1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New PC randomly restarting, Event 41 Kernel Power

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SethKnows, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hi everyone, I'm back again and I've built a new PC. Still having bad luck with computers I guess. System specs are listed on my profile. I've been having problems with my pc restarting, event log shows Event 41 Kernel Power. It happens while playing Dead Space 3 within 5 minutes, but happens during other games occasionally. I thought it was software, until it started happening in my bios within a few seconds. I've tested the ram, switched both sticks, put them in different slots, etc. I've disabled all power saving options and nothing is overclocked. Usually it's random but I can trigger it in the bios and while playing Dead Space 3. I unplugged the reset wire to see if there was a short but it didn't work. This is the same PSU from my last build though, so I'm not sure if that's the problem. There's no way it can be software, right? If it's happening before the OS even loads. I also unplugged my SSD and HDD and still no luck. I'm not sure what else to do except RMA the mobo and/or the PSU.
  2. awesomesauce

    awesomesauce

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    ya it's not software (cause crash in bios)
    any other psu 2 try?
    any other ram 2 try?
    any bios update avaible?
    welp it not a easy trouble 2 find gl!!
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    start with testing the machine with a known good psu
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Oregon
    So no overclock?

    Take it to the bare min hardware. No GPU One stick ram, nothing else plunged in. No hot swap bays or anything see if it still does it
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    event 41 kernel power is pretty self explanatory its power related 41 only gets triggered due to a sudden loss of power without tripping a stop code or if the system hard resets without a BSOD
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2014
    Arjai and 95Viper say thanks.
  6. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Power related how? I used this psu in my system a few months ago and it was fine, I boxed it up until I built this pc. It's a Corsair ax860 Platinum. If it is related to power, could it be my surge protector? I'm also getting some quirky stuff going on lately. Multiple Directx errors that cause a game crash. I reinstalled my gpu drivers and cleaned them out using driver sweeper, it worked for awhile but I just had another one. I am just not sure if the mobo could cause all of these issues. I tried multiple different combinations with the ram and I don't think that's the problem. The problems started before I even installed the gpu.
  7. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Do you have Samsung Magician installed?
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    anytime a system starts freaking out out of the blue the power supply is the first thing to check the fact that its occurring in the bios leads me to believe its the power supply I doubt its the surge protector unless the machine is physically shutting off a bad psu will cause all manner of funky shit
    Arjai says thanks.
  9. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    I agree with OneMoar if it's happening in the BIOS....
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    the only real way to test it is to either put the psu on a load tester or replace it with another unit its possible its the motherboard or even the cpu its self but anytime you have hard resets like that it means you have a hardware problem and not a software one
    I would check everything over for obvious misses like
    1. a stand off shorting on the back of the board
    2.all wires are firmly seated and both power connectors are connected for both the gpu and main board
    3. pull the CPU and reseat it
    4. give all the usb/ethernet connectors a look over and make sure the socket's/plugs isn't trashed or something
    5.test that psu in another system or test another psu in that system
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2014
  11. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have been getting some extremely high temps on my cpu when running prime95 for awhile. intelburntest actually causes shutdowns as well. Temps are good for about 10 minutes and 100% then they skyrocket to over 85
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    85 is still within safe limits I doubt its directly a cause of your problem make sure the fan control is set to 100% in the bios so its not throttling the pump
    I am wondering if whatever issue you are having is making the pump cut out if the pump stops temps will go though the roof in short order if the pump is connected directly the psu ... and that rail is cutting out ...
  13. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    The pc has not reset while running prime95, I do have to kill the program because they will go past 85 easy if i don't.
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Oregon
    85c? Again, do you have it over clocked?
  15. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    No I have not.
  16. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Is the general consensus that the PSU is defective? It worked in Feb-March, then I boxed it up when I sold that pc to use it until I went sli with 780 ti's. I could just buy one off Amazon and if it doesn't fix the problem I'll just send it back since their return policy is awesome.
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    Location:
    Rochester area
    did you check everything over and reseat everything like I suggested ?
  18. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I won't be able to until tomorrow.
  19. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,874 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,112
    OP, check the Event Log. Right after the 41 shut down, there will be a Debug log; check that and let us know the log code.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Will do tomorrow morning. Thanks for all the replies guys.
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,874 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,112
    You art welcome :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>3</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2014-06-06T15:22:32.243165700Z" />
    <EventRecordID>5048</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>SethKnows</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">0</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootAppStatus">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
  23. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Your event shows nothing; it is as OneMoar stated earlier:

    Or this quote from MS explains the no event info here --> Windows Kernel event ID 41 error "The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first" in Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, or Windows Server 2008 R2
    If you are absolutely sure your PSU is good... check all your connections and be sure they are secure and properly placed.
    It would probably be best to un-connect and re-connect each one.
    Even the header connectors on the MB, power to wall, UPS, surge protector, ... all power connections.
    Make sure there are no power connectors laying around getting shorted out, too.
    Turn off, if, any OCing.
    Reset the BIOS to defaults.
    Check for any over heating

    Then deal with windows after your are positive there is no hardware problems.
  24. SethKnows

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Problem solved everyone, it was either the outlet or surge protector causing the shutdowns. I just moved into a new apartment and I haven't had the issue since, switched surge protectors also. Thanks for all the help guys.
    Vario says thanks.
  25. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    If your problem does persist, then swap out your ram sticks. I swear to god I had exactly the same problem as you and it was the ram. Even after I tested them for 4 hours, I swapped them out with another kit and no problems to this day.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page