1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Rig Plan

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Kweku, May 3, 2009.

  1. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    Motherboard
    [​IMG]

    gigabyte GA-M55S-S3
    CPU
    Support for Socket AM2+/ AM2 processors: AMD Phenom™FX processor/ AMD Phenom™ processor/ AMD Athlon™ 64 FX processor/AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core processor/AMD Athlon™ 64 processor/AMD Sempron™ processor.

    Memory
    1. 4 DDR2 DIMM memory slots (supports up to 16GB memory)(Note 1)
    2. Supports dual channel DDR2 800/667/533/400 DIMMs
    3. Supports 1.8V DDR2 DIMMs
    4. Support ECC Memory

    Chipset
    NVIDIA® nForce 550

    Graphics Card
    [​IMG]
    GeForce 9500GT

    GPU Engine Specs:
    Processor Cores 32
    Graphics Clock (MHz) 550 MHz
    Processor Clock (MHz) 1400 MHz
    Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 8.8

    Memory Specs:
    Memory Clock (MHz) 800 (GDDR3) and 500 (DDR2) MHz
    Standard Memory Config 256/512 MB
    Memory Interface Width 128-bit
    Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 25.6 (GDDR3) and 16.0 (DDR2)

    Feature Support:
    NVIDIA SLI®-ready* 2-Way
    NVIDIA PureVideo® Technology* HD
    NVIDIA PhysX™-ready yes *
    NVIDIA CUDA™ Technology yes
    HybridPower™ Technology*
    GeForce Boost
    Microsoft DirectX 10
    OpenGL 2.1

    Display Support:
    Maximum Digital Resolution 2560x1600
    Maximum VGA Resolution 2048x1536

    Processor
    AMD Athlon X2 7750
    Black Edition, 3MB

    Memory
    2 X 1GB DDR2 800Mhz


    Build is not for games, but may play call of duty once a month or so, but don't really need it to be that spec, would rather be using this to code programs, watch TV, movies, play music, typical bedroom(im bored) pc.
     
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    are you gonna use a generic case?
     
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,914 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    9500 isn't a very good vga card, you might want to look at maybe a 8600 or even better 4830
     
  4. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    a 9600GT is good for a TF2 session.
    so it's a battle between 9600GT and 4830:)
     
  5. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    4830 all the way. best bang for the buck. :toast:
     
  6. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    It may be goo bang for buck but depending on the price where he is, he would be better off with a 8600GT/GTS as his budget doesnt look to be that large.
     
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    but a 9600GT Kicks 8600s in the Ass.
     
  8. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    Raidmax aztec, same one im using now.

    im not too sure on the card though, but yeah, i am on a big small budget, reason being i gotta build about three pc's at the same time and i just moved to a new place and have to buy furniture and all.
     
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Maybe look at a 4650 or 4670 if the 4830's are to much.
     
    King Wookie says thanks.
  10. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,914 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Or buy second hand if possible.
    The 9500GT is really only any good if you get an o/c'd version. My old 8500gt would run at 770 core and was ok, but i had a special one :) You also need to make sure it's the ddr3 version as the ddr2 sucks
     
  11. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
    BradleyKZN and Kweku say thanks.
  12. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    i was looking for something in the ranges of that, R800-900, i think i might be able to do. Forgot to check this place, thanx homeboy
     
  13. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    [​IMG]
    just did a lil research on the HD4670, it don't look like a bad card indeed
     
  14. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    It's better than my 8600GT:p
     
  15. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    lol. looks like im not the only one with the need of an upgrade. :roll:
     
  16. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    :toast:
    I also need a better CPU cooler, Mobo, HDD...the list goes on...:(
     
  17. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    Just checked that the HD4670 stock cooling is kak, one of the users says the temp was high, here is a direct quote:

    by David Wiles Date Added: Wednesday 28 January, 2009
    Good card that is very fast and was good value for money, BUT please be very careful that you have adequate ventilation or some sort of GPU cooler in your PC casing. The fan for this card is woefully inadequate. Under 0% load the core temperature of the GPU was 62 degrees, and rose as high as 82% when running ATI Tools (using Artifact Scan) Artifacts appeared every 2 seconds and running Spore and other games like Sturmovik IL-2 would lock the screen and activate "GPU Recover" in Catalyst 8.12. (This was with NO overclocking or any sort of tweaking)

    I have had to go out and buy a special GPU cooler to fix the overheating issue and to run the PC normally. So please be careful when you buy this card!


    So i guess i should start looking for a GPU cooler, any recommendations? cheap ones that work for their value
     
  18. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Budget? R400?
     
  19. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    thats a bit heavy, R250, lol.
     
  20. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Kweku says thanks.
  21. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    i think i'll do more research on the cooling in a week or two, thats about when i'll be getting the card. getting the motherboard this very week, gonna bolt it in then next will be the graphics card, which as this point looks like it going to be the HD4670, it is said to be a good performer from all that i have read thus far just cooling issues, which might be sorted already if they are right.
    Ram is already here, Harddrive(250Gb Sata2) will also arrive in two-three weeks. will maybe do a proper log, with pictures, plus i still got the case to do up, maybe i should log that too. Will start it tomorrow infect, just need to get the drawings intact. i should have made up my mind by tomorrow with the final internals, look to be set with the motherboard, just the card that needs a think or so.
     
  22. daragez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    155 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    great plan!...good luck...!
     
  23. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    cool. thanx man, just hope it all comes well. it all starts tomorrow
     
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    Try and see if the AC Accelero will fit on that card, they are excellent. Also the Akasa Vortexx NEO is good.
     
  25. Kweku

    Kweku

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    South Africa
    cool, will check for those as well.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page