1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Performance/Gaming Computer Build, budget ~$1500 give or take

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by vawrvawerawe, Nov 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
  2. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Just got the G110. It has a nice feel, but I am disappointed because I thought you could change the colors. You can only choose between Red, Purple, and Blue, and shades in between. This factor alone, that I cannot have the color white, is the deciding factor into why I will not keep this keyboard.

    [​IMG]

    Moreover, the backlight, although brighter on the keys than the Challenger Ultimate, only is brighter if you look directly overhead. Since most people do not hold their head directly over the keyboard and stare straight down, then the keys look rather dim. Another disappointment. Even worse is that due to the design, some of the keys only light up partially.

    [​IMG]

    The culprit for this, is due to the fact that the print for the keys is not having light shined onto it. As you see below, the key has print outside of the area which shines light:

    [​IMG]

    Also the problem is that the actual light source is deep into the keyboard, as shown below. This is also the reason the lights appear dim. The lights do appear brighter when fully depressed. However, that defeats the purpose of having a backlit keyboard.

    [​IMG]

    Also, the wrist rest is actually a separate piece. It kind of feels cheap; although when attached to the keyboard and set on the table, it has a good and comfortable, solid feel.

    Wrist rest pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ------------------------------

    PICTURES:

    Logitech G110:

    [​IMG]

    Thermaltake Challenger Ultimate:

    [​IMG]

    -

    SATA power issue: Distance between SATA power plugs for HDD, along with the rgidity of the cables, makes impossible to be able to plug in more than 2 drives into the full 6 slots because you have to space them so far apart.

    Do I need these or is there another solution?

    Allow me to illustrate the issue with pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you see in the pictures above, I could plug them all in, but the back of the case could not possibly close. There is ZERO flexibility of the cables when plugged in like this.


    What about removing the sleeve? Although I'm not sure that's possible without cutting it off; and that could be dangerous because I could accidentally cut one of the wires. And it would also probably void my warranty on the PSU. Moreover, cutting off the sleeve might not even work.

    No one answered (probably because it's Thanksgiving), so I just bought 5 of those sata power extension cables
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2012
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    That looks like the only solution for multiple drives in that case
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  4. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks. Hopefully it works.

    --

    Worth buying this SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s...
    for whenever I want to add two more hard drives?

    My motherboard only has six sata ports. Also, only two of those are sata3. This would give me two more sata3 ports.
    Currently, I have 5 hard drives and one DVD drive. There is all 6 of my ports. So, without having more SATA ports, I am maxed out to 10TB. And yes, I do want and could use more TB. If I got two of these I could add up to 8 more TB; and if I used 3TB drives I could add up to 12 more TB.

    Not to mention if I wanted to add a SSD.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  5. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I wouldn't if I were you, only when you get to the point of actually needing more ports. Don't bother so much with SATA 3 if you will use HDD's, they don't even come close to SATA 2 limits.
    And AFAIK the 2 SATA 3 ports on the MB are native and you get much better performance from them than these cheap cards.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  6. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Ok then what do you suggest? I want to add a SSD and more SATA3 hard drives.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Your HARDDRIVE will NEVER max out SATA2
     
  8. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Fine, but What Do You Suggest? For adding More Hard Drives? If not that PCI-e card, then what do you suggest? A different PCI-e card? Another idea?

    If you're correct, then you must have a better idea? Please tell me the better idea you have.

    Anyways, as far as SATA3 is concerned, Yes, SATA3 Matters. Although, depending on the hard drive, how much it matters may vary.

    --

    Perhaps another person can confirm that I should not get this? (http://www.neweggbusiness.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816124045)
    Because it looks like it will serve my purposes quite nicely.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  9. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    For HDD it does not matter, SATA 2 is enough. Even 15k RPM enterprise drives are around 200-220MB maximum sequential read/write.
    The only thing that could be affected is the drives cache which isn't that important for a storage drive.

    About the card, maybe something like HighPoint, LSI, Areca, Adaptec....
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Look at your own link very closely

    [​IMG]

    NOTICE those are not HDD those are SSD's AGAIN a HARD DRIVE AKA the thing with the spinny disk inside will NOT max out SATA II use the SATA II ports on your board and move on. If you want to get very specific short of dropping $200+ on a good 16x based raid card you will never get close to the latency provided by the onboard Sata II not to mention the speed in itself.

    Using a higher end card on a 1x/4x slot. Are you going to be able to give up a 16x slot? NOPE you have yours populated...

    [​IMG]

    Notice how it performs worse the SATA II onboard.
     
  11. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Irrelevant. I am asking about what to get so I can add more hard drives. Throughput doesn't matter at all to me. Storage space does.

    So can you please give a suggestion as to what to buy, if not that PCI-e card I gave the link for?

    p.s., look at that picture more closely:

    [​IMG]

    Clearly in the picture, the PCI-e card does not differ too much from the onboard speed. But again, that doesn't matter to me because I'm just looking to add more hard drives.

    Moreover, for the sake of discussion, there is a huge difference between SATA2 and SATA3 speeds.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base

    So you are running more than 6 drives total? If you are buy a motherboard that supports more drives.

    This is what happens when you cheap out on motherboards

    ASRock Z77 Professional LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SA...
     
  13. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    1. I got an excellent motherboard which has excellent reviews.
    2. No, I do not want to buy another motherboard. I am happy with the one I bought.
    3. Yes, I will be using more than 5 drives total. (the DVD drive is using up sata port #6).
    4. I Don't Care About The Speed. As long as it's over 50mb/s.
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Which 16x slot are you using the one with the 7950 in it or the one with the other 7950 in it. If you notice using the open 4x/1x slot you have available it is a good bit slower than the onboard SATA II.

    Use the USB3.0
     
  15. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    I'll just quote myself:

     
  16. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    No. I want internal drives. Otherwise I pay much more for a ton of crappy externals. And it would completely defeat one of the prime purposes of this build (be able to add a bunch of internal drives to save thousands of dollars). And USB 3.0 is Significantly Slower Than Sata (in real life use). From my experience, SATA transfers about 5 times faster than USB 3.0.
     
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    If only storage space matters buy a random controller card. Just get the cheapest.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Go look USB3.0 speeds up again because you are wrong. They are normally not more expensive by much if any. If you want 6 billion internal HDD buy another SATA card you have already proven you don't listen anyway. Buy the cheapest SATA III one you can and put it in your PCI-e 1x slot that only supports 250MB/s
     
  19. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Why are you even talking speeds when he said that didnt matter? Just grab a cheapo from ebay or something.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I was trying to figure the same thing out since he brought it up at first as being important. Now its not because he was proved wrong. Same thing with this guy every time anyone tries to help him.
     
  21. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks! Yea, most of the drives aren't being used regularly. Just for storage and backup. So the drives on the slower ports from the PCI-e sata ports, I would use backups and storage.

    I wasn't. I was trying to get other people to stop talking about it and just give a suggestion.
    Thanks. I'll take your advice!

    No, I was proved correct. Not wrong. Dunno why people don't listen sometimes.
     
  22. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    No, you're wrong. I said in real time use in my experience. I know what the speeds are supposed to be. I have never come even remotely close to 600mb/s on usb 3.0. The most I ever got was 80mb/s on USB 3.0. Part of that is being a seagate drive (junk). The other part is not spending $500 on a 2TB drive. Nonetheless, for the exact same drive, I got internal transfer speeds at significantly higher speeds.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  23. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    After you added that part yes :wtf: USB 3.0 has no problems of speeds around 3Gbps...
     
  24. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Please post a screenshot where your computer is getting 384MB/s (3Gbps) real-life transfer speeds on USB 3.0 to a normal hard drive. I want to see this!!!

    And if you really, can, please tell me how I can do it too, because I never ever came anywhere even remotely close to that on my USB 3.0 external hard drive!!!
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    No SATA II/III hard disk can reach those speeds on its own USB 3.0 or not.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page