1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Performance/Gaming Computer Build, budget ~$1500 give or take

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by vawrvawerawe, Nov 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Both are excellent brands

    Yes.

    I think so. Idk if you're willing to pay 400 for graphics, but you can get a good 7970 for that. Buying the 3570 over 3770 would pretty much pay for the difference.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Thanks Repman:toast:

    If ya want some inexpensive memory that really kicked ass, The Crucial Ballistix Sport Series 8GB Kit (4GBx2) DDR3 PC3-12800, 1600MHz. They performed as good as GSkill 2400MHz Tridents even at cas 11and you can find them for as little as $40 for 2 x 4G.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2012
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  3. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    -
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Used PP with them 3 days ago without issue. Make sure on the purchase screen you are selecting the correct funding source I have made that mistake before.

    I bet you they have an issue with the number of PP transactions from your account.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2012
  5. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,114 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Just use your credit card without PP. Don't miss out on a good sale :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Whatever works. As for the PP safety net...your credit card has the same protection...
     
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,114 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,935
    Credit cards offer protection also, but I understand the desire to use PP in eBay. I hope you're not planning on having a problem :laugh: :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    And I assume it's people like as to why PP is as terrible for the seller as it is.
     
  9. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Everything is fixed with PayPal.

    All I have left now is CPU and GPU.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  10. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I saw that on microcenter. Awesome deal; I've had a friend who lives near a microcenter buy stuff for me, sometimes its so much cheaper that the difference will pay for shipping and still be significantly cheaper.

    You decide on gpu yet?

    Edit: why'd you delete your posts?
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  11. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Someone on this forum agreed to get one and ship it to me. I paid him on PayPal. Getting the 3770K.

    I am not 100% yet on the GPU, but I think I've narrowed it down to these three in this thread. I am pretty certain though that I want to get the Radeon 7870. Just which one is the question now. Still learning about all that everything means. There are so many kinds and brands of the exact same graphics chip.

    The PayPal posts were irrelevant to the thread and detracted from the purpose. And the problem was cleared up, so it served no purpose to be in this thread.

    Does this RAM LIGHT UP?? AVEXIR Core Series 16GB Kit (4 x 4GB) Quad Channel...

    Update: found this thread, shows that YES, they do light up!! COOLLL http://forums.pureoverclock.com/memory-overclocking/18427-new-avexir-core-series-ram.html
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2012
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    dude12564, XL-R8R and the54thvoid say thanks.
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,374 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hi there,

    I saw a very early post where you asked a question and someone said google it. You rightly were annoyed because it's okay to ask for help but i can't quite shake the feeling you are just building posts up.

    You have asked if that memory lights up and include a link to it. The link - yourlink- has a description that clearly states:

    Why on earth are you posting a question about a product you already know the answer too?

    Please excuse me for being a bit off but you're pushing the boundaries of seeking help and spam posting.

    Sorry to all if I'm being rude but we all help a lot but honestly it's like me saying this:

    Does this have wheels:
    http://www.ford.com/cars/mustang/?fmccmp=lp-cars-top-hp-mustang

    EDIT: Cdawall beat me to it!
     
    Irony and XL-R8R say thanks.
  14. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Yea, I didn't see the red led in the description at first; I found it hard to believe there was LEDs on the actual RAM. But further searching I found it I just was hoping for some feedback here in regards to the light-up RAM.

    p.s. depends on at which phase in the build process; the wheels come last so your answer is yes and no ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    i remember corsair and crucial having LEDs for ram
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  16. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Corsair's Dominator Platinum now has a LED light bar installed.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    ya i havent looked at product pages in sometime for either of them i just recall them having LED products lol
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  18. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    $800 for 16GB of RAM?

    Maybe for those who have so much money they can't possibly spend it all (billionaires). For the rest of us, no thanks!
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    thats corsair for you in price. Honestly Look at GSkill
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  20. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Just pointing out there that Corsair does make RAM with lights. Yes, this RAM is for people who can spend all that money, but for a 8GB Kit, you can get it for $100 ish
    . But then that's 1600, so you just get bragging rights.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  21. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    NCIX Canada version of the site (.ca) will NOT ship to the USA, even if it's 50 miles away. You have to use the USA version of the site, which is in general around 20% to 50% higher prices (after the conversion rate which is basically 1:1). But, they have a set for 16GB here for $155 on the--- EDIT -- that's the CA site too. There is 8GB for $80 for 8GB 1600 and $121 for 8GB 2166 on the US version of the site.

    I already got my RAM though. I got 16GB 1866 ram for $77.
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I think you and everyone else got off on the wrong foot. Everybody thinks that in your best interest, you should post anything and everything about computer parts that you may or may not use in your $1500 pc build all in one thread. After all, the mods would very much like to keep their forums nice and tidy :)
    Then there's the random thread like submerged pc topic, and then the creation of a submerged pc in a fish tank topic which also could have been merged into the same sort of topic. There is an enormous well of knowledge on these forums, and I think people are just mentioning things to you to keep your posting style a little tidier. You never know when somebody could come along in your exact shoes and be looking for the same information. Then they could find what theyre looking for in your single thread instead of trawling through multiple topics and posts.
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Then why are we still talking about ram for 35 posts...
     
  24. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    He likes to talk about RAM?
     
  25. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    And here I thought Corsair ram was budget ram...
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page