1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New PC Ideas and alot of money to spend!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by zaqwsx, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Hey guys whats up, so I got $1000 to spend on a new system. I already have a case and Psu the case is a Thermaltake Armor AMD Quad FX and the psu is a Theramltake 850 watt psu with modular cabling the only reason im getting that psu is because im getting it for free from all the reward points my dad has on his american express credit card, and now you guys have to build me a nice setup! Oh and don't worry about a screen, keyboard or mouse)

    What I like is AMD, I don't mind if the graphic cards are Nvidia or ATI, ram should be around 2gb to 4gb, I good old hard drive sata 3.0 atleast 250gb or more, a nice mobo I like asus and foxconn and about 2dvd burnerdrives. I also overclock so it must have good oc options. Anyway I use newegg but I am open to other sites. I'll thank everyone that leaves a post and helps me out. Thanks alot guys!! :toast:
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    well i'd say that if you want to go amd, you'd want to grab either a gigabyte 790fx dq6 or an msi 790fx(they are the top 2 atm), perhaps a phenom 9500, otherwise an x2 5000 black edition. 2 gigs of crucial 1066 ram and a samsung f1 500g drive w/ a 8800gt(since the 3870's have been gauged all the way up there) for now, but once the 3870's, i'd grab 2 of those.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  3. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Thats nice but you should look up the 790fx on asus and tell me which one is better msi or asus. Any way thanks and I forgot to add that I might get the computer soon or till 08 when new stuff comes out.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,891 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why when Intel is better performing...?
    zaqwsx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I would wait til the beginning of the year before going with this or that.. The Phenom is just coming out and we have a lot of people who bought it and are being our "testers" so to say. I say this so you can find out if you want to go through the hassle like they did or didn't. Plus if you go with the Phenom, then by then you'd have the updated Bios that makes your life so much better!
    http://usa.asus.com/search.aspx?searchitem=1&searchkey=790fx
    As of right now, I can't find any place that sells it..
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  6. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yeah. Why? :p
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  7. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Mushkin FTW!
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See Cold Storm's reply!


    If you want Intel, best that is soon to be released is 780i. Also, to second what pancho stated, 790fx for AMD.

    So in that regards, if you go intel, pickup a 780i over the next month and half when they get released, pickup a inexpensive dual core (e4400 or 2140/2160) to hold you over until penryn become readily available, even an e8x00 series is supposed to be pretty darn good.
    zaqwsx and Cold Storm say thanks.
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I, myself am looking at ether or... I love AMD because of being a "fanboy" but if intel is going to make a better system then I'd go with something thats going to last me longer... like Jr said, get an inexpensive processor, ether AMD or Intel if you want, and wait.. I see you oc'ed your system so you know even the inexpensive processors can get you the same results as you buying a 300 dollar processor...
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  10. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Nice Ideas but I was kinda pushing towered a 4 core system. Also Intels Core2 Quad is 2 dule cores put together and AMD Phenom is 4 native cores and in reality 4 native cores is better than 2 cores put together. Also Im an AMD fanboy.
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    im not sure if the asus 790fx has been released yet, i haven't heard anything about it so yeah.. as others have said, benchmarks atm show that intel performes way better, but that may change soon.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I would wait till there is more than two boards out... well newegg has three out but they are all Gigabite's. The Asus isn't out yet from what I can find on the web. I just wait till Mid Jan. to beginning of Feb before you go with your AMD Phenom.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  13. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    You can be a fanboy but you will be laughed at when spending so much cash on a system that will easily be beaten by any high end Intel chip.

    Get a Q6600 G0, ASUS Maximus Extreme, 4 GB DDR 800 Crucial Ballistix or some Gskill ram, 8800 GT, And you will go fast
    CrAsHnBuRnXp and zaqwsx say thanks.
  14. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, I just bought an e2180 to hold me over until Penryn, and it FLIES compared to my AMD system. Even though Phenom is "native" quad-core, it doesn't matter when it still gets tromped by everything Intel has to offer. If you're wanting Quad, the Q6600 will be great, but I'd suggest either waiting til' January, or buying a cheap e21x0 series to hold you over. All this really comes down to whichever chip gives you more for your dollar, and at this moment it's Intel.

    However, if you're REALLY wanting to stick to AMD, grab a 790FX mobo and a 5000+ Black Edition to hold you over til next Febuary or March, when AMD should be releasing their new mainstream line of processors. The 5000+ will treat ya well for 130 dollars, but it still gets beaten by the lowliest of Intel.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, but for the 130 its almost twice as much as the e2140. If you budget right, you can get a nice system now and upgrade the proc and vid card later and have twice a good rig.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  16. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Mobo: Asus 790fx (not out yet) or the GIGABYTE GA-MA790FX-DS5 $209.99
    CPU: Phanom 9500 $259.99
    Memory: G. Skill 2x2gb DDR2 800 $109.99 or OCZ 2x1gb DDr2 800 $72.99
    (right now G. skill is having a special on the Phanom 9600 and the memory I showed for 309 all together)
    HDD: Seagate St3500 500gb at $119.99
    DVDRw's: Philips 2 tone Litescribe $36.99 and ASUS DVD-E616A3T 20.99
    GPU: EVGA 512-P2-N775-AR GeForce 8600GTS $214.99

    all together around 980ish plus shipping
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  17. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Well I just want to buy like the best I can becasue I wont be upgrading for like a cupple years I might just kepp getting a new graphic card till I get quad graphics thats about it.

    Also guys the ASUS AM2+ MOBO is on NCIX.COM even though its canadian its out. It's weired though becasue I thought usualy they came out in amercica first but oh well.

    Edit: Cold Storm why a 8600gts and not a 3850 or 8800gt?
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  20. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    I already have a 160gb hd thats sata 3.0 and instead of raid, I use one hd for the operating system only and the other for games. Also I was thinking about 1 HD3870 then another 2 later on or 2 3850 and another 2 later on.

    They have a 512mb 3850 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814241068 and wow newegg just put alot of cards in stock today because I just ordered a powercoller hd3850 and it was in the outof stock section. That card is for my friend though.
  21. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  22. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Yea, don't bother with the 8600GTS. With the 3850, 3870, and 8800GT's out, those shouldn't even be recommended anymore. If you go with any of those video cards, it will be a pretty hefty step up from your 6800. I just upgraded to an 8800GT from an X800XT, and the difference was like night and day!

    Back to your system, I would really suggest going with Intel tho, because AMD really needs to get their act together. You should pick up an e21x0 for about 60-80 bucks, and then by the time January rolls around you can sell the e21x0 and pick up a new Intel quad-core. Phenom can barely compete with the "old" C2D's as is... there's no hope for it to compete against Penryn. Also considering the crazy power usage and lack of overclocking ability, it isn't worth it.
    I just bought the system in my specs last week, so it can be something for you to compare to. The P35 mobo I have doesn't offer SLI, but it allows crossfire. I don't really care about multi-gpu, but if you want that option in the future, you can pick up a P35 board and a 3850 / 3870 for crossfire. If you want to go SLI and Penryn, you'll have to wait for the nVidia 780i chipset to come out in a couple weeks.
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  23. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
    Just wondering can you use 4 in quad crossfire for the HD3870 or is it only for the HD3850. Also when you do crossfire what adds up and what dosn't. I know memory adds but I cant remember the rest.
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    they should work tho right?!@#?
    zaqwsx says thanks.
  25. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Well, with the 790FX you can use quad-crossfire, but with the Intel chips it's limited to two crossfire cards. Quad crossfire can be for the 3870 and 3850, but the 3870 is a dual slot cooler, which doesn't play nice for quad. For SLI and Crossfire, someone correct me if I'm wrong, the memory doesn't add. If you put two 512mb cards for SLI / Crossfire, it doesn't make 1gb of video memory. Both cards help to render the same image, so both cards have to be loaded with the same textures. The only thing you're "doubling" is video processing power.
    zaqwsx says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page