1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New PSU Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jamupnorth, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi i need yet another new psu as since i put my Gtx 275 last week the machine is shutting down when playing games i have tried all drivers and removing sound cards ets which did help but not enough :wtf:

    So i am resigned to getting a new psu which i cant really afford after buying the new card

    So any recomendations from ebuyer uk etc ?

    help would be appreciated on this
     
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    jamupnorth says thanks.
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea those are basically your only choices from the website
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    If I was me :p

    I'd recommend a Corsair definetly.

    What is your budget though?

    You could get one of the lowest Corsair's and max it out, or sit more comfortably with a higher rated one
     
  5. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I dont have a budget as i am being forced to buy the psu but i will pay what i have to i suppose but is 750 w enough for what i have in my rig as i am not really looking to the distant future only for now or so :rolleyes:
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    750w is too much (well you can have too much but you get the idea)

    Is modular important to you?

    If not the Corsair TX 650W is more than enough:

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135514

    A 550w is probably fine too, but the difference in cost, you might as well get the 650w.
     
  7. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I dont know what Modular means for a psu and i would have thought that 750w would be the minimum for my rig as the 700w that is in it is no good :mad: I can buy from any uk website but ebuyer are cheap & easy to deal with
     
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Wattage for a PSU has to be taken with a grain of salt, to a certain extent it is BS, even with the decent companies.

    What you have to worry about is the quality of the components, quality of the manufacturer and Ampage Ratings on the 12v rail.

    I bet you anything, that the Corsair 650W has around double the A of your 700w on the 12v rail.

    Can you show us the specs, or take a pick of the sticker on the side of your PSU?

    Oh and modular means you only install the cables you need, I have the Corsair 650w, non-modular. Prefer to modular, especially with the layout of my case.
     
  9. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks i will post a picture (well i will try lol)
     
  10. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Sorry for being so stupid i have taken the pictures but i dont know how to upload them onto here ? help ..:eek:
     
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  12. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Modular - Connectors can be attached to the PSU and removed to reduce clutter inside the case so in other words, you have all your SATA power cables, PCI-E cables in the PSU box/carry case and only use the cables you actually need and connect one end up to the PSU and the other to the hardware :)

    My 1200w is modular and is brilliant due to less clutter and of course being modular is great and makes the case look nice.
     
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Depends on your case as to whether modular is better or not.

    For me and my case, modular is worse. My case is a lot cleaner due to all the cables coming out in one place.
     
  14. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Oh here are the pictures i hope they work gulp


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  15. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    My modular PSU is great in my case due to pre drilled holes on the compartment part (above the PSU).
     
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Either click on the link to add the shortcut to your clipboard, or actually copy the words, dont just right click and copy :)
     
  17. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Where do i find the clipboard ?
     
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    just copy the line:

    .................[ /img]

    And paste it into the post :)

    EDIT:

    Looks like you done it. :toast:
     
  19. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
     
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay Corsair does 52A on 12v, EZcool has two 20A rails, which are more than likely capped at 30A for the two.

    I said it would be nearly double :)

    That and the Corsair will do the Amp and Wattages sustained for its MTBF, the EZcool will be peak performance.

    The Corsair TX 650W, will be perfect :)
     
  21. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ok the Corsair it is :toast: Thanks for the help & info all clear now
     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Dude... undust everything! Canned air will do it... Now on-topic, I would recommend the 650W 750W non-modular Corsairs (TX series), since the inside of your rig isn't about beauty and cable management XD

    Now we pretty much all agreed on this part... but I would say maybe the extra 20 pounds is worth it for that 100W? It depends on you.. Will you upgrade soon? Do you always want the best settings? Also the 750W will last you longer no matter what, since you aren't stressing it as much... If you're really tight on budget and all and just want a good PSU that won't crap your system at all and will suffice you most probably for at least 5 yrs go 650W... If you want upgradeability and want to keep this PSU for your secondary rigs in the 10 years to come, the 20 pounds extra is worth it... not that the 650W can't do this, but 750W will do it better
     
  23. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    All you need is a new case and power supply to have a good system overall :)

    Maybe 3GHz+ on your Q6600.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Heya jamupnorth!

    Well first off the EZCool is dual 20A that may be its max rated and guess what that estimates to about a 500W.

    If you want to save some cash...
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/141006

    I know specs list this PSU as single PCIe 6+2 but it does in fact have a second PCIe 6pin and 2 22a 12v + 1 25a 12V.

    If not go with the Corsair 650W. :)
     
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea... I don't like Antec anymore... It is still an OK brand.... I say 12~13 pounds is worth it to get the corsair :) even if you don't have the cash xD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page