1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New rig and need your help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys.

    Finaly got my cooler for my CPU! phew!

    Anyway...Everything is up and running and now I inserted the XP disk into the DVD-ROM drive and booted with disk.
    The black screen appears saying press any key to begin setup!
    I press any key and it begins to do stuff...detecting stuff and things like that....but since the HDD is full..I need to reformat it...how on earth do I go about doing this?????

    Thanks.
     
  2. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    did you make a partition???
    EDIT: if not, then you have to make a backup with other HDD, format and MAKE a partition to avoid this conflict again.
     
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK, at this point you should just zero out the drive with a free program called killdisk. Here's the link:

    http://www.killdisk.com/
     
  4. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    ahhh...ok.....The problem now is the CD is faulty :( there is a horrible scratch onit...oh dear..
     
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    you should see a screen asking to select a partition, select the partition listed and then delete it, do the same for any other partitions you have then tell it to format the partition (drive). when its done formating it will reboot and begin installing xp.
     
  6. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    use car wax to buff out the scratch, it works if the scratch isnt too bad. if its trashed then make a copy from another disk which is ok as long as your using your own key to register it.
     
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I will attempt to clean it!
    I guess I might have to transfer the data to a new disk..I hope I wont have to do this :p
     
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    wait? your trying to keep the data you have on the drive?

    if thats your goal then you are talking about setting up partitions but a 160gb drive is not that big to be partitioning off sections. to be honest anyone should have no less than 250gb in my opinion. why dont you buy another 160gb drive and set windows up on that and then use the drive you have as a secondary drive which can be plugged in and used as is without needing to do anything to it. this would give you 320gb of hdd space which is more reasonable amount. maybe i missed it but where did this drive come from if it is full of data? does it have an operating system on it?
     
  9. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    No no I dont want to keep anything..I have stored any fital data onto a CD.

    I wish to reformat the drive and start a fresh. I need to in order for my new mainboard to work properly.

    I do think the disk is whats going wrong..so I will have to think about it :p
     
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    ok then, all you gotta do is borrow a friends disk and make a copy then when you load it just use your key.

    the disks are mostly generic, its the key that your paying for when you buy an OS.

    some disks have sp2 built in and some have sp1 so if you burn a new disk make sure its a sp2 disk to save install time.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  11. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ahh no bother :p
    A friend of mine who is also an expert is coming round 2moro to finish to job for me :p

    Thanks for your help anyway!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page