1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Overclocking Results! (A new BIOS does help!)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Sep 27, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Well, my Computer Specs are on the left and on my Sig.

    Overclocking MAX w/ "Stock" 4/6/06 BIOS:
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Venice) 2.67Ghz (267x10) @ 1.55v
    GeIL Ultra Platinum DDR 400 @ DDR 445 @ 3.4v

    Overclocking SO FAR (Not MAX) w/ OCZ Tony's Modded 4/6/06 BIOS:
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Venice) 2.7Ghz (270x10 @ 1.525v

    And I don't think that's the limit either. With the previous BIOS, the most I could reach was 2.67Ghz (267HTT), and not even one more Mhz on the HTT would boot into Windows. This shows how much a BIOS update could really help. Especially to you DFI users, since DFI is so sensitive, a new BIOS can mean new heights to overclocking.

    I will update later with some pics, and hopefully higher clocks/speeds.

    Thank you Ketxxx for the continuous help with overclocking!
  2. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Overclocking Update

    Currently at:
    2.8Ghz (280x10) @ 1.55v
    Everyother voltage setting @ stock.

    I'm using a HUGE divider between the CPU and Memory, because I just want to find the max of my CPU, then later find the max of my Memory, and then find the perfect combination of both of their speeds to achieve the highest performance.

    With the latest/new Modded BIOS, my Athlon just flew by the recent limit of 2.67Ghz directly to 2.8Ghz.
  3. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    You think 3ghz is within reach?
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Maybe, hopefully...but air is limiting me, currently 45 Load. 2.8Ghz runs great IMO.
  5. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    very nice, congrats on the oc!
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    45C load 55C is safe why not go for 3ghz it looks like its in your reach
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I'd say2.9, but not 3GHz, just because vcore is too high to reach 3GHz without uber top notch chilly cooling ;) very nice OCso far azn, glad to see your cpu has life in it yet and i can prove myself useful here and there ;)
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    bump. cmon azn i wana see screenies @ 2.8GHz :p
  9. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Don't get your thongs up in a bunch Ketxxx.;) You know I'm studying...but I'll get a screenie within the next 30 Min. or so.
  10. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Yes, he helped me a LOT (along w/ POGE & Tatty One, especially) to gain WELL over 400++ mhz onto my stock/oem AMD CPU clockspeed of 2400mhz!

    :)

    * VERY happy & pleased about it, & a 200/200 DDR SDRAM memory "tightness" too!

    (My system's weakness IS 'std. RAM', I wonder how it'd do on better stuff)

    With those guys' help (inclusive of Ketxxx)? I have been running everyday FOR MONTHS now (nearly 6 months in fact straight), @ just about 2800mhz, solid + stable!

    I could keep it higher, but it is TOTALLY stable this way, on ALL things (including the 'vaunted' ScienceMark 2.0).

    APK

    P.S.=> You really could get NO better tutor/guide in it here than he... apk
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah, he is a big help.

    I think your memory (speed) is fine. AMD's don't really suffer from lower (non-O/C'd) speeds, nor do they need the fastest speed of memory...latency doesn't matter as much with the 939.
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    (BAD) Overclocking Update:

    Well, for some reason, it wasn't stable anymore at 2.75Ghz. It started to become unstable an crashing a day after the BIOS flash (was stable before) and the max is 2.67Ghz again. Why?!?! It's always me for some reason...I always get bad parts. First was my X800XL:cry: , now this non-overclockable Athlon 64:cry:
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    When you o/c'd, did you 'jump up/increase' your voltages on your CPU & such in your BIOS? It helps for stability purposes... keep this in mind.

    (There ARE LIMITS to watch out for though, keep THAT IN MIND TOO... Ketxxx can help you more than I here, I only know what MY BIOS, MOBO, RAM, & CPU will deal w/ here, & am admittedly NOT @ his level of understanding on this part, as to the 'safety limits' here!)

    Good luck, hope this is all it is...

    APK
  14. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah, I increased to voltage to 1.55v. But the thing is, any voltage over 1.525v is read as 1.52v. Don't know why...
  15. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    You know what, I wanted to reach 3ghz with my Venice, but it's totally impossible on air. It's barely capable of booting to windows on 2.9ghz and 1.62 - 1.64 v. On a watercooling system? I would think 2.9ghz stable all day use would be achievable, but 3ghz stable all day use even on water is like dreaming on the Venice. 2.8ghz 1.6v all day use on the other hand is very possible, and that's what I have since the day I bought my processor. Just I upgraded the cpu cooler to a copper base and have put the cpu naked (no IHS). The temps went down, but it's still uncapable of playing games hours on end at 2.85ghz as it cumulates internal heat and at some point will lock. But between 2.8 and 2.85, there is like not even 2% of speed increase on the cpu and ram. Not enough to justify spending 50$ on a TT Big Typhoon. I prefer saving money for a dual core ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page