1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New PSU is required!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well lads.

    I'm looking into buying a new PSU for my system, seems likely that my system is not getting enough juice and is causing random crashes!

    Anyway.
    I'm using dabs.ie to buy it! " http://www.dabs.ie/ "

    I'm looking into the Corsair 800W range PSU's!
    Advice would be lovely!!

    I'm looking at this one:
    http://www.dabs.ie/products/corsair...-enthusiast-series-7CHD.html?refs=50113&src=3

    Is it important to go with 80 Bronze or higher??

    If so then I'll go for a 700W to keep the price down?!?!?!
     
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,513 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    important if you want to save on your power bill... for example... at 80% efficiency, it'd take 1000w AC to get the 800w DC

    Edit: although its not that simple... the psu isn't always going to be 80% efficient, I think they measure that at a certain % load of the psu or something like that.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I have three corsair 750W PSU's I'm looking at right now.

    I don't know much about PSU's so any advice on each of them would be lovely!

    Firstly this one:
    http://www.dabs.ie/products/corsair...pply-7LGL.html?refs=55430000&q=Corsair&src=16

    103 Euro

    second:
    http://www.dabs.ie/products/corsair...-psu-5KBP.html?refs=55430000&q=Corsair&src=16

    134 Euro

    Thirdly:
    http://www.dabs.ie/products/corsair...x750-71HL.html?refs=55430000&q=Corsair&src=16

    149 Euro

    Now they are all 750W with at least 80+ Certification!
    Now why are they differently priced??
    Would it not be worthwhile going for the cheaper model??
    Would there be much difference in spending an extra 45 euro on the 80+ gold???
     
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,513 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    well the first one has the lowest efficiency rating and a single 12v rail at up to 62A. the 2nd one is modular, so you can remove un-needed cables to tidy up the case. it is also single 12v rail with 62A, however it is up to 90% efficient. the third is about the same except it has an extra 8pin EPS12v connector, probably not needed.

    I'd go for #2 if you can afford it. the first isn't a bad choice either though.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,418 (7.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    Go Seasonic man. The newest Corsairs are crap. The ripple in them is horrible.
     
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
  7. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    1./ Go here: http://www.plugloadsolutions.com/80PlusPowerSupplies.aspx
    2./ Now look up the PSUs you are considering, and download the spec sheets in PDF
    3./ Review the PDFs and cross compare
    4./ Select! (Or Exclude!)
    5./ Now check you usage scenario and what rails you need what power on and how quiet you want your PSU
    6./ Look at price, check reviews


    Example:
    Corsair 850TM: http://www.plugloadsolutions.com/psu_reports/CORSAIR_CMPSU-850TXM_ECOS 2577_850W_Report.pdf
    Corsair 750HX: http://www.plugloadsolutions.com/psu_reports/CORSAIR_CMPSU-750HX_ECOS 1463_750W_Report.pdf
    Corsair 750AX: http://www.plugloadsolutions.com/psu_reports/CORSAIR_CMPSU-750AX_ECOS 2186_750W_Report.pdf

    All 3 look good. I bought a modular one once. I installed it, all neat and tidy and I only included the necessary power lines in my rig. One year later I wanted to add another HDD. OWTF did I put those cables!? I knew I hadn't thrown them away. But which box, attic or cellar, which house, or office?! In the end I had to get an external enclosure! LOL. I won't buy modular again. After all, I run my rig with the case on, and under the desk. Organised is one thing... but minimizing all cables is overkill.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  8. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Corsair AX750 is still Seasonic inside.
     
  9. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks bonkers!

    Looking good!
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,418 (7.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    The specs are to Corsair. Its not the same league as the Seasonic "X" series in power quality. Just ask our reviewer here on TPU and see the oscilloscopes for yourself in reviews.
     
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
    Have you narrowed down your problem to the PSU? Would hate for you to spend the $$$ to replace and still have trouble crashing :eek:

    Is that the only place you have available to buy PSU's from?

    I would reccomend the zx series from OCZ but they are damn pricey there! I got mine for $140CAD after rebate @ NCiX, they are always having rebate's on them it seem's so it was an easy choice for me as i wanted full modular and 80+ Gold without breaking the bank.

    TPU's own PSU reviewer crmaris reviewed most of the current PSU's and the OCZ's seem to do pretty good for the most part, you can check his reviews here: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/?p=1&pp=25&order=date&category=Power Supplies

    You may have to go back a page or 2 to get the zs/zt series & Corsair unit's but like i said his list's are quite complete and the reviews themselves are top notch :) I think the zt is the better unit of the 2, i've always had good luck with OCZ. When i'm sizing a PSU i try to get something that has 100w - 150w more than what i'd pull @ max that way i never have to worry about a thing and i have room to "expand" in the future :eek:
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well at the moment I've not experienced any crashes since I've set everything to stock.
    If I do experience a crash, I will raise the volts on the memory and see if that resolves anything!

    If it doesn't. Then I will just have to buy a new PSU and hope for the best! I need a new PSU no matter what anyway! I've had this for over 4 years!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page