1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Rig, New Superpi

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mandelore, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Hi all, still need to change my sig spec, but I have just assembled and istalled vista (again) on my new rig consisting of:

    -ASUS Maximus formula special edition motherboard

    -Tracer 8500's @ 1100 4/4/4/8

    -Intel E2140 cpu 1.6GHz (stop gap till penryn)

    -SupremeFX II pcie sound card (came with mobo)

    The rest of the rig is the same as in my system specs.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A bit wobbily the last one but u get the idea

    [​IMG]

    I have literally just got drivers etc installed within the last 5 mins and I have already got the cpu from 1.6GHz to 2.7GHz on stock cooler and voltages, had it post @ 3ghz but ill need to get to grips with half the new stuff in bios I aint ever seen b4! lols.. Will also need to play about with the RAM settings.

    I was quite shocked, especially since with it being pretty damn chilly outside both cores idle at 18/18C and reach around 24/30ish on the Stock cooler under load. :) that was a surprise for me.

    So I just ran Superpi 1.5, and comparing the score of my old opty 185 (at its best 3ghz+) to the E2140 @ just 2.7GHz is laughable...

    Old Opty 185: 27 seconds

    New E2140: 21.5 seconds

    [​IMG]

    Id say that was a blinding jump in score, :eek:
  2. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Nice.. I'm getting an E2180 by Wednesday along w/ the Asus P5K-e, so it'll be cool to compare scores! Anyway, on with the overclocking and benchies!
  3. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Nice setup and overclock :)

    Try to break 20 seconds :D
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Hehe, I came from a 3GHZ brisbane to an E4300, I saw a HUGE jump. 29 seconds to 17 seconds in the blink of an eye at the same clock speed.
  5. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    you can break sub 20 with 3ghz ;)
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    hehe, on the same clock speed, with just ram tweaking im down to 20.4 seconds, so once i figure how the hell to do this overclocking correctly i reckons ill get past that.

    Hell... my 3dmark06 score jumped from 10,400 on my 3ghz opty 185 and higher gfx core speeds,to, on a slower clocked cpu (this one) at just 2.85GHz and lower gfx core speeds i got 11,400!!

    thats bleedin crazy!!

    I have also managed to get this ram to 1200MHz @ 4/4/4/8 timings :) :) :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page