1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Realtek 2.57 X-fi modded drivers available

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kenkickr, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    You've done everything I would've. Just make sure your INF mod is to the "HDXCR.inf".

    You'll want to do two things first though: Uninstall EVERYTHING Audio Driver related --including deleting/moving the driver folders from %WINDIR%\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository also, I find sorting by Date-Descending [newest on top] works easier -- to make sure nothing older is being installed on accident since the INF has been modified and no longer WHQL. Also uninstall everything Creative related, including everything from the less obvious directories like App Data, Program Data and Common Files (in Program Files, check both normal and "(x86)" folders).

    Reboot after that, reinstall drivers, reboot again, install Creative X-Fi MB. I don't think there is any difference between X-Fi MB and X-Fi MB2, either. Actually, from what I can tell is that MB2 is less feature packed it seems, but does have like one additional thing (not that I remember exactly what that is).

    If that still doesn't help, I would say do like Bo$$ said and hit up the DriverHeaven forums. All I know about with this mod is from what I've read, and through many hours of trial and error (mostly error :laugh:).
     
    bad.wolf says thanks.
  2. bad.wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tanks! finaly work , but only eax 4 and no thx, any solution for eax5 and THX ?
     
  3. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    You don't want THX, trust me. Well ok I can't say that, but I've done everything I can think of to get both X-Fi and THX working at the same time. I think if it was possible, ASRock wouldn't done it, but you can only pick one at a time. The BIOS on my 890FX lets me pick EITHER: X-Fi or THX, it changes the Device ID for the VT2020 :D

    EAX4 is all you can get in software, sorry heh
     
  4. bad.wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    look's this page http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3776#sp
    Realtek ALC889 codec
    Support for X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity® and EAX® Advanced HD™ 5.0 technologies

    with tis active THX Working fine?

    Tanks guy!
     
  5. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    If you want to ZIP the .inf files from the drivers package found here:
    ftp://download.gigabyte.ru/driver/mb_driver_audio_creative_sb.exe

    And post them, I'll take a look, but I don't have the monthly bandwidth to spare on that :( If I had a RealTek audio chip on my board I might, but I have a VIA VT2020.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,118 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,453
    I had no idea Via was still making audio chipsets. i thought everyone was buying into realtek
     
  7. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Only the higher end boards would seem to use the VIA codecs, but I haven't seen any recently use them :( I like the sound better from it, at least compared to the ALC892A on the Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H I had before this FX. I wish more would use the audio codec on a PCIe x1 card like some of the boards have :)

    The REALLY high end sound cards (studio grade) use VIA's audio chips though; the Envy24.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,118 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,453
    and Asus is still using relabled Realtek oxygen chips for their high end sound cards lol.
     
  9. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    C-Media Oxygen HD, not RealTek ;)
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,118 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,453
    Oh yeah -- my bad, but yeah i knew that. Asus has claimed to make its 'own' audio chip for the Xonar STX's but its just a rebadged Oxygen pretty much
     
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,985 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,225
    Does this work? I'll try it tomorrow (well after I sleep lol) with a Realtek ALC892.
     
  12. bad.wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this links wont contain any .inf or driver file, this is only X-FI MB 2 aplication!

    in teory this contain compatible .inf http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Driver/mb_driver_audio_realtek_azalia_g1.exe

    but a lot off .inf 's HDX*****.INF, examples ,
    HDXCR.inf
    HDXC.inf
    HDXC2.inf
    HDXC3.inf
    HDXCNB.inf
    HDXTHX.inf
    HDXTHX2.inf
    HDXTHXD.inf

    and more.


    Obs. High end studios using Focusrite, Digidesig, M-audio, Alesis and others audio Intarfaces! VIA, Realtek, C-media, Creative, etc. is consumer sound's.

    tanks!
     
  13. bad.wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  14. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    So that link I provided is only for X-Fi MB2? It's not a driver pack, even though it says "driver" in the name? :\

    I'm not a studio audio person, but I know for a fact that M-Audio cards use VIA chips :rolleyes::
    http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/media_hqpics/Audiophile2496.jpg
    http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/product_pics/big/web_main_pic_Delta1010.jpg (you might not be able to tell it's a VIA, but I can because...)
    http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/media_hqpics/AP192card&cable_RGB.jpg (...it's the same chip as this one)
    Their other pictures have photoshopped "M" logos over the chips, but I'm sure they wouldn't change their chip since that would require PCB retooling, rewriting drivers, etc.

    I've also seen C-Media's OxygenHD used on cards as well, but it's 2am and I can't sit around to find them lol
     
  15. RanCorX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried it on the ALC888S codec? I've tried a shed load of x-fi softwares and various modded drivers but they all say "unsupported device", really annoying, my last laptop had ALC6...something and the x-fi software worked fine :(

    There was a user on here "seriousclown" who got it working on the ALC888S quite some time ago but when I pm'd him, he couldn't remember which version it was.

    And I kinda refuse to give up till I get the software to load!
     
  16. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Have you read this whole thread thus far?
     
  17. RanCorX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea, but I glazed over at some point, i also read the entire last thread too. Basically your saying it doesn't work, I get you.

    ;)
     
  18. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    heh Actually I just wanted to keep from repeating myself by telling you what I earlier told Bad.Wolf what to try. Have you done those steps? Also if you haven't read this whole thread you might be missing a key component that needs applying in safe-mode.
     
  19. RanCorX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, i'll read through again.
     
  20. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,377 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,860
    Location:
    US
    My MSI mobo which has the Realtek ALC892 chip and supports X-Fi. Not sure if these ones posted on here actually work but the ones from MSI do with all software and MSI call them Sound Blaster X-Fi MB 2 and they are on version 1.0 at this time.

    They have realtek drivers there and THX TruStudio Pro drivers too.
     
  21. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,855 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    That's totally different then the people who's boards DON'T support it. The thing that the drivers do is look at two things: First for the chip (Device IDm or DEV_), in your case ALC892, then at the Subsystem ID (SUBSYS_). So having an ALC892 won't do anything, because people aren't matching the Subsys ID, and so the drivers just install the usual Realtek files.

    Example, this is from the laptop I'm on, which has no THX or X-Fi MB support.
    HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF66

    My chip is the ALC268, and To indicate it's in a Toshiba laptop (a certain line, or range of models I suspect) is the 1179FF66. The modded drivers just remove all SubsysID portions, and make it install the X-Fi MB drivers for all Realtek's chips.

    BUT that is only half the battle and is why most people still get the "No matching devices" error, as the X-Fi MB Suite has it's own set of device list files that looks for a match with your system. If it doesn't find it... well that's the result :) This is from the first set of modded drivers which would manage to trick the X-Fi MB suite into working by just installing the files and renaming some parts of the device strings to say X-Fi.

    Even then you need a product key, otherwise it's just a 30-day trial. I don't think the Safe-Mode mod addresses that, but I really don't know since my VIA chip is supported and I only have to enter a product key.

    (Don't take all of this as fact either, this is just what I've surmised through my own fooling around with drivers to try and get it working on my Gigabyte 890GPA, before I knew about the files that need patching in safe-mode. The fine technical details might be wrong, but overall it gives enough of an idea of how things work.)
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    This here seems to work... it enables perfectly on my ALC 892, if i install it in English! (activator is in the thread,if your search for it)
    Crystalizer, CMSS 3D and EAX can be used, dunno if it works, as i normally listen to uncompressed digital,software surround coding is not too useful for me:D
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2011
  24. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    Oh and also, I don't know why anyone would need to get the modded drivers, either. Just need the X-Fi MB stuff.

    To 'mod' the drivers only takes adding in your Device ID (don't need Subsys), or I'd assume that what they did in the HDA.inf/HDX.inf, putting in just this would work:
    "Realtek High Definition audio" = IntcAzAudModel, HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC

    Keep in mind though that you'll want to remove all the other INF files, leaving just the one you want, in order to be able to easily pick out which one you've modded in the Device Manager's "Update Driver" selection list, otherwise a number of different ones will show up, all saying "Realtek High Definition audio" :p

    Also Windows will complain about unsigned drivers, since you've modded a file, so you'll have to tell it everything is OK and still install 'em.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page