  24. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I get about double what the ads say you need and regularly, too. Don't see how this is so impossible.

    If anything, it'll flop because of the cost to maintain the service, won't it?
     
  25. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,101 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    Kansas
    I can't even get SD worthy internet service for this. Failsauce.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page